$324 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
View map of 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sedalia, MO
Apr 15, 2011

The Royal Hawaiian Resort

The Royal Hawaiian Resort is a must if visiting Honolulu. No other hotel compares to this authentic Hawaiian luxury resort. The service is outstanding as well as the decor. Hotel is located right on Waikiki beach. Unbelievable breakfasts served every morning on the beach, this was included in our room charge as well as valet parking. Less than one block behind the motel you can find endless shopping and great restaurants. This was by far the best experience we have had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bullhead city az
Apr 13, 2011

Great anniversary memories

It was a great romantic experience. All I expected and more. All hotel staff were pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

great dining, not cheap but top quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zitola
Business
Irvine, CA
Apr 12, 2011

Hawaii at its best

Had garden view upgraded to ocean front, and thus the nicest stay we've ever had in Hawaii. A beautiful classic hotel, excellent service, watching the waves each day, and the Mai Tai bar at night. Paradise on earth. Hated to leave. One new thing since last stay is the family pool shared with the Sheraton, makes this fun for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Chai's Island Bistro has the best in Hawaiian music with great!!! food. A wonderful dinner and and music for the price of a concert ticket of the same artists on the mainland. A top pick if you like Hawaiian music at its best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Apr 11, 2011

Luxury without pretentiousness.

Renovation is stunning. Staff is the most helpful and attentive. Best family trip we have ever taken!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Fabulous shopping and dining are right outside the front door of your hotel PLUS outside the back door is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Best location in Wakiki.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii Heather
Business
Orange County, CA
Apr 10, 2011

Fantastic hotel with friendly staff

We loved all of the beach amenities at our finger tips: rental surf boards and paddle boards, boogie boards, outdoor cocktails, music, etc. Also, the Royal Hawaiian was big enough to accommodate all of our needs, but small enough to make us feel special. We will definitely be back as soon as we can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast check out the "acai fruit bowl" at the Island Vintage Coffee house on the second floor of the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center just a quick walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coquitlam, B.C.
Apr 7, 2011

Fabulous Vacation

Fantastic Hotel, From the time we arrived till the time we left was amazing. Our room was in the ocean tower, amazing view, clean spacious rooms.Pool was warm, never had to fight for a chair at the beach, they were more than helpful to find you a great chair and umbrella. The staff were fantastic. We have stayed in several hotels in Hawaii but none of them compared to this. We would find it very hard to stay at any other hotel after staying here. Wonderful Vacation at the Royal Hawaiian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Apr 3, 2011

"Pink Palace Doesn't Disappoint"

The ambiance at The Royal Hawaiian is unmatched. The many sitting areas throughout the hotel, as well as our room, were beautifully decorated in historic Hawaiian charm...no flowered bedspreads here! Understated elegance. The one pool on the property is more geared for adults, but RH guests have access to the family pool at the neighboring Sheraton, so everyone is happy. The roped-off beachfront area is great, with complimentary lounge chairs and umbrellas. Neighboring hotels either have little or no beachfront, or guest have to rent the chairs and umbrellas. Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center is a few feet away, with The Cheesecake Factory and some nice shops. California Pizza Kitchen is across the street. Great location; great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The RH has a suite for guests checking out later in the day, after the 12 noon check out. We spent our last day at the beach, checked our bags with the Bell Desk and came back to the suite, complete with a shower, bathroom, tv, sitting area, desk and telephone available for all guests. At any given time, there was only 1 other family in there. This suite made those last few hours in paradise much more convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oahu Mom
Business
Long Beach, CA
Mar 30, 2011

Family Vacation at The Royal Hawaiian

We loved staying here because it is close to everything and when you have a 5 year old that is important. So much is provided by the hotel that you don't need to pack much just your favorite toiletries, clothes, and sunscreen. The hotel provides very comfortable beach chairs, umbrellas, and towels so you don't have to lug around any of this stuff. Nobody ever mentions how strong the wind blows, but the Royal Hawaiian is situated in a way so you are protected from the wind unlike at its sister hotel the Sheraton. My daughter loved the family pool the Royal Hawaiian and the Sheraton share but it would get so windy on the Sheratons property that she preferred the Royal Hawaiian's swimming pool. My husband and I thought the food at the hotel was excellent and we were content to eat all of our meals at the Surf Lani. I only wish the Mai Tai Bar had more of a selection of items to eat. Children under 12 years old eat breakfast and lunch for free with a paying adult so that was a nice surprise to us. We will definitely stay here again because it's a beautiful property and convenient to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The outrigger ride is fun, safe, and easy for the whole family. It's right on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 18, 2011

Good Time.Relaxing!

Great location right on Waikiki Beach. Ocean front room with wonderful views of Diamond Head. Everything is walkable -we did not need a car. Cheesecake Factory, PF Changs, Cali. Pizza Kitchen, Margaritaville, and Dukes all within 1-2 minute walk. Great shopping within minutes walking. Hotel grounds were beautiful. although Waikiki is crowded, The RH was reserved with upscale atmosphere. Banana Nut Bread and smoothies at pool were nice touches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Society of Seven show at adjacent Westin was really good!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Mar 13, 2011

Honeymoon

The hotel was nice but it shouldn't be classified as 5 star. It was clean and we received bottle water everyday (that was the best thing about the room). The location was good and we could walk anywhere or catch a shuttle. Our flights got messed up and we didnt make it to the hotel until a day later. They were not willing to reiemburse us nor upgrade us. Our room was small and didnt even have a balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat at the restaurants in the hotel if you are looking to hang on to some spare cash. Take walks there are plenty of cheaper places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top