$350 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
248 reviews
Memorable Stay

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel in Waikiki. The hotel is historic and... See full review

  • Vegaluck
  • Jun 9, 2014
Great Hawaiian Break

Superb hotel in a great location. The Royal Hawaiian is an oasis within a thriving hub….meters away... See full review

  • Slinkysmilinki
  • Mar 25, 2014
The Royal Hawaiian - A Luxury Collection Resort is filled with the history, romance and casual sophistication of Hawaiian culture, blended with the charm of Spanish-Moorish architecture. Opened in 1927, the perfectly pink luxury hotel is known as the Pink Palace of the Pacific. Premium tower rooms feature spacious work desks and private balconies with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean. Rooms are also available with views of the hotel's tropical gardens. On-site dining options at The Royal Hawaiian share the traditional Hawaiian culture of hula, luaus, storytelling and songs.
Key facts
  • 528 guestrooms
  • 34 suites
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • 2 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Business center
Neighborhood
The Royal Hawaiian sits majestically on a beautiful stretch of Waikiki Beach on the island of Oahu. The hotel's Azure Restaurant and Bar serves seafood and specialty local cuisine alongside the soft sand of Waikiki Beach. For unbeatable views of Diamond Head - known for its historic hiking trail, coastal views, and military history - you only have to look outside.
Hints and tips
The Royal Hawaiian offers currency exchange as well as laundry service, dry cleaning and floral services.

Guests can relax and rejuvenate within a sanctuary of tropical palms, flowering plants and winding stone pathways at Abhasa Spa, Waikiki's premier garden spa.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.279 -157.829
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 15 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort Rooms

Garden View
Overlooking the resort's lush gardens and grand entryway, this exquisite guest room features a bold and indulgent design with plush Luxury Collection bedding as a centerpiece, a sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, an expansive work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Royal Grove
Offering a private sanctuary and quiet escape, this exquisitely appointed guest room overlooks Helumoa the former playground of Hawaiian royalty, now the resort's tranquil Coconut Grove gardens. This guest room features plush Luxury Collection bedding, sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a work desk, high-speed Internet access and full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Garden Junior Suite
Enchanting and evocative of timeless glamour, this junior suite in the resort's Historic Building offers an inviting expanse to relax. Beautiful views of the tranquil Coconut Grove and lush gardens are just outside your window. The junior suite features a bold and indulgent design with our plush Luxury Collection bedding as the centerpiece, a sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a large work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Royal Ocean Front
This alluring and palatial oceanfront room in the Historic Building offers stunning views of world-famous Waikiki Beach and the azure Pacific Ocean. Bold and indulgent design is accompanied by exquisitely appointed details - our signature Luxury Collection bedding, sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a large work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Tower Ocean Front
Timeless and dramatic views of Waikiki Beach and the azure Pacific Ocean enchant your senses from this Royal Beach Tower guest room's private balcony. This guest room features plush Luxury Collection bedding, an armchair, a work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a mini bar and luxurious full bath amenities. Access to the exclusive Tower Club Lounge is also included with this guest room. One king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.7 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.1 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.3 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.8 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.9 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Private Dining
Those seeking a more intimate way to enjoy the beach or the evening will be able to partake of the laidback ambiance of The Royal Cabanas. The ocean front and poolside cabanas are available for rental during the day and transform into a candlelit enclave at night. Enjoy exclusive menus day and night of cocktails, menus from Azure and poolside light fare.
Azure
Illuminated by candlelight, mother-of-pearl mosaics, and accented by views of the pacific Azure offers island inspired and prepared seafood with the freshest vegetables in partnership with our local farmers. Indigenous fish from ahi to onaga, Azure's menus highlight locally caught fish selected each morning at the Hawai'i Fish Auction on Pier 38. Skilled wait staff and sommeliers are on hand to pair the delicate seafood flavors with the best wines from around the world.
Mai Tai Bar
No visit to The Royal Hawaiian would be complete without a tropical drink at the world-famous Mai Tai Bar, a sumptuous space with panoramic views of Diamond Head. This classic locale remains the renowned spot where the Shirley Temple drink is said to have been invented, and the Mai Tai was first introduced to Hawaii. Take in breathtaking sunsets enhanced by some of the islands' most talented musicians.. This timeless treasure evokes vivid memories where dozens of Hollywood stars, jetsetters, and diplomats alike have been dazzled by the ambiance.
Surf Lanai
Guests begin their days with breakfast or lunch in an ocean front space that provides a variety of epicurean delights al fresco. The Surf lanai extends a menu that blends local ingredients with unique offerings that highlight contemporary Hawaiian cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jun 9, 2011

Pink Paradise

The Royal is the best place to stay while in Waikiki. Our third visit to the islands and wished we would've stayed there the previous two times. From the moment we arrived, everything was grand. Beds were super comfortable and the tall ceilings makes the room seem so big. The only bother was the ice machine was too close to our room, however, really only annoyed us once. The most polite and welcoming staff we've ever experienced. Spent two weeks here, and that really is the right amount of time you need to see all of Oahu. Close to Diamond head, the zoo, tons of shopping and eating, and only about 30 minute drive to North Shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Keoni's for breakfast. Very convenient, best prices and great food

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jun 9, 2011

Pink Paradise

The Royal is the best place to stay while in Waikiki. Our third visit to the islands and wished we would've stayed there the previous two times. From the moment we arrived, everything was grand. Beds were super comfortable and the tall ceilings makes the room seem so big. The only bother was the ice machine was too close to our room, however, really only annoyed us once. The most polite and welcoming staff we've ever experienced. Spent two weeks here, and that really is the right amount of time you need to see all of Oahu. Close to Diamond head, the zoo, tons of shopping and eating, and only about 30 minute drive to North Shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Keoni's for breakfast. Very convenient, best prices and great food

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawthorne CA
Jun 5, 2011

Great trip

Perfect location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Surfed every day right in front of the hotel and was able to keep my 2 surfboards in my room. We had a garden view room and it was very quiet and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

rent a car and see the whole island

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hawthorne CA
Jun 5, 2011

Great trip

Perfect location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Surfed every day right in front of the hotel and was able to keep my 2 surfboards in my room. We had a garden view room and it was very quiet and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

rent a car and see the whole island

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
May 30, 2011

Beautiful place on Earth.....

This resort is beautiful. The grounds were amazing, and the pool and beach area are at the perfect spot on Waikiki beach. The reserved chaise lounges and umbrellas were available for the resort guests only...and we were always able to get 3 chairs and an umbrella. The staff was very nice...and the rooms were comfortable. We had a view of the garden and it was so green and so beautiful. I couldnt be happier with my stay at The Royal Hawaiian Hotel. I'm ready to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find your tours on-line before your trip. Great deals available.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orange County, CA
May 30, 2011

Beautiful place on Earth.....

This resort is beautiful. The grounds were amazing, and the pool and beach area are at the perfect spot on Waikiki beach. The reserved chaise lounges and umbrellas were available for the resort guests only...and we were always able to get 3 chairs and an umbrella. The staff was very nice...and the rooms were comfortable. We had a view of the garden and it was so green and so beautiful. I couldnt be happier with my stay at The Royal Hawaiian Hotel. I'm ready to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find your tours on-line before your trip. Great deals available.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rickstar1
Los Angeles, CA
May 27, 2011

Great Hotel and a Perfect Location!

Service is 5 Star! Everybody was wonderful, and they even come by your room at night to see if you need anything. Rooms are clean and nice, though a bit small. Pool/jacuzzi area is relaxing, but closes way too early (5:00 PM !?!?). No continental breakfast or 24 hour cafe that I can find (and would have enjoyed). Location is absolutely perfect and overall we had a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rickstar1
Los Angeles, CA
May 27, 2011

Great Hotel and a Perfect Location!

Service is 5 Star! Everybody was wonderful, and they even come by your room at night to see if you need anything. Rooms are clean and nice, though a bit small. Pool/jacuzzi area is relaxing, but closes way too early (5:00 PM !?!?). No continental breakfast or 24 hour cafe that I can find (and would have enjoyed). Location is absolutely perfect and overall we had a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francsico, CA
May 26, 2011

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

The Royal Hawaiian, historic hotel, is beautiful but not worth the price. There is nothing exceptional about this hotel except for how much they charge for everything. Room service, parking and valet service, and drinks on the beach are twice as much as other luxury hotels and not one bit better. My advice stay at the Princess for 1/3 the price and walk across the street to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francsico, CA
May 26, 2011

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

The Royal Hawaiian, historic hotel, is beautiful but not worth the price. There is nothing exceptional about this hotel except for how much they charge for everything. Room service, parking and valet service, and drinks on the beach are twice as much as other luxury hotels and not one bit better. My advice stay at the Princess for 1/3 the price and walk across the street to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top