$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
View map of 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 15, 2011

Great stay

Very old world elegant - love this hotel. Greeted with lemonade, wet towels and a lei, and the staff was gracious and helpful at all times. I love the style of the hotel and would definitely visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The resort fee is a bargain - in and out parking, 2 bottles of water, internet service. Well worth the 20 a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 10, 2011

Great vacation

Great hotel but horrible food. I ended up with food poisoning so we stayed away from their food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Diamond Head hike

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 9, 2011

Fantastic

My husband and I went to Oahu to celebrate our 40th anniversary. After reviewing many hotels in Waikiki, we settled on The Royal Hawaiian. The place far exceeded our expectations. Our breakfast was included in our rate. Thinking it would be the "typical" continental, we were surprised with a menu that included juice and/or fruit and a list of about 8 different selections...including eggs benedict. Our favorites were the belgian waffles, pancakes and the stuffed French toast. The portions were more than adequate. The beach was GREAT and we enjoyed the very blue Pacific Ocean. Most of the time we stayed at the beach for the day... must cover with lots of sunscreen and stay under an umbrella as much as you can. We had 3 main activities planned, 2 of which the concierge planned... Pearl Harbor(short tour to Arizona Memorial) and a tour of the island. Both were extremely fascinating in their own way. We planned the luau through Diamond Vacations online. Not our best idea. We went to Paradise Cove, which was great. The booking company failed to take off a promotional deal(that I booked). The Paradise Cove company would not honor the "deal", the only negative of that experience. At the Royal Hawaiian the service is impeccable... everyone was helpful, courteous and quite informative as to the history of the hotel and of the islands. Our room was very clean as well as the entire hotel. Food was a bit pricey, but so was the food throughout the island. We managed to find a few more reasonably priced places. For us our stay at The Royal Hawaiian was exceptional ... just what we hoped to have to celebrate a special time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Jul 5, 2011

Excellent peaceful place

Excellent rooms on the ground floor. Excellent service/concierge. Quiet place with an aweseom view of Waikiki/Diamondhead right on the beach. The only negative was that the restaurant charged ridiculously high rates for breakfast; especially the $10 for coffee for two. Please note that the best pool with the "endless" edge is at the neighboring Sheraton; it is very convenient however. Beachfront management/assistance is terrific. Clean, larage rooms. I highly recommend this resort! We have traveled and cruised all over the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL
Jun 27, 2011

Wonderful honeymoon spot

The Royal Hawaiian was outstanding! Me and my wife went there for our honeymoon and they upgraded us to a large suite for free once they found out we were newlyweds. The service was outstanding. They also have a roped off area on the beach with chairs and umbrellas and we never had any trouble getting one. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is planning a trip to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat at the hotel. It is very pricey!! There is no happy hour at the Mai Tai bar and drinks will cost you $10 a piece. There are multiple places to eat and drink within walking distance. We never had to use a cab to get to anywhere good to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 24, 2011

Amazing..........

The Hotel was amazing!!! It was our first time in Hawaii. The staff was great! We booked the garden view and they upgraded us to ocean view at no charge. The Hotel is located on the beach and in the middle of the main strip. It is walking distance to restaurants, shopping, etc. Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is walking distance from the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 9, 2011

Pink Paradise

The Royal is the best place to stay while in Waikiki. Our third visit to the islands and wished we would've stayed there the previous two times. From the moment we arrived, everything was grand. Beds were super comfortable and the tall ceilings makes the room seem so big. The only bother was the ice machine was too close to our room, however, really only annoyed us once. The most polite and welcoming staff we've ever experienced. Spent two weeks here, and that really is the right amount of time you need to see all of Oahu. Close to Diamond head, the zoo, tons of shopping and eating, and only about 30 minute drive to North Shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Keoni's for breakfast. Very convenient, best prices and great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawthorne CA
Jun 5, 2011

Great trip

Perfect location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Surfed every day right in front of the hotel and was able to keep my 2 surfboards in my room. We had a garden view room and it was very quiet and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

rent a car and see the whole island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
May 30, 2011

Beautiful place on Earth.....

This resort is beautiful. The grounds were amazing, and the pool and beach area are at the perfect spot on Waikiki beach. The reserved chaise lounges and umbrellas were available for the resort guests only...and we were always able to get 3 chairs and an umbrella. The staff was very nice...and the rooms were comfortable. We had a view of the garden and it was so green and so beautiful. I couldnt be happier with my stay at The Royal Hawaiian Hotel. I'm ready to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find your tours on-line before your trip. Great deals available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rickstar1
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 27, 2011

Great Hotel and a Perfect Location!

Service is 5 Star! Everybody was wonderful, and they even come by your room at night to see if you need anything. Rooms are clean and nice, though a bit small. Pool/jacuzzi area is relaxing, but closes way too early (5:00 PM !?!?). No continental breakfast or 24 hour cafe that I can find (and would have enjoyed). Location is absolutely perfect and overall we had a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top