$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
151 reviews
On the Beach

Beautiful hotel on the beach. Great staff. The only negative thing is they will charge for every... See full review

  • Spitfireus
  • Dec 7, 2014
Like living in the time of Duke Kahanamoku!

From the moment you drive into entrance of the famous pink hotel, it just conjures up memories of... See full review

  • PT World Champion Surfer
  • Dec 6, 2014
The Royal Hawaiian - A Luxury Collection Resort is filled with the history, romance and casual sophistication of Hawaiian culture, blended with the charm of Spanish-Moorish architecture. Opened in 1927, the perfectly pink luxury hotel is known as the Pink Palace of the Pacific. Premium tower rooms feature spacious work desks and private balconies with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean. Rooms are also available with views of the hotel's tropical gardens. On-site dining options at The Royal Hawaiian share the traditional Hawaiian culture of hula, luaus, storytelling and songs.
Key facts
  • 528 guestrooms
  • 34 suites
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • 2 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Business center
Neighborhood
The Royal Hawaiian sits majestically on a beautiful stretch of Waikiki Beach on the island of Oahu. The hotel's Azure Restaurant and Bar serves seafood and specialty local cuisine alongside the soft sand of Waikiki Beach. For unbeatable views of Diamond Head - known for its historic hiking trail, coastal views, and military history - you only have to look outside.
Hints and tips
The Royal Hawaiian offers currency exchange as well as laundry service, dry cleaning and floral services.

Guests can relax and rejuvenate within a sanctuary of tropical palms, flowering plants and winding stone pathways at Abhasa Spa, Waikiki's premier garden spa.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort Rooms

Garden View
Overlooking the resort's lush gardens and grand entryway, this exquisite guest room features a bold and indulgent design with plush Luxury Collection bedding as a centerpiece, a sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, an expansive work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Royal Grove
Offering a private sanctuary and quiet escape, this exquisitely appointed guest room overlooks Helumoa the former playground of Hawaiian royalty, now the resort's tranquil Coconut Grove gardens. This guest room features plush Luxury Collection bedding, sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a work desk, high-speed Internet access and full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Garden Junior Suite
Enchanting and evocative of timeless glamour, this junior suite in the resort's Historic Building offers an inviting expanse to relax. Beautiful views of the tranquil Coconut Grove and lush gardens are just outside your window. The junior suite features a bold and indulgent design with our plush Luxury Collection bedding as the centerpiece, a sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a large work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Royal Ocean Front
This alluring and palatial oceanfront room in the Historic Building offers stunning views of world-famous Waikiki Beach and the azure Pacific Ocean. Bold and indulgent design is accompanied by exquisitely appointed details - our signature Luxury Collection bedding, sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a large work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Tower Ocean Front
Timeless and dramatic views of Waikiki Beach and the azure Pacific Ocean enchant your senses from this Royal Beach Tower guest room's private balcony. This guest room features plush Luxury Collection bedding, an armchair, a work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a mini bar and luxurious full bath amenities. Access to the exclusive Tower Club Lounge is also included with this guest room. One king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.7 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.1 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.3 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.8 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.9 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Private Dining
Those seeking a more intimate way to enjoy the beach or the evening will be able to partake of the laidback ambiance of The Royal Cabanas. The ocean front and poolside cabanas are available for rental during the day and transform into a candlelit enclave at night. Enjoy exclusive menus day and night of cocktails, menus from Azure and poolside light fare.
Azure
Illuminated by candlelight, mother-of-pearl mosaics, and accented by views of the pacific Azure offers island inspired and prepared seafood with the freshest vegetables in partnership with our local farmers. Indigenous fish from ahi to onaga, Azure's menus highlight locally caught fish selected each morning at the Hawai'i Fish Auction on Pier 38. Skilled wait staff and sommeliers are on hand to pair the delicate seafood flavors with the best wines from around the world.
Mai Tai Bar
No visit to The Royal Hawaiian would be complete without a tropical drink at the world-famous Mai Tai Bar, a sumptuous space with panoramic views of Diamond Head. This classic locale remains the renowned spot where the Shirley Temple drink is said to have been invented, and the Mai Tai was first introduced to Hawaii. Take in breathtaking sunsets enhanced by some of the islands' most talented musicians.. This timeless treasure evokes vivid memories where dozens of Hollywood stars, jetsetters, and diplomats alike have been dazzled by the ambiance.
Surf Lanai
Guests begin their days with breakfast or lunch in an ocean front space that provides a variety of epicurean delights al fresco. The Surf lanai extends a menu that blends local ingredients with unique offerings that highlight contemporary Hawaiian cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Euroluvr
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 28, 2011

Perfect Honeymoon Spot!

The room was very clean and the staff was on point. They had good restaurants and the beach was just relaxing. Also the hotel was located in the best spot of the city. You had everything at your walking distance. I will deff. go back on my one year anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont need to rent a car because everything is near your hotel. If needed there are shuttles that can take you anywhere you would like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leslie C.
Business
Cypress, CA, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Great Family Vacation

The Royal Hawaiian was excellent overall! The location was perfect right in the center of Waikiki, the staff was very friendly and provided great service, the hotel itself was very well kept. The kids pool was fun and hotel right on the beach. The only negative was that they had us in a Smoking King room and couldn't get us a NS King and we ended up with NS double beds and the mattresses were not good. I had a backache all week. Other than that, we loved our vacation and my 3 1/2 yr old wants to know when we're going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 2, 2011

Garden View - Royal Hawaiian

This was a our second year in a row staying at the TRH. The hotel has the absolute best location on Waikiki Beach and an unmatchable historical aesthetic. The rooms are on the smaller side and the bathrooms even smaller - but they are tastefully decorated and well appointed. We stayed at the cheapest option - Garden View which looks onto the entrance and Portico. Our room had a pretty view from the fifth floor with peeks at the Ocean through the palms and Banyan tree, however as opposed to the Coconut Grove view it can be noisy with disco/club music from the Sheraton next door running until 11PM or so a couple of the nights. In the future if [...] such a great package deal we wouldn't hesitate to book it again. One bummer was having to sign for towels at the pool/beach everyday (new policy) - I guess too many people were stealing them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't get breakfast at TRH --- it sooooo expensive and not very generous and service not so great. Go to the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center Food Court in front of the hotel and go to Maui Tacos for their Mexican breakfast for about 1/4th price and twice the amount of food (opens at 9am). Also avail yourself of the free coffee served in the hotel lobby every morning while on your way to reserve your lounge chair and umbrella (better do it by 7am!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Errol Flynn
Business
Hollywood, California
Aug 1, 2011

The Pink Palace is Fabulous

This is a very good hotel, Great Location, Great History it doesn't get any better than this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 28, 2011

Hawaiian Vacation

First off, if you're driving then it would be best to get a nav system with your rental because the hotel can be difficult to find. However, it was exactly as pictured on the website: old style, elegant, and most of all "quiet". This was one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed in which was a refreshing change from listening to loud bratty kids roaming the hallways or noisy neighbors through the walls. Check-in was easy enough and the staff was very top-notch and friendly. They serve this little concoction during check-in that exclusive to the hotel which was refreshing after an 11 hour flight. I kept trying to get them to tell me what was in it without success but it was really good. The valet service was idealic especially since we were on the go at a moments notice and they got to know us by name very quickly. You're in the middle of Waikiki, so shopping is NEVER a problem. They also have tons of restaurants to choose from. However, being an extensive traveller I've always found that the best food is always found far far away from the tourist traps. Therefore, Anna Miller's in Pearlridge is your best bet for breakfast. Their service is FAST and excellent and they have the best strawberry pie on this planet. Also, when it comes to tours, you can either book through the hotel or various other agencies in the area and they will pick you up directly from the ALOHA LANDINGS located just 3 minutes away near the Sheraton. All in all, this was the best trip me and my two teens have ever had and I will definitely be staying at the Royal Hawaiian again on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 15, 2011

Great stay

Very old world elegant - love this hotel. Greeted with lemonade, wet towels and a lei, and the staff was gracious and helpful at all times. I love the style of the hotel and would definitely visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The resort fee is a bargain - in and out parking, 2 bottles of water, internet service. Well worth the 20 a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 10, 2011

Great vacation

Great hotel but horrible food. I ended up with food poisoning so we stayed away from their food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Diamond Head hike

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jul 9, 2011

Fantastic

My husband and I went to Oahu to celebrate our 40th anniversary. After reviewing many hotels in Waikiki, we settled on The Royal Hawaiian. The place far exceeded our expectations. Our breakfast was included in our rate. Thinking it would be the "typical" continental, we were surprised with a menu that included juice and/or fruit and a list of about 8 different selections...including eggs benedict. Our favorites were the belgian waffles, pancakes and the stuffed French toast. The portions were more than adequate. The beach was GREAT and we enjoyed the very blue Pacific Ocean. Most of the time we stayed at the beach for the day... must cover with lots of sunscreen and stay under an umbrella as much as you can. We had 3 main activities planned, 2 of which the concierge planned... Pearl Harbor(short tour to Arizona Memorial) and a tour of the island. Both were extremely fascinating in their own way. We planned the luau through Diamond Vacations online. Not our best idea. We went to Paradise Cove, which was great. The booking company failed to take off a promotional deal(that I booked). The Paradise Cove company would not honor the "deal", the only negative of that experience. At the Royal Hawaiian the service is impeccable... everyone was helpful, courteous and quite informative as to the history of the hotel and of the islands. Our room was very clean as well as the entire hotel. Food was a bit pricey, but so was the food throughout the island. We managed to find a few more reasonably priced places. For us our stay at The Royal Hawaiian was exceptional ... just what we hoped to have to celebrate a special time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Jul 5, 2011

Excellent peaceful place

Excellent rooms on the ground floor. Excellent service/concierge. Quiet place with an aweseom view of Waikiki/Diamondhead right on the beach. The only negative was that the restaurant charged ridiculously high rates for breakfast; especially the $10 for coffee for two. Please note that the best pool with the "endless" edge is at the neighboring Sheraton; it is very convenient however. Beachfront management/assistance is terrific. Clean, larage rooms. I highly recommend this resort! We have traveled and cruised all over the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL
Jun 27, 2011

Wonderful honeymoon spot

The Royal Hawaiian was outstanding! Me and my wife went there for our honeymoon and they upgraded us to a large suite for free once they found out we were newlyweds. The service was outstanding. They also have a roped off area on the beach with chairs and umbrellas and we never had any trouble getting one. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is planning a trip to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat at the hotel. It is very pricey!! There is no happy hour at the Mai Tai bar and drinks will cost you $10 a piece. There are multiple places to eat and drink within walking distance. We never had to use a cab to get to anywhere good to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top