$324 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
View map of 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
librarian123
Business
Indianapolis
Feb 21, 2012

all we expected

Beautiful hotel in the middle of caos, just step into the hidden garden and you instantly escape the human gridlock and caos of Waikiki. The beach is beautiful and the water is crystal clear. Plenty of fun shopping and beach walking. We loved our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

take a short walk to best coffee at Island Coffee, also the best iced coffee ever, also- to avoid rather expensive breakfasts at the hotel enjoy eggs and bacon (lots of it) at the food court right next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arielise
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Hidden Paradise in Honolulu!

This resort is a paradise nestled between luxury gardens and a beautiful beach. The staff service and amenities are exceptional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining at Roys is a must! Fresh seafood. Friendly and professional service:-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tonyxq89
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 19, 2012

perfect vacation for my wife and me

The staff was excellent, they cleaned the room and put clean towels and bottled water in the room every time we left the room. The RH has its own beach chained off with beach boys to set up your umbrella and towels very convenient, when you see the public beach in front of you packed with people carrying chairs and umbrellas for blocks. The food was excellent especially breakfast. I saved the best for last the staff was wonderful, so sweet and nice it was like visiting your favorite aunt. This was our fourth trip to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The RH food is excellent, but it is pricey, for a change directly across from the RH shopping center are fun bars and restaurants on the second floor, just look up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aroko56
Business
94401
Jan 18, 2012

Great Hotel!

I loved staying at this hotel. very clean, friendly staff and good location. free WIFI with the service charge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GouldenLady
Business
Tennessee, USA
Dec 15, 2011

Expensive, but good for locale

I've not stayed at the Hilton Kuhio or Hilton Hawaiian Village, but I would say these locales would be of equal quality, especially in the way of service. What The Royal Hawaiian has that the other two don't is a very good "on the beach" location with walking access to the International Marketplace and the main drag. The Royal Hawaii also provides privacy in a busy, busy area, but also comes with a hefty price tag. So, would you pay $1000+/7 days more for that? Additionally, the business center costs extra per use, outside the standard resort fee, and isn't user friendly. Restaurants onsite are extremely overpriced for everything. I'm a fan of The Ritz-Carlton for luxury and unsurpassed customer service; The Royal Hawaiian does not compare, a solid 4 star at best. If you have a choice, book The Ritz on Maui for less, about the same as Hilton Hawaiian Village on Oahu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Book a tour on the Red Line Trolley for $22pp. You can get on and off all day at different drop-off/pick-up locations and take in the city with shopping and history. Also, for saving, you can book the backstreet Hilton Kuhio and take short walks just about anywhere. I

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LL 92037
Business
La Jolla
Dec 9, 2011

Royal Hawaiian

Great location, you can walk to shops. walking on the beach in the morning's great. Great staff! Drive to east side, you will enjoy the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Perfectionist
Business
Temecula, CA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Wonderful place to stay

This is a hotel that is keeping the standard very high. Every employee works hard to make everything as comfortable for the guest as possible. I never saw one employee that wasn't smiling. Only problem I had was when there was a parade and we were not notified that it would take place. We could'nt get back to our room for several hours. Hotel gave us a generous discount to make up for the inconveinience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has a $20 per day fee which includes parking in a nearby garage. You pay this even if you don't have a car or use the valet parking which is an additioinal $15 per day. Unless you are going to the other side of island. Everything you need is within walking distance, or use a cab..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maui Mom
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 27, 2011

Love, Love, Love this Hotel!!!

Beautiful... perfect beach...walking distance to shopping and restaurants (avoid renting a car... the traffic is awful). We stayed in the old part of the hotel with the garden view. The room was nicely decorated and the beds were awesome. If you want to splurge on your stay in Oahu, this place is worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two Buddies
Business
Tustin, CA
Oct 26, 2011

A Visit to the Royal Hawaiian

This is truly a luxury hotel! Staff and rooms were excellent and HAPPY to help! Our concierge suggested a great magic show and several wonderful restaurants. We made a ritual of watching the sunset at the bar located right on the beach - heavenly! I loved the new decor and the swimming pool area, and the beach is the best on Waikiki! Aloha and mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at several restaurants that were near the hotel. For two women, we shared dinners and also bar appetizer plates and this really cut our expenses. No one minded! Try the outside bar at the Moana for great music in the evenings!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
catmando
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Oct 14, 2011

Anniversary

It was a very nice hotel. Everyone was courteous and friendly. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The hotel is also very beautiful and has a lot of character. It is in a perfect location. Once you get back there in the foliage you can not even tell you are in downtown Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top