$345 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
View map of 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
twowheelmike
Costa Mesa, CA
Apr 13, 2013

Ohau

Everything was great. Location, room etc... We only had one bad experience where one of the concierge staff was rude to my girlfriend. We ended up booking dinner reservations and a helicopter experience on our own for this reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johnny surfer boy
Business
san francisco
Sep 8, 2012

Front Row Balcony

Centrally located and right on the beach. Beautiful alternative to modern high-rise hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoCal beachboy
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Aug 31, 2012

Quiet and relaxing

Just steps away from the fun and frantic chaos of Waikiki Beach, the Royal Hawaiian is a soothing oasis out of the past. It's easy to imagine yourself back in 1927, in the days before cell phones and email and when the only interruption might be a letter from back home or a waiter delivering a refreshing Mai Tai as you sit in one of the big rocking chairs on the veranda facing the tranquil Royal Grove, And if you crave something a little more lively, the Sheraton Waikiki is just steps away with a younger, hipper clientele - not to mention a Peet's Coffee shop with great coffee and the freshest fruit cup imaginable for a light beach side breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

As mentioned, Peet's at the Sheraton is a great place for a quick breakfast. Duke's at the Outrigger on the other side of the Royal Hawaiian has great breakfast and lunch buffets, and Cheeseburger in Paradise (several locations within walking distance) is a great place for a delicious and affordable... you guessed it, cheeseburger!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Riskadvisor
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Aug 31, 2012

Fun and Fantastic Gateway

Family Friendly Hotel! All the employees are helpful and always smiling. The location is ideal right on the beach and many attractions within walking distance. I highly recommend staying here! Next time I visit Hawaii, I will be staying at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katazina
Business
San Clemente, California
Aug 27, 2012

The royal treatment.

The hotel was great and the staff were wonderful. Very kind and helpful. But I was very dissatisfied that the hotel would charge the guests for the lounge chairs and umbrellas and the hotel added much more umbrellas that goes almost all the way to the water, leaving no room for people to lay out. You are almost forced to rent the chairs. Charging guests to use chairs and umbrellas left me the impression the hotel is getting greedy. Even the staff made that comment!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Negrito
Business
Calgary, AB
Aug 20, 2012

Honolulu

The location of the hotel is very good, and exclusive. However we found the menu at the hotel not creative and very expensive. For kids is friendly but not enough, they close the little pool early (6:30 Max. 7:00). The play they had for kids wasn't very good and expensive as well. They charged 35 per day on top of the price we paid when we reserved the trip. They have entertainment at night but for people who was at the bar or the restaurant only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arkansas Traveler 2012
Business
Arkansas
Jun 18, 2012

Royal Hawaiian

Loved the Royal Hawaiian! Perfect location if you want to be on Waikiki Beach. Loved the tasteful decor and the cleanliness of the hotel/resort. Appreciated the helpfulful attitude of custormer service personnel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DanDogDDS
Business
Downey, CA
May 31, 2012

Simply the best

Went with my wife and 1 year old daughter and can tell you that we were completely floored with ow awesome we were treated. From free waters to even the house keeper washing our baby's bottles we were impressed. To be fair this hotel was supposed to be our "extra" hotel until we could transfer to the Aulani but it turned out to be even better than the Disney resort. I urge you to consider the Royal Hawaiian with its large rooms and even more beautiful garden view as the place to stay in Hawaii. We will for sure. Oh, and as my wife reminded me, they provided all the essential toiletries we needed even disposable tooth brushes and coffee pot AND a beauty kit. In the Aulani where I am at this moment writing this review we got NOTHING. And the Royak Hawaiianis in a very nice area full of places to eat and visit unlike the out of the way Aulani where we have to drive 45 minutes to get any decent food. Ps. Valet was only 5 bucks per day and Aulani is 35 bucks a day for both self and valet parking. I kid you not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Polynesian cultural center and do a luau. It was beautiful. And see the night show. I almost cried with how emotional it was.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dhally
Business
Cotati, CA
May 17, 2012

Good Location

Good hotel with great location on the beach. Expected a little more (5 star). Actually will go back to the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, which offers similar experience without all the "extra" fees. I am a SPG member and this still didn't get me the extras without additional charges. Grounds were beautiful and probably one of the best locations on the beach for a wedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Turtles come to the back of the Royal Hawaiian beach area... Daily!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JdubUtah
Business
Utah
May 12, 2012

Great hotel and staff

Great food, great place to sleep, great staff. No gym:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
coinman
Business
Pa.
May 6, 2012

Fabulous 40 year wedding anniversary trip.

This pink beauty is everything you think about when you think luxury. Lush surroundings, Nice rooms, great sittings areas, beautiful beach, well stocked bar at the beach. open air seating for your eating enjoyment, easy walking distance to shopping and night life. Shops inside the hotel and a Spa you never want to leave. The people who work their are friendly and helpful. The Royal Hawaiian is pricey but if your looking for Lux. in Hawaii She is a grand old Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lounge chairs at the pool did not cost us. lounge chairs on beach, you have to pay for everyday you want to use them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top