$324 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
View map of 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SkiCO
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 25, 2012

Xmas in Waikiki

Amazing location right on the beach, next to high end stores and shops and 4 star restaurants everywhere. Service was fantastic, just loved the beautiful old world feel to the hotel. A perfect spot for a romantic getaway, honeymoon or even families Mele Kalikimaka & Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the hotel to arrange a snorkel tour of Hanauma Bay! Simply amazing, sea turtles everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RandJL
Business
Singapore
Sep 24, 2013

Fantastic getaway

Very polite and cheerful welcome from the checkin. Very nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Da Grass
Business
Chicago
Sep 1, 2013

On the Beach

They hotel and staff exceeded our expectations. The support of the Sheraton in a boutique atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ruan
Business
Seattle
Jul 30, 2013

the best value in Honolulu

At the beginning my wife wasn't convinced with the locale for a family vacation. We were looking for a relaxed spot and Honolulu wasn't her first option. Well, Waikiki and the RHH prove me right. There's no better spot in the city, close to the city, yet isolated and with a beautiful piece of real estate right at the shoreline. The only thing that needs to be improved: the gym facilities. This is even a greater value if you plan to go shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Azure, it's a must-to-experience. It's worth every dollar spent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desert Girl 2
Business
Phoenix
Jun 6, 2013

Hawaii vacation

My only disappointment was the restaurant staffing. They were rude and not helpful. I would not eat at the restaurant. The pool is also very small and not what you would expect to see at a 5 star hotel. We were told we could use the pool at the Sheraton. Housekeeping, bell boys, and the concierage were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
twowheelmike
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
Apr 13, 2013

Ohau

Everything was great. Location, room etc... We only had one bad experience where one of the concierge staff was rude to my girlfriend. We ended up booking dinner reservations and a helicopter experience on our own for this reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family Eve
Business
Houston, Texas
Mar 19, 2013

Hawaiian Vacation

The Royal Hawaiian is a beautiful Grand Hotel with excellent amenities and decor. Overall the staff was superb. The housekeeping however was average at best. Asked for towels to be replaced and received 2 small towels laid on bed leaving the wet, used ones in the tub,(same response both times we asked). Coffee service not replenished daily. To top it off we over slept the last day of our stay and had to quickly leave the room with luggage leaving our camera. When we called immediately upon our arrival home was told no camera was found in room. Don't think I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sr. P
Business
Tacoma, WA
Jan 30, 2013

Honolulu Getaway

First time visitor to this property located in a central location in Waikiki. Staff is very attentive and the property is clean and inviting. Close to upscale shopping, restaurants and activities not to mention it's on the beach. I would go back to this property. The pink hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Explore cheaper restaurants close to property for better value and just as nice a view, for example, LuLu's in Waikiki.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Art Mn
Business
Minneapolis
Jan 17, 2013

Nice Experience

Perfect location. The hotel staff couldn't be better. The only thing lacking here is beach security. For some reason the hotel decided it was a better policy to harass their guests when a beach theft took place than to install a few inexpensive security cameras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SkiCO
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 25, 2012

Xmas in Waikiki

Amazing location right on the beach, next to high end stores and shops and 4 star restaurants everywhere. Service was fantastic, just loved the beautiful old world feel to the hotel. A perfect spot for a romantic getaway, honeymoon or even families Mele Kalikimaka & Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the hotel to arrange a snorkel tour of Hanauma Bay! Simply amazing, sea turtles everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Larryhat
Business
Dallas, Tx
Oct 25, 2012

Not even close to being a 5 star resort!

We checked in at 11:00 pm on a Friday night. They was 1 valet working and 1 front desk person. No "Aloha" spirit from either person. Excluding the housekeeper on the 5th floor, we felt most of the people that we dealt with there, hated their jobs! Our room was so small, and the bathroom was even smaller! Their excuse for everything is that they are a "historic" hotel. Their pool is so small that at first we thought it was the kiddie pool. I complained about my room immediately and they "quickly" got back to me 4 DAYS LATER! They sold me an upgraded room, which I did not get! They will tell you they are sorry, but are not empowered to help you in any way. After 4 days, they did offer to upgrade us to a suite...OVERLOOKING THE DRIVEWAY!!! I would not pay $150 per night for this place. Research all the hotels bad comments to see if there is a common theme...this one there is. I wish I would of looked more carefully!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of this place could not be better for the surrounding restaurants and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top