$324 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 14, 2015 Check-out: May 17, 2015

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
View map of 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacayer
Business
West Covina, California
Aug 18, 2014

Great

Great customer service. Very friendly. Room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie Randy
Business
Westminster, CO
Jun 25, 2014

Fun in the sun!

Our maid was the best, couldn't do enough for us. Staff was friendly and helpful. Fun hotel activities! Had a great vacation, the location was perfect! Will come to this hotel again. Randy & Julie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Our grandchildren visited us at the hotel. They also had a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vegaluck
Business
El Sobrante, CA
Jun 9, 2014

Memorable Stay

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel in Waikiki. The hotel is historic and beautiful. The hotel staff was courteous, helpful and so helpful. We received leis, moist washcloths, and a glass of refreshing juice at check-in. Our favorite spot at the hotel was the Mai Tai Bar next to the beautiful beach. We spent a lot of time on the beach just steps from the bar. I also loved the toiletries in the bathroom. We will definitely be back for another stay. It was so wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any and all types of food are within short walking distance from the hotel. Perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mauiian
Business
Maui, Hawaii
Jun 4, 2014

A garden retreat in the heart of Waikiki, an oasis.

So convenient and clothed in old Hawaii it is the best place to stay and feel special and get in touch with an era of relaxed comfort and style, outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door at Sheritan rum fire Saturday night is fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Slinkysmilinki
Business
Melbourne
Mar 25, 2014

Great Hawaiian Break

Superb hotel in a great location. The Royal Hawaiian is an oasis within a thriving hub….meters away from the heat of the action, yet very quiet and peaceful. Recommend...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The heart of the entertainment/dining area. Everything just a very short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zilpha
Business
Seattle, wa
Mar 3, 2014

Great Vacation

The Royal Hawaiian is a little pricey, but it was WONDERFUL!! Convenient to shopping and eating places, a beautiful beach front with sea turtles near by and very, very quiet and relaxing. The grounds surrounding the hotel can't be matched in this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reengerized and Rested
Business
Alaska
Feb 15, 2014

Awesome vitamin D break

My girlfriend & I just spent 8 days soaking up the sun and relaxing while our husbands stayed home for work. We had great weather and enjoyed our respite. Each morning my girl friend walked around Diamond Head crater and twice she walked to the top. I made the trip once unfortunately I wore the wrong shoes and got a nasty blister on the first trip. The Royal Hawaiian was an awesome place to stay. It is right on the beach, wonderful service, convenient to plenty of dining options and yes we will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler20148
Business
Ashburn, VA
Jan 27, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel

Located in the heart of Waikiki, staff is attentive and the hotel is lovely. They do things well on so many levels! I was here on a package deal (air, hotel and car) booked at the last minute (at the same time as the Pro Bowl, no less) due to a few deaths in my family so the value may be skewed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Between the Royal Hawaiian and the next door Sheraton Waikiki, I didn't need to venture further.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cynthia and Eleanor
Business
San Francisco
Jan 13, 2014

Great location but that's all

Bugs in the room, front desk staff that did not care or even listen, but it's a Grand Dame in a great location. Concierge staff and housekeeping were wonderful. Book your beach/ pool chairs the minute you arrive or you will be out of luck. Would not stay there again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nobu and Morimoto are worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hurt Customer
Business
Philadelphia PA
Nov 13, 2013

extremely poor customer services

THis location is nice, the room are very nice, the entire staff is rude. The front desk takes a long, long time to attend you and when they do its cold and they don't really transpire that they are pleased to have you there. I've got my package online and when I got to the hotel they did not want to give me me ocean view room as stated on my receipt. My wife was into her 7th month pregnant and they didn't even consider that, they change us from room to room 4 times in the first 48 hours. We ere unable to unpack due to that and after all of that they finally gave us our ocean view room. They created an horrible atmosphere and kept saying that we did no purchased the ocean view room. I had the receipt right in front of them and they completely disregard the receipt or the package that we had paid for. They kept making us feel like we could not afford to be guests of their luxurious hotel and that almost ruined our vacation. It was our 5th anniversary and we were celebrating the new addition to our family, it was a very special time for us specially because we had spent our honeymoon on the same island 5 years before that. At the time we stayed at a different hotel which was a magnificent experience. I will never visit this location again, because they don't have anything related to what they advertise and their customer service is extremely poor. What is the saddest of this experience is the fact that my wife was pregnant and she was exhausted at the arrival time and they completely disregard that and kept moving us from one room to another, they don't have a heart at that location and all they care about is your money. Please keep in mind that I had a receipt that stated that I had paid for an ocean view room and their explanation was that it was a mistake that happened when the receipt was issued and did not want to give us what we had paid for. Ahh another detail is that i spoke with two different managers and both made us feel unwelcome and they really made clean to me that I could not afford to be at their hotel. Very very sad and a miserable experience which left a big stain on our time there celebrating our 5th anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top