$324 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
View map of 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DanDogDDS
Downey, CA
May 31, 2012

Simply the best

Went with my wife and 1 year old daughter and can tell you that we were completely floored with ow awesome we were treated. From free waters to even the house keeper washing our baby's bottles we were impressed. To be fair this hotel was supposed to be our "extra" hotel until we could transfer to the Aulani but it turned out to be even better than the Disney resort. I urge you to consider the Royal Hawaiian with its large rooms and even more beautiful garden view as the place to stay in Hawaii. We will for sure. Oh, and as my wife reminded me, they provided all the essential toiletries we needed even disposable tooth brushes and coffee pot AND a beauty kit. In the Aulani where I am at this moment writing this review we got NOTHING. And the Royak Hawaiianis in a very nice area full of places to eat and visit unlike the out of the way Aulani where we have to drive 45 minutes to get any decent food. Ps. Valet was only 5 bucks per day and Aulani is 35 bucks a day for both self and valet parking. I kid you not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Polynesian cultural center and do a luau. It was beautiful. And see the night show. I almost cried with how emotional it was.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Mar 10, 2011

Royal Hawaiian Hotel - Honolulu

This was an absolutely fantastic hotel. My husband and I had the best holiday we've ever had here. The service is exceptional, right down to the initial welcome as you walk in the front lobby with traditional Hawaiian Leis that are used to welcome each and every guest. Our room was newly renovated and beautiful with a lovely view of the garden. The location right on Waikiki Beach is fantastic...from walking out the hotel to the beach to swim or participate in water activities to sitting in the Mai Tai bar and having (what else) a Royal Mai Tai overlooking the beautiful scenic views of the beach and Diamond Head. This is an iconic hotel located in a wonderfully vibrant district of Honolulu and a must visit location if you are travelling to Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A visit to Chinatown in Honolulu is a must for everyone. It is within a short drive (or bus ride) of the hotel and offers everything from bustling markets to busy restaurants offering all manner of asian fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Mar 7, 2011

GREAT HOTEL

Unexpected Resort Fee's and $38 salads were the only minor issues. Overall this is a fantastic hotel with excellent service, location and a unique flair that is missing from most other hotels. I would definitely recommend this place to any couple. Very clean. Very effecient. They went out of the way to serve our requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping within walking distance. I didn't even bother to rent a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
China
Mar 1, 2011

Nice ocean view and location

The ocean view were better than I expected, despite the room is small. It is very convinent to go shopping and eating.The architecturestyle is special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Duluth
Feb 15, 2011

Royal hawaian

Beach,dinner,and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida.
Feb 14, 2011

over rated and disappointing

Incredibly beautiful location and historical resort..a sharp contrast to the shoddy customer service.as an example it took 4 phone calls with lottsa begging to fix broken refrigerator and tv..bathroom not cleaned after prior occupants ..concierge helped 'find' only partnering restaurants and didn't have a clue about the rest of the island saying ' I've not been around the island that much'!! [...] remember to ask for soap towels and water bottles supposedly included in the resort fee..or you wont get them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for breakfast to outrigger on the reef- superb ,delicious and right on the beach without the 5star price tag from neighboring 'royal' restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisCory
Business
Brainerd, MN
Feb 10, 2011

"The name says it all"

There is not a way to enter or leave this classic hotel without feeling you are somewhere special. Beautiful property! Great beach location with nice area just for hotel guests. Good place for adults as the best things this hotel has to offer would probably not be appreciated by children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

ONO Hawaiian Foods-Local cuisine. Leonard's Bakery-famous for Malsadas, but try the portuguese sausage wrapped in sweet bread. Don't forget about grocery stores. Gives some local flavor. Go to the deli dept and try Poke it is a raw fish salad served as an appetizer. It doesn't get anymore local!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Feb 10, 2011

Great Luxury Hotel

Beautiful louging areas and courtyards everywhere created a feeling of luxury and relaxation. Hotel staff was warm, friendly, and helpful. Accomodations were excellent. Location was perfect for beach walking, sunset pictures, and tour bus connections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's next door is a perfect place to eat - convenient, nice menu, reasonable prices, good food, and great view from the patio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plain Joe
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 9, 2011

Royal Hawaiian Hotel

The hotel room was nice but not outstanding. The view from the balcony was outstanding. The room would be much better if we would have had a couple of comfortable chairs to sit in and a microwave would have been very nice to have. We were there on super bowl Sunday and were out of the room all morning and part of the early afternoon and had no room service while we were gone. The maid came in to service the room while the super bowl was going on. Not good. The hotel itself was very, very nice and all the hotel personal were very helpful and friendly. We still have no idea what the daily room charge was all about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was very good dining in the area from reasonable to expense. We thought the food to be very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandra.gruver[@]
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Peaceful Oasis on Waikiki

Our shuttle van to the Royal Hawaiian drove past a jumble of concrete high rise hotels only to end at our hotel, the Royal Hawaiian, an intimate jewel of a hotel surrounded by tropical gardens. If we do come back to Honolulu for vacation, this is one of only two hotels (the other is the Moana Surfrider) that we'd choose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the advantages of Waikiki is that there are so many dining options within a short walk. We discovered the Cheesecake Factory close to the hotel and liked sitting outside for lunch or dinner watching the people parade. But for a simple lunch, we went to Sushi 2 Go for California Rolls and Edamame.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jan 26, 2011

Tropical Paradise

The Royal Hawaiian was beautiful. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, and comfortable. The staff was very friendly, eager to help, and the Bellmen/women were always pleasant and asked us how our excursions were upon our return. We asked the concierge for assistance on a couple of occasions, and we received honest feedback and quick assistance. The location of the resort is very convenient for the beach, shopping, dining, working out, etc., and many of the tours picked us up right at the resort. I have nothing but excellent Hawaiian memories compliments of the Royal Hawaiian Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Unless you plan on travelling to the North Shore, there really is no need to rent a car when staying at the Royal Hawaiian. Everything is within walking distance, and all of the tours pick you up either right at the resort or at the Sheridan next door, which literally is less than a two minute walk across the driveway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top