$350 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

5 stars
2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
157 reviews
Memorable Stay

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel in Waikiki. The hotel is historic and... See full review

  • Vegaluck
  • Jun 9, 2014
Great Hawaiian Break

Superb hotel in a great location. The Royal Hawaiian is an oasis within a thriving hub….meters away... See full review

  • Slinkysmilinki
  • Mar 25, 2014
The Royal Hawaiian - A Luxury Collection Resort is filled with the history, romance and casual sophistication of Hawaiian culture, blended with the charm of Spanish-Moorish architecture. Opened in 1927, the perfectly pink luxury hotel is known as the Pink Palace of the Pacific. Premium tower rooms feature spacious work desks and private balconies with sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean. Rooms are also available with views of the hotel's tropical gardens. On-site dining options at The Royal Hawaiian share the traditional Hawaiian culture of hula, luaus, storytelling and songs.
Key facts
  • 528 guestrooms
  • 34 suites
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • 2 pools
  • Fitness center
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Event and meeting facilities
  • Business center
Neighborhood
The Royal Hawaiian sits majestically on a beautiful stretch of Waikiki Beach on the island of Oahu. The hotel's Azure Restaurant and Bar serves seafood and specialty local cuisine alongside the soft sand of Waikiki Beach. For unbeatable views of Diamond Head - known for its historic hiking trail, coastal views, and military history - you only have to look outside.
Hints and tips
The Royal Hawaiian offers currency exchange as well as laundry service, dry cleaning and floral services.

Guests can relax and rejuvenate within a sanctuary of tropical palms, flowering plants and winding stone pathways at Abhasa Spa, Waikiki's premier garden spa.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.279 -157.829
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 15 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort Rooms

Garden View
Overlooking the resort's lush gardens and grand entryway, this exquisite guest room features a bold and indulgent design with plush Luxury Collection bedding as a centerpiece, a sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, an expansive work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Royal Grove
Offering a private sanctuary and quiet escape, this exquisitely appointed guest room overlooks Helumoa the former playground of Hawaiian royalty, now the resort's tranquil Coconut Grove gardens. This guest room features plush Luxury Collection bedding, sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a work desk, high-speed Internet access and full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Garden Junior Suite
Enchanting and evocative of timeless glamour, this junior suite in the resort's Historic Building offers an inviting expanse to relax. Beautiful views of the tranquil Coconut Grove and lush gardens are just outside your window. The junior suite features a bold and indulgent design with our plush Luxury Collection bedding as the centerpiece, a sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a large work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Royal Ocean Front
This alluring and palatial oceanfront room in the Historic Building offers stunning views of world-famous Waikiki Beach and the azure Pacific Ocean. Bold and indulgent design is accompanied by exquisitely appointed details - our signature Luxury Collection bedding, sitting area with armchairs, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a large work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, and luxurious full bath amenities. One king or two double beds.
Tower Ocean Front
Timeless and dramatic views of Waikiki Beach and the azure Pacific Ocean enchant your senses from this Royal Beach Tower guest room's private balcony. This guest room features plush Luxury Collection bedding, an armchair, a work desk, high-speed Internet access, an iPod compatible alarm clock, flat screen cable television with movie channels, a mini bar and luxurious full bath amenities. Access to the exclusive Tower Club Lounge is also included with this guest room. One king or two double beds.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.1 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.7 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.1 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.3 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.1 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.3 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.8 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.9 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.2 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Private Dining
Those seeking a more intimate way to enjoy the beach or the evening will be able to partake of the laidback ambiance of The Royal Cabanas. The ocean front and poolside cabanas are available for rental during the day and transform into a candlelit enclave at night. Enjoy exclusive menus day and night of cocktails, menus from Azure and poolside light fare.
Azure
Illuminated by candlelight, mother-of-pearl mosaics, and accented by views of the pacific Azure offers island inspired and prepared seafood with the freshest vegetables in partnership with our local farmers. Indigenous fish from ahi to onaga, Azure's menus highlight locally caught fish selected each morning at the Hawai'i Fish Auction on Pier 38. Skilled wait staff and sommeliers are on hand to pair the delicate seafood flavors with the best wines from around the world.
Mai Tai Bar
No visit to The Royal Hawaiian would be complete without a tropical drink at the world-famous Mai Tai Bar, a sumptuous space with panoramic views of Diamond Head. This classic locale remains the renowned spot where the Shirley Temple drink is said to have been invented, and the Mai Tai was first introduced to Hawaii. Take in breathtaking sunsets enhanced by some of the islands' most talented musicians.. This timeless treasure evokes vivid memories where dozens of Hollywood stars, jetsetters, and diplomats alike have been dazzled by the ambiance.
Surf Lanai
Guests begin their days with breakfast or lunch in an ocean front space that provides a variety of epicurean delights al fresco. The Surf lanai extends a menu that blends local ingredients with unique offerings that highlight contemporary Hawaiian cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie Randy
Westminster, CO
Jun 25, 2014

Fun in the sun!

Our maid was the best, couldn't do enough for us. Staff was friendly and helpful. Fun hotel activities! Had a great vacation, the location was perfect! Will come to this hotel again. Randy & Julie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Our grandchildren visited us at the hotel. They also had a great time.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vegaluck
El Sobrante, CA
Jun 9, 2014

Memorable Stay

We really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Hawaiian Hotel in Waikiki. The hotel is historic and beautiful. The hotel staff was courteous, helpful and so helpful. We received leis, moist washcloths, and a glass of refreshing juice at check-in. Our favorite spot at the hotel was the Mai Tai Bar next to the beautiful beach. We spent a lot of time on the beach just steps from the bar. I also loved the toiletries in the bathroom. We will definitely be back for another stay. It was so wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Any and all types of food are within short walking distance from the hotel. Perfect!

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mauiian
Maui, Hawaii
Jun 4, 2014

A garden retreat in the heart of Waikiki, an oasis.

So convenient and clothed in old Hawaii it is the best place to stay and feel special and get in touch with an era of relaxed comfort and style, outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door at Sheritan rum fire Saturday night is fun.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Slinkysmilinki
Melbourne
Mar 25, 2014

Great Hawaiian Break

Superb hotel in a great location. The Royal Hawaiian is an oasis within a thriving hub….meters away from the heat of the action, yet very quiet and peaceful. Recommend...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The heart of the entertainment/dining area. Everything just a very short walk.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zilpha
Seattle, wa
Mar 3, 2014

Great Vacation

The Royal Hawaiian is a little pricey, but it was WONDERFUL!! Convenient to shopping and eating places, a beautiful beach front with sea turtles near by and very, very quiet and relaxing. The grounds surrounding the hotel can't be matched in this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reengerized and Rested
Alaska
Feb 15, 2014

Awesome vitamin D break

My girlfriend & I just spent 8 days soaking up the sun and relaxing while our husbands stayed home for work. We had great weather and enjoyed our respite. Each morning my girl friend walked around Diamond Head crater and twice she walked to the top. I made the trip once unfortunately I wore the wrong shoes and got a nasty blister on the first trip. The Royal Hawaiian was an awesome place to stay. It is right on the beach, wonderful service, convenient to plenty of dining options and yes we will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler20148
Ashburn, VA
Jan 27, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel

Located in the heart of Waikiki, staff is attentive and the hotel is lovely. They do things well on so many levels! I was here on a package deal (air, hotel and car) booked at the last minute (at the same time as the Pro Bowl, no less) due to a few deaths in my family so the value may be skewed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Between the Royal Hawaiian and the next door Sheraton Waikiki, I didn't need to venture further.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cynthia and Eleanor
San Francisco
Jan 13, 2014

Great location but that's all

Bugs in the room, front desk staff that did not care or even listen, but it's a Grand Dame in a great location. Concierge staff and housekeeping were wonderful. Book your beach/ pool chairs the minute you arrive or you will be out of luck. Would not stay there again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nobu and Morimoto are worth it.

Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hurt Customer
Philadelphia PA
Nov 13, 2013

extremely poor customer services

THis location is nice, the room are very nice, the entire staff is rude. The front desk takes a long, long time to attend you and when they do its cold and they don't really transpire that they are pleased to have you there. I've got my package online and when I got to the hotel they did not want to give me me ocean view room as stated on my receipt. My wife was into her 7th month pregnant and they didn't even consider that, they change us from room to room 4 times in the first 48 hours. We ere unable to unpack due to that and after all of that they finally gave us our ocean view room. They created an horrible atmosphere and kept saying that we did no purchased the ocean view room. I had the receipt right in front of them and they completely disregard the receipt or the package that we had paid for. They kept making us feel like we could not afford to be guests of their luxurious hotel and that almost ruined our vacation. It was our 5th anniversary and we were celebrating the new addition to our family, it was a very special time for us specially because we had spent our honeymoon on the same island 5 years before that. At the time we stayed at a different hotel which was a magnificent experience. I will never visit this location again, because they don't have anything related to what they advertise and their customer service is extremely poor. What is the saddest of this experience is the fact that my wife was pregnant and she was exhausted at the arrival time and they completely disregard that and kept moving us from one room to another, they don't have a heart at that location and all they care about is your money. Please keep in mind that I had a receipt that stated that I had paid for an ocean view room and their explanation was that it was a mistake that happened when the receipt was issued and did not want to give us what we had paid for. Ahh another detail is that i spoke with two different managers and both made us feel unwelcome and they really made clean to me that I could not afford to be at their hotel. Very very sad and a miserable experience which left a big stain on our time there celebrating our 5th anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, A Luxury Collection Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shige
okinawa ,japan
Oct 14, 2013

wonderful

The stuff was fantastic!! They know how to welcome their guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search