$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

The Modern Honolulu

5 stars
View map of 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
57 reviews
Awesome Hotel

The hotel has the simple style everywhere, which is my favorite. And the amenities match the... See full review

  • Yu F.
  • May 29, 2015
Wonderful Stay

We stayed at this hotel based on glowing recommendations from friends and The Modern did not... See full review

  • Julie L.
  • May 28, 2015
The Modern Honolulu is Waikiki's newest luxury hotel, located just steps from one of Hawaii's most famous beaches. Offering a glamorous yet understated take on the lifestyle hotel experience, it's posh without being pretentious, chic without being overdone, luxurious, yet brilliantly laid back.

The Modern Honolulu luxury hotel offers 353 stylish guestrooms, highlighting the glittering city skyline, moored yachts in the harbor, and spectacular ocean views. Many feature a private terrace where you can enjoy breakfast in your plush robe. If you would rather dine out, the Waikiki resort features exquisite culinary pursuits, including the celebrated Morimoto Waikiki. After dining, take a dip in the Sunrise Pool while indulging in a signature cocktail or bask under towering palms at the Sunset Pool. Round out the day with a pampering treatment at the hotel's revitalizing spa.

The 24 hour business center and proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center also make The Modern an ideal choice for business travelers.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Modern Honolulu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Modern Honolulu Rooms

1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites offer 665 square feet of space, king bed and master bath in the bedroom, separate living area with sleeper sofa and second bathroom, and private terrace with an ocean view.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
Ocean Front Suites offer 485 square feet of space with ocean or harbor views and feature a king bed with separate living area.
Ocean View Room
Awaken to the brilliant Hawaiian sun and ocean side views in one of The Modern Honolulu's Ocean View guest rooms. Wake up to an invigorating cup of coffee and delicious eats, while enjoying the sounds of the waves crashing in the morning and the glistening Pacific in the afternoon. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City View Room
With oversized windows overlooking the beautiful city of Waikiki and premiere in-room amenities, The Modern Honolulu offers our guests a stylish and serene paradise in the middle of a bustling center of activity and glamour. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City Scape King
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features a king bed and a private terrace with views of the city lights.
City Scape Doubles
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features two double beds and a large window looking out at the city lights.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2 mi
  • Washington Place: 2 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.5 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.7 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.1 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

The Grove
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Room Service
Offered 24 hours
Morimoto Waikiki
Restaurant is owned by the Famous Iron Chef Morimoto. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Passageway
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Modern Honolulu

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 57
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OaklandTravel
Business
Oakland
Nov 28, 2012

Cockroach in my room!!!

At first when we checked in, everything was great. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The facility was great as well,.....until the last day we checked out. Then I discovered there were a 2 inch cockroach in my room. I found it ridiculous since my and my husband lived on 12 floor and we've already stay there for 4 continuous nights. it was $216 per night, tax not included. I brought the issue to the manager, who first told me that he's never seen anyone had this issue, and it is not BIG OF A DEAL to refund one night charge. The other staff even said since Hawaii is an island, that we just have to torerate it. I found the both of the staff are just un reasonable since I don't know how they consider FINDING A COCKROACH in your room in not big enough of a deal, let along we paid more than 200 per night. ps. Despite, eventually the manager agreed to refund $100. But it was such a terrible way to start a day and lose our precious time in Hawaii. PLUS ORIGINALLY THEY DIDN'T WANNA GIVE ANY COMPENSATION IF WE HAD NOT ASKED. The manager's name is Nike, who's a total gerk. All in all, if not the cockroach, I would have given 4.5 stars to this hotel. But with such bad attitude, and unwillliness to settle the issue, I give it 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

many hidden tax at the final bill

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRICHC
Business
NY
Mar 5, 2012

Away from Waikiki

Hotel was nice but if you book a road-side room in the front of the hotel you will not sleep. Seems to be a very popular club in the hotel that empties onto the street at 4:00am...NEVER heard such screaming, yelling, things thrown, etc. The hotel said they get a lot of complaints and they moved us higher but it was still unbearable. If you can't get poolside you will have a problem...especially on the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barchiel
Business
Michigan
Feb 8, 2014

Vacation

Very modern, like this kind of style, oceanfront suite is great, nice view , clean room, the stuff is very friendly too, the room service price is bit high but everything else is perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book the private tour hiking though hotel, really good view and experience.

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Connie T.
Business
Sydney, Australia
Mar 23, 2014

Cool hip hotel

Had a mother/daughter week together at The Modern. It is a boutique hotel compared to the enormous hotels located at Waikiki - and has a cool urban vibe, tasteful but laid back and so different to the standard Honolulu hotel. A hotel for couples, girlfriends, gays, with minimal children. A gorgeous pool area, including an adults only sunset pool. A 10 minute walk to the massive Alo Moana Shopping centre and easy to reach the central buzz of Waikiki. We absolutely loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short from hotel is a great cafe called Goofy's which serve excellent and reasonably priced meals. Light, fresh food and great smoothies. Open for breakfast lunch and dinner with a nice bar. Just underneath is an amazing Japanese restaurant which is extremely reasonably priced. Excellent sashimi and sushi. Highly recommend both.

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
schultznhimer
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Great Hotel

My experience was pretty awesome at the Modern Honolulu. It's location is nice because it is on the outskirts of Waikiki, in which you don't deal with all of the obnoxious people and noise and can walk to the main strip in about 10 minutes. The rooms are spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Valet parking was $28/day which was a little more than some of the other hotels we were considering, but wasn't that big of a deal. The pool area was nice, only downside was an ok outdoor bar area. The drinks and appetizers were expensive and not that large in size. There is a happy hour from 4-7, which helped. I would say that the best part is Morimoto being located in the building. We ordered some sushi and cocktails and it was AMAZING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Order the Morimojito for a cocktail, spciy tuna roll or shrimp tempura roll for sushi...AMAZING

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fizz the Wiz
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 4, 2012

Hawaii Getaway

The modern is a very cool hotel. Our room was really nice with a great partial ocean & city view. I highly recommend going with the partial view since you get the best of both, ocean and city views. Try and go for the higher floors to avoid the noise from the night club below and the street noise as well. The room colors are a bit bland. A touch of color would've made the room perfect. Also, the room's shades aren't dark enough which allows the sun rays through. Minor things but the overall experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's an Indian restaurant across the street that serves a very delicious Chicken Tika Masala! A bit pricey though!

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fimin
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 29, 2012

Nice hotel

The hotel was clean and we loved the natural and modern decor. The staff were helpful and friendly although all very young. The pool area was great and the food in the bar and Morimotos restaurant all very good but very expensive.The location was reasonably convenient but homeless people everywhere. We are in our early 50's and did not feel out of place but I would say it is more of a young person's hotel, especially in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Snappers across the road from the hotel was a great place for snacks and breakfast.

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magicsaf
Business
Winnipeg, MB
Apr 5, 2013

Honeymoon

The Hotel was great and very modern! The staff is very friendly. Would love to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deedon
Business
Honolulu
Apr 11, 2013

Modern

Has a simple but modern feel. No complains about this place other than parking is very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LarsWolfgang
Business
California
Jul 3, 2014

Fun getaway

Modern amenities, convenient location, great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top