$265 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

The Modern Honolulu

5 stars
1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
39 reviews
Family getaway

Hotel & Staff were excellent, hotel was modern crisp & clean, staff were very helpful & friendly.... See full review

  • Mills Family
  • Sep 20, 2014
Amazing Romantic Stay

We stayed for 2 wonderful nights and came back later for an event. The staff was friendly and the... See full review

  • Dexterous Maximus
  • Sep 8, 2014
Chic in both aesthetics and service, Polynesian decor characterizes The Modern Honolulu. Neutral colors and themes give the hotel a sophisticated feel throughout, while there is plenty of Hawaiian heritage on the grounds as well - say "Aloha" to staff as they greet you around every turn. By far, the coolest feature of this hotel is the Sunset Pool; surrounded by vibrant island flowers and trees, it's a garden paradise with a view of the Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Event spaces on the property allow for business guests to team-build or relax in this spectacular tropical environment, before dining at Morimoto Waikiki, where island produce is served daily by the "Iron Chef".
Key Facts
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 9,200-square-feet of conference and event space
  • 2 pools, including an adults-only pool
  • Bars & restaurants: Morimoto Waikiki, Passageway + The Grove
  • 24-hour room service
  • Addiction Nightclub
  • The Study Lounge: Lounge with bookshelves which rotate open to a bar at 5 p.m. each evening
  • Spa
  • Fitness center
Neighborhood
The Modern Honolulu is conveniently located right off Waikiki Beach, and guests are just minutes away from multiple shopping venues, like the Ala Moana Shopping Center or Kalakaua Avenue. This street is noted for its high-end retailers, and shops that sell gifts and souvenirs - from handmade jewelry and ceramics, to lotions and Oahu t-shirts. The Modern Honolulu is one of the closest hotels to the Honolulu International Airport (HNL) and it is just a short ride from famous attractions, like Pearl Harbor.
Hints and tips
Chill out in the hotel lobby at around 5 o'clock, and you just might see a wall of books rotate before your very eyes to reveal a lobby bar with drinks named after scores of legendary authors.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2852 -157.8389
Area served
Waikiki, Honolulu, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport
Area description
Waikiki Beach is just steps away from the hotel. The Ala Moana Shopping Center, Honolulu's premiere shopping stop, is located just two minutes away from The Modern Honolulu. With over 290 shops and restaurants, the center carries elegant designer brands such as Salvatore Ferragamo, Fendi, and Prada, in addition to small boutiques, including Hilo Hattie, Hula Lehua and Watumull's, where you can find signature Hawaiian gifts and apparel to bring Hawaii home with you. You will also find yourself conveniently situated near Kalakaua Avenue, the "heart of Waikiki," which offers another great shopping venue integrated into the natural beauties of Hawaii. Immerse yourself in the history and culture of Hawaii by visiting Diamond Head State Monument, Pearl Harbor and the Polynesian Cultural Center, all of which are just a taxi-ride away from the hotel. Standing as the most famous volcanic crater in the world, Diamond Head stretches over 475 acres.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Modern Honolulu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Modern Honolulu Rooms

1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites offer 665 square feet of space, king bed and master bath in the bedroom, separate living area with sleeper sofa and second bathroom, and private terrace with an ocean view.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
Ocean Front Suites offer 485 square feet of space with ocean or harbor views and feature a king bed with separate living area.
Ocean View Room
Awaken to the brilliant Hawaiian sun and ocean side views in one of The Modern Honolulu's Ocean View guest rooms. Wake up to an invigorating cup of coffee and delicious eats, while enjoying the sounds of the waves crashing in the morning and the glistening Pacific in the afternoon. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City View Room
With oversized windows overlooking the beautiful city of Waikiki and premiere in-room amenities, The Modern Honolulu offers our guests a stylish and serene paradise in the middle of a bustling center of activity and glamour. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City Scape King
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features a king bed and a private terrace with views of the city lights.
City Scape Doubles
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features two double beds and a large window looking out at the city lights.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2 mi
  • Washington Place: 2 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.5 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.7 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.1 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Grove
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Room Service
Offered 24 hours
Morimoto Waikiki
Restaurant is owned by the Famous Iron Chef Morimoto. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Passageway
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for The Modern Honolulu

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Giblet1000
Louisville
Jun 11, 2012

Amazing

Hotel is simply stunning very modern and a great place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wanderlusted
Business
Denver, CO
May 29, 2012

Don't waste your money!

I checked in around 330pm and the pool attendant said both pools were closed - one because a child went #2 in the pool and the other because of a wedding. He said both pools would be open first thing the next morning. He was mostly apathetic about it (i.e. shrugging his shoulders and barely looking up from whatever he was doing). As I was walking off I heard him tell the next couple the same thing with the same tone, however, he then added, "Oh, and we'll be giving out sangrias." Now, why didn't he mention that to me (I'm in my mid-30's and clearly of legal drinking age)? The sangrias they passed out were watery and the server acted as if I had asked her to go out of her way when I ordered one (rolling her eyes). The next morning, we had the same interaction with a pool attendant who stated that the pool would not open until 230pm that day (instead of first thing in the morning). I commented that it was "a bummer" and he shrugged his shoulders and responded, "Well, it's not our fault. What can we do if a kid uses the bathroom in the pool?" He then directed me to the upstairs pool. The second "pool" is a wading pond, it literally goes up to your ankles. Yes, the ocean is only 100 yards away BUT... the beach near the hotel is very rocky and very dirty (we saw at least 4 band-aids in the first 3 minutes of being there). In addition, Hawaii has a significant homeless population and there are A LOT of homeless individuals living (tents set-up) on the beach near the hotel. Ala Moana beach is about a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel (a far distance if you are towing young children) but it too is very crowded and the water reeks of sunscreen. The staff is pretentious, the beaches near the hotel are not impressive, and it's just an overall disappointment. The one upside is the cleanliness... but at this price that should not be the only going for a hotel... it's not a highway motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OaklandTravel
Business
Oakland
Nov 28, 2012

Cockroach in my room!!!

At first when we checked in, everything was great. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The facility was great as well,.....until the last day we checked out. Then I discovered there were a 2 inch cockroach in my room. I found it ridiculous since my and my husband lived on 12 floor and we've already stay there for 4 continuous nights. it was $216 per night, tax not included. I brought the issue to the manager, who first told me that he's never seen anyone had this issue, and it is not BIG OF A DEAL to refund one night charge. The other staff even said since Hawaii is an island, that we just have to torerate it. I found the both of the staff are just un reasonable since I don't know how they consider FINDING A COCKROACH in your room in not big enough of a deal, let along we paid more than 200 per night. ps. Despite, eventually the manager agreed to refund $100. But it was such a terrible way to start a day and lose our precious time in Hawaii. PLUS ORIGINALLY THEY DIDN'T WANNA GIVE ANY COMPENSATION IF WE HAD NOT ASKED. The manager's name is Nike, who's a total gerk. All in all, if not the cockroach, I would have given 4.5 stars to this hotel. But with such bad attitude, and unwillliness to settle the issue, I give it 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

many hidden tax at the final bill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wanderlusted
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 17, 2012

Overpriced & very poor customer service

Pros - Clean & comfortable rooms - close to shopping Cons - Main pool was out of service for over 24hrs. Staff were very rude about it. When I casually expressed disappointment a pool staff member commented, "Hey, it's not my fault." - Beach near the hotel is dirty (e.g. band-aids, cigarettes, and condom in the water) and overcrowded - Very noisy club downstairs - Far distance from Waikik

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRICHC
Business
NY
Mar 5, 2012

Away from Waikiki

Hotel was nice but if you book a road-side room in the front of the hotel you will not sleep. Seems to be a very popular club in the hotel that empties onto the street at 4:00am...NEVER heard such screaming, yelling, things thrown, etc. The hotel said they get a lot of complaints and they moved us higher but it was still unbearable. If you can't get poolside you will have a problem...especially on the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MLK55
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 13, 2012

Wasn't crazy about it

The pool was nice and good access to the beach, but the hotel is pretty far from the main part of Waikiki, so you need to drive or take a bus there. There's not too much nearby, in terms of restaurants or shops, and the hotel didn't include breakfast or a microwave oven, so we needed to go out for all of our meals. Even the small refrigerator was actually a "chiller", so it wasn't cold like a refrigerator. Valet parking at $29/night was pricey, but luckily they told us about the lot across the street for $20/night, which was just as convenient. I especially didn't like the shutters that are used for the bathrooms, as there's little privacy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barchiel
Business
Michigan
Feb 8, 2014

Vacation

Very modern, like this kind of style, oceanfront suite is great, nice view , clean room, the stuff is very friendly too, the room service price is bit high but everything else is perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book the private tour hiking though hotel, really good view and experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Connie T.
Business
Sydney, Australia
Mar 23, 2014

Cool hip hotel

Had a mother/daughter week together at The Modern. It is a boutique hotel compared to the enormous hotels located at Waikiki - and has a cool urban vibe, tasteful but laid back and so different to the standard Honolulu hotel. A hotel for couples, girlfriends, gays, with minimal children. A gorgeous pool area, including an adults only sunset pool. A 10 minute walk to the massive Alo Moana Shopping centre and easy to reach the central buzz of Waikiki. We absolutely loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short from hotel is a great cafe called Goofy's which serve excellent and reasonably priced meals. Light, fresh food and great smoothies. Open for breakfast lunch and dinner with a nice bar. Just underneath is an amazing Japanese restaurant which is extremely reasonably priced. Excellent sashimi and sushi. Highly recommend both.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shattered heart
Business
Arizona, USA
Jan 28, 2012

great but noisy

I loved this hotel but there was a lot of construction noise from the street below

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mizzou
Business
Columbia, MO, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Business getaway

Hotel was very nice. I had work daily on the north shore and The Modern Honolulu was an easy in and out each day. Close enough to all the action of shopping and the beach but just on the edge so I was not bottled up with the traffic down near the other hotels. Relaxing by the outstanding pool was a plus. Great pool, great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the mall or the high end district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
schultznhimer
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Great Hotel

My experience was pretty awesome at the Modern Honolulu. It's location is nice because it is on the outskirts of Waikiki, in which you don't deal with all of the obnoxious people and noise and can walk to the main strip in about 10 minutes. The rooms are spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Valet parking was $28/day which was a little more than some of the other hotels we were considering, but wasn't that big of a deal. The pool area was nice, only downside was an ok outdoor bar area. The drinks and appetizers were expensive and not that large in size. There is a happy hour from 4-7, which helped. I would say that the best part is Morimoto being located in the building. We ordered some sushi and cocktails and it was AMAZING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Order the Morimojito for a cocktail, spciy tuna roll or shrimp tempura roll for sushi...AMAZING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top