$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Modern Honolulu

5 stars
View map of 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
55 reviews
Family had a awesome vacation!

Excellent resort, we all do not want to go home. I will definitely recommend to friends and... See full review

  • Edna D.
  • Aug 15, 2015
Had most amazing time!

We had a great time at Modern...The pool is amazing... See full review

  • Abhinav G.
  • Jul 13, 2015

As its name suggests, The Modern Honolulu hotel takes on a contemporary and cosmopolitan theme. While the exterior may look like your ordinary beach hotel, the interior is designed with chic, modern decor.

The sleek and stylish guest rooms feature marble bathrooms, comfortable Italian linens and even an iPod or iPad that comes pre-programmed with Hawaiian music to set the tone.

The Modern Honolulu has received a number of different awards, including the Trip Advisor 2014 Certificate of Excellence, Hawaii Magazine's No. 1 Boutique Hotel in Honolulu and the No. 3 Top Hotel in Hawaii as awarded by the 2014 Conde Nast Traveler.

Highlights

This private oasis is one of Oahu's most popular boutique hotels. Guest rooms and suites provide views of the ocean, pool, city and harbor, with most offering private balconies.

The hotel is also known for its intimate pool settings that can be enjoyed without large crowds. The Sunrise Pool is set against a cool-wood deck, surrounded by native Hawaiian trees while the Sunset Pool is one level up, offering views of the sand and ocean below.

Other on-site amenities include a full-service spa, the Morimoto Restaurant and 24-hour room service. A wide range of activities can be enjoyed nearby on the island such as shopping at the Ala Moana Center or attending luaus at the Polynesian Cultural Center. 

Policies

Both pools in the property will be closed on 10 Sept 2015.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Modern Honolulu also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$185
4.2 / 5 769 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 608 reviews
★★★★
$168
3.9 / 5 1,083 reviews
★★★★
$284
4.3 / 5 265 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 258 reviews
★★★★
$189
4.1 / 5 210 reviews
★★★★★
$356
4.8 / 5 65 reviews
★★★★
$228
4.0 / 5 104 reviews
★★★★
$235
4.4 / 5 312 reviews

The Modern Honolulu Rooms

Ocean View Room
Awaken to the brilliant Hawaiian sun and ocean side views in one of The Modern Honolulu's Ocean View guest rooms. Wake up to an invigorating cup of coffee and delicious eats, while enjoying the sounds of the waves crashing in the morning and the glistening Pacific in the afternoon. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City View Room
With oversized windows overlooking the beautiful city of Waikiki and premiere in-room amenities, The Modern Honolulu offers our guests a stylish and serene paradise in the middle of a bustling center of activity and glamour. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City Scape King
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features a king bed and a private terrace with views of the city lights.
City Scape Doubles
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features two double beds and a large window looking out at the city lights.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites offer 665 square feet of space, king bed and master bath in the bedroom, separate living area with sleeper sofa and second bathroom, and private terrace with an ocean view.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
Ocean Front Suites offer 485 square feet of space with ocean or harbor views and feature a king bed with separate living area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2 mi
  • Washington Place: 2 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.5 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.7 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.1 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

Morimoto Waikiki
Restaurant is owned by the Famous Iron Chef Morimoto. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
The Grove
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Passageway
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Room Service
Offered 24 hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Modern Honolulu

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonsterMD
Family
Sacramento, CA
Jun 14, 2012

Beautiful and modern!

The room was very clean, the down bedding so comfortable! Loved the gym, free wi-fi and the staff was super!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wanderlusted
Family
Denver, CO
May 29, 2012

Don't waste your money!

I checked in around 330pm and the pool attendant said both pools were closed - one because a child went #2 in the pool and the other because of a wedding. He said both pools would be open first thing the next morning. He was mostly apathetic about it (i.e. shrugging his shoulders and barely looking up from whatever he was doing). As I was walking off I heard him tell the next couple the same thing with the same tone, however, he then added, "Oh, and we'll be giving out sangrias." Now, why didn't he mention that to me (I'm in my mid-30's and clearly of legal drinking age)? The sangrias they passed out were watery and the server acted as if I had asked her to go out of her way when I ordered one (rolling her eyes). The next morning, we had the same interaction with a pool attendant who stated that the pool would not open until 230pm that day (instead of first thing in the morning). I commented that it was "a bummer" and he shrugged his shoulders and responded, "Well, it's not our fault. What can we do if a kid uses the bathroom in the pool?" He then directed me to the upstairs pool. The second "pool" is a wading pond, it literally goes up to your ankles. Yes, the ocean is only 100 yards away BUT... the beach near the hotel is very rocky and very dirty (we saw at least 4 band-aids in the first 3 minutes of being there). In addition, Hawaii has a significant homeless population and there are A LOT of homeless individuals living (tents set-up) on the beach near the hotel. Ala Moana beach is about a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel (a far distance if you are towing young children) but it too is very crowded and the water reeks of sunscreen. The staff is pretentious, the beaches near the hotel are not impressive, and it's just an overall disappointment. The one upside is the cleanliness... but at this price that should not be the only going for a hotel... it's not a highway motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OaklandTravel
Couples
Oakland
Nov 28, 2012

Cockroach in my room!!!

At first when we checked in, everything was great. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The facility was great as well,.....until the last day we checked out. Then I discovered there were a 2 inch cockroach in my room. I found it ridiculous since my and my husband lived on 12 floor and we've already stay there for 4 continuous nights. it was $216 per night, tax not included. I brought the issue to the manager, who first told me that he's never seen anyone had this issue, and it is not BIG OF A DEAL to refund one night charge. The other staff even said since Hawaii is an island, that we just have to torerate it. I found the both of the staff are just un reasonable since I don't know how they consider FINDING A COCKROACH in your room in not big enough of a deal, let along we paid more than 200 per night. ps. Despite, eventually the manager agreed to refund $100. But it was such a terrible way to start a day and lose our precious time in Hawaii. PLUS ORIGINALLY THEY DIDN'T WANNA GIVE ANY COMPENSATION IF WE HAD NOT ASKED. The manager's name is Nike, who's a total gerk. All in all, if not the cockroach, I would have given 4.5 stars to this hotel. But with such bad attitude, and unwillliness to settle the issue, I give it 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

many hidden tax at the final bill

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wanderlusted
Friends
San Diego, CA
Oct 17, 2012

Overpriced & very poor customer service

Pros - Clean & comfortable rooms - close to shopping Cons - Main pool was out of service for over 24hrs. Staff were very rude about it. When I casually expressed disappointment a pool staff member commented, "Hey, it's not my fault." - Beach near the hotel is dirty (e.g. band-aids, cigarettes, and condom in the water) and overcrowded - Very noisy club downstairs - Far distance from Waikik

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRICHC
Couples
NY
Mar 5, 2012

Away from Waikiki

Hotel was nice but if you book a road-side room in the front of the hotel you will not sleep. Seems to be a very popular club in the hotel that empties onto the street at 4:00am...NEVER heard such screaming, yelling, things thrown, etc. The hotel said they get a lot of complaints and they moved us higher but it was still unbearable. If you can't get poolside you will have a problem...especially on the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MLK55
Family
San Jose, CA
Aug 13, 2012

Wasn't crazy about it

The pool was nice and good access to the beach, but the hotel is pretty far from the main part of Waikiki, so you need to drive or take a bus there. There's not too much nearby, in terms of restaurants or shops, and the hotel didn't include breakfast or a microwave oven, so we needed to go out for all of our meals. Even the small refrigerator was actually a "chiller", so it wasn't cold like a refrigerator. Valet parking at $29/night was pricey, but luckily they told us about the lot across the street for $20/night, which was just as convenient. I especially didn't like the shutters that are used for the bathrooms, as there's little privacy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Koalas1215
Friends
San Francisco
Jun 9, 2015

Content with our stay

We stayed at the Modern because the rooms like clean. Upon arrival the sheets on one of the beds were torn and soiled. I called to request new sheets. I was sent sheets that were soiled again. After the third try they sent me sheets that were clean. They did not offer to remake the bed for me. I had to do it myself. The beds were really uncomfortable for me. I need a firm mattress for my back and neck. After 2 nights, I was in so much pain. I do love the location of the hotel and the look of it as well. I would stay again, but I would make sure to ask for accommodations in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barchiel
Couples
Michigan
Feb 8, 2014

Vacation

Very modern, like this kind of style, oceanfront suite is great, nice view , clean room, the stuff is very friendly too, the room service price is bit high but everything else is perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book the private tour hiking though hotel, really good view and experience.

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Connie T.
Couples
Sydney, Australia
Mar 23, 2014

Cool hip hotel

Had a mother/daughter week together at The Modern. It is a boutique hotel compared to the enormous hotels located at Waikiki - and has a cool urban vibe, tasteful but laid back and so different to the standard Honolulu hotel. A hotel for couples, girlfriends, gays, with minimal children. A gorgeous pool area, including an adults only sunset pool. A 10 minute walk to the massive Alo Moana Shopping centre and easy to reach the central buzz of Waikiki. We absolutely loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A very short from hotel is a great cafe called Goofy's which serve excellent and reasonably priced meals. Light, fresh food and great smoothies. Open for breakfast lunch and dinner with a nice bar. Just underneath is an amazing Japanese restaurant which is extremely reasonably priced. Excellent sashimi and sushi. Highly recommend both.

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shattered heart
Friends
Arizona, USA
Jan 28, 2012

great but noisy

I loved this hotel but there was a lot of construction noise from the street below

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mizzou
Business
Columbia, MO, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Business getaway

Hotel was very nice. I had work daily on the north shore and The Modern Honolulu was an easy in and out each day. Close enough to all the action of shopping and the beach but just on the edge so I was not bottled up with the traffic down near the other hotels. Relaxing by the outstanding pool was a plus. Great pool, great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the mall or the high end district.

Back to menu Return to top