$289 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Modern Honolulu

5 stars
View map of 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
58 reviews
Awesome Hotel

The hotel has the simple style everywhere, which is my favorite. And the amenities match the... See full review

  • Yu F.
  • May 29, 2015
Wonderful Stay

We stayed at this hotel based on glowing recommendations from friends and The Modern did not... See full review

  • Julie L.
  • May 28, 2015
The Modern Honolulu is Waikiki's newest luxury hotel, located just steps from one of Hawaii's most famous beaches. Offering a glamorous yet understated take on the lifestyle hotel experience, it's posh without being pretentious, chic without being overdone, luxurious, yet brilliantly laid back.

The Modern Honolulu luxury hotel offers 353 stylish guestrooms, highlighting the glittering city skyline, moored yachts in the harbor, and spectacular ocean views. Many feature a private terrace where you can enjoy breakfast in your plush robe. If you would rather dine out, the Waikiki resort features exquisite culinary pursuits, including the celebrated Morimoto Waikiki. After dining, take a dip in the Sunrise Pool while indulging in a signature cocktail or bask under towering palms at the Sunset Pool. Round out the day with a pampering treatment at the hotel's revitalizing spa.

The 24 hour business center and proximity to the Hawaii Convention Center also make The Modern an ideal choice for business travelers.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Modern Honolulu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Modern Honolulu Rooms

City View Room
With oversized windows overlooking the beautiful city of Waikiki and premiere in-room amenities, The Modern Honolulu offers our guests a stylish and serene paradise in the middle of a bustling center of activity and glamour. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City Scape King
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features a king bed and a private terrace with views of the city lights.
City Scape Doubles
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features two double beds and a large window looking out at the city lights.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites offer 665 square feet of space, king bed and master bath in the bedroom, separate living area with sleeper sofa and second bathroom, and private terrace with an ocean view.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
Ocean Front Suites offer 485 square feet of space with ocean or harbor views and feature a king bed with separate living area.
Ocean View Room
Awaken to the brilliant Hawaiian sun and ocean side views in one of The Modern Honolulu's Ocean View guest rooms. Wake up to an invigorating cup of coffee and delicious eats, while enjoying the sounds of the waves crashing in the morning and the glistening Pacific in the afternoon. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2 mi
  • Washington Place: 2 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.5 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.7 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.1 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

Morimoto Waikiki
Restaurant is owned by the Famous Iron Chef Morimoto. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Passageway
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
The Grove
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Room Service
Offered 24 hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Modern Honolulu

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 58
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shay kabesa
Business
San Francisco
May 7, 2013

A 5 stars experience

The hotel is beautiful , the pools r great , the stuff from the guest experience , pool , room service and especially the spa were very nice and welcoming ! Even when I gave a negative finback I got a phone call from the spa manager and she took care of it as a professional should ! The food was great as well . We loved it and defently will be back and recommend our friends and family . ShimonKabesa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii Relaxin
Business
North California
Jun 26, 2014

Quick Vacation

Clean, courteous, responsive and very modern. I didn't think twice about the hotel which was great because my mind was busy relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk along the paved beach area to downtown Waikiki

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph la cheff
Business
Switzerland
Jun 23, 2014

An awesome stay for jung people

I'm 25 years old and I stayed there for one week. I know a lot of hotels but this one was the best. The staff is more then friendly. They try to help you when ever they can also if they are not from the reception. This hotel is very modern and clean which is really important for me. The food is delicious maybe a little bit expensive but its worth it. You have a bar next to the pool and there is a disco in the hotel for the weekend. The location is great you are in the middle of the center next to the beach and per example ihop, outback and other great restaurants. Honestly this is the nicest hotel in honolulu. A swiss guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ihop outback snapper

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barbie sailor
Business
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Very cool, groovy hotel!

Absolutely loved this hotel. Hesitating to tell anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pamela G.
Business
N Las Vegas
Mar 17, 2015

Excellent Stay

The Modern Honolulu was fantastic. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. It was nice to be met with some refreshing beverages and hand towels to combat the humidity. The hotel is a short walk to the beach, surrounded by restaurants, bars, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shattered heart
Business
Arizona, USA
Jan 28, 2012

great but noisy

I loved this hotel but there was a lot of construction noise from the street below

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Koalas1215
Business
San Francisco
Jun 9, 2015

Content with our stay

We stayed at the Modern because the rooms like clean. Upon arrival the sheets on one of the beds were torn and soiled. I called to request new sheets. I was sent sheets that were soiled again. After the third try they sent me sheets that were clean. They did not offer to remake the bed for me. I had to do it myself. The beds were really uncomfortable for me. I need a firm mattress for my back and neck. After 2 nights, I was in so much pain. I do love the location of the hotel and the look of it as well. I would stay again, but I would make sure to ask for accommodations in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wanderlusted
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 17, 2012

Overpriced & very poor customer service

Pros - Clean & comfortable rooms - close to shopping Cons - Main pool was out of service for over 24hrs. Staff were very rude about it. When I casually expressed disappointment a pool staff member commented, "Hey, it's not my fault." - Beach near the hotel is dirty (e.g. band-aids, cigarettes, and condom in the water) and overcrowded - Very noisy club downstairs - Far distance from Waikik

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top