$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Modern Honolulu

5 stars
View map of 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Modern Honolulu

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph la cheff
Friends
Switzerland
Jun 23, 2014

An awesome stay for jung people

I'm 25 years old and I stayed there for one week. I know a lot of hotels but this one was the best. The staff is more then friendly. They try to help you when ever they can also if they are not from the reception. This hotel is very modern and clean which is really important for me. The food is delicious maybe a little bit expensive but its worth it. You have a bar next to the pool and there is a disco in the hotel for the weekend. The location is great you are in the middle of the center next to the beach and per example ihop, outback and other great restaurants. Honestly this is the nicest hotel in honolulu. A swiss guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ihop outback snapper

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
daMann
Single
Kalispell, Mt
Jun 30, 2014

Great Alternative

Very well run hotel off the main beaten path in Waikiki. Everything about the hotel is excellent and I have stayed there 3 times now. Close to Ala Moana Mall and park area across street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Morimoto Restaurant is excellent

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Infantryman Dela Cruz
Couples
Honolulu
Jul 2, 2014

Best Hotel

This is by far the best Hotel I've ever stayed at in my entire life. Staff are active and amazing. Room quality was so great that I did not want to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xin Fu
Family
Mesa, AZ
Jul 22, 2014

Good

Location is not very good. But the room is comfort and staffs are friendly helping us. The breakfast in the swimming pool is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dexterous Maximus
Couples
New Brunswick, NJ
Sep 8, 2014

Amazing Romantic Stay

We stayed for 2 wonderful nights and came back later for an event. The staff was friendly and the place was so clean and of course, modern. We loved the clean room and the pool area. Would definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The wagyu beef carpaccio at Morimoto is amazing. Expensive meal but definitely worth the experience!

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mills Family
Family
Southampton, UK
Sep 20, 2014

Family getaway

Hotel & Staff were excellent, hotel was modern crisp & clean, staff were very helpful & friendly. Food & service were excellent, although quite expensive as were drinks, but only to be expected for this standard hotel. Would definitely stay here again. Only disappointment was if you book a double room with 2 double beds you do not get a balcony! but you do if you book a room with 1 Kingsize bed!, we had one of each as there was 5 of us, but this was not mentioned on the Hotels website!! with such great views it was a shame to only be able to look out of a window & not sit on a balcony & enjoy! Did speak to hotel manager who was very understanding, but sadly there are no double bedded rooms in the hotel with balconies, having said all this it would not stop me staying here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

15 min walk, The Yard House, Mainly American Style food but a large selection, plus 1000 different types of beer to sample!!,great food, good atmosphere & good value

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Takaneshi
Couples
California
Nov 25, 2014

Great stay

Exceed expectation. Only downside is the location not very close to Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sharkbirds
Couples
North Hollywood, CA
Dec 1, 2014

Getaway

We had a very good time! It was very relax and we love the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
diego
Couples
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Friendly staff, good location, cool amenities

We got pretty comfortable there. The staff helped us with all questions and issues we had and they even allowed us to take a shower in the SPA (super cool) after we already have done the checkout on the last day of our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hanauma Bay. 30 minutes drive to the east. don't miss it if you like natural beaches

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunny
Couples
Seattle
Dec 29, 2014

Staff is the best

What made this stay amazing as compared to my previous two Hawaii trips were that we didn't feel that we were nickle and dimed over little things. There was no resort fee which is a surprise for any Hawaii hotel and the staff was super friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top