$309 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

The Modern Honolulu

5 stars
1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
41 reviews
Getaway

We had a very good time! It was very relax and we love the hotel! See full review

  • sharkbirds
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great stay

Exceed expectation. Only downside is the location not very close to Waikiki. See full review

  • Takaneshi
  • Nov 25, 2014
Chic in both aesthetics and service, Polynesian decor characterizes The Modern Honolulu. Neutral colors and themes give the hotel a sophisticated feel throughout, while there is plenty of Hawaiian heritage on the grounds as well - say "Aloha" to staff as they greet you around every turn. By far, the coolest feature of this hotel is the Sunset Pool; surrounded by vibrant island flowers and trees, it's a garden paradise with a view of the Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Event spaces on the property allow for business guests to team-build or relax in this spectacular tropical environment, before dining at Morimoto Waikiki, where island produce is served daily by the "Iron Chef".
Key Facts
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 9,200-square-feet of conference and event space
  • 2 pools, including an adults-only pool
  • Bars & restaurants: Morimoto Waikiki, Passageway + The Grove
  • 24-hour room service
  • Addiction Nightclub
  • The Study Lounge: Lounge with bookshelves which rotate open to a bar at 5 p.m. each evening
  • Spa
  • Fitness center
Neighborhood
The Modern Honolulu is conveniently located right off Waikiki Beach, and guests are just minutes away from multiple shopping venues, like the Ala Moana Shopping Center or Kalakaua Avenue. This street is noted for its high-end retailers, and shops that sell gifts and souvenirs - from handmade jewelry and ceramics, to lotions and Oahu t-shirts. The Modern Honolulu is one of the closest hotels to the Honolulu International Airport (HNL) and it is just a short ride from famous attractions, like Pearl Harbor.
Hints and tips
Chill out in the hotel lobby at around 5 o'clock, and you just might see a wall of books rotate before your very eyes to reveal a lobby bar with drinks named after scores of legendary authors.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Modern Honolulu also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Modern Honolulu Rooms

1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites offer 665 square feet of space, king bed and master bath in the bedroom, separate living area with sleeper sofa and second bathroom, and private terrace with an ocean view.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
Ocean Front Suites offer 485 square feet of space with ocean or harbor views and feature a king bed with separate living area.
Ocean View Room
Awaken to the brilliant Hawaiian sun and ocean side views in one of The Modern Honolulu's Ocean View guest rooms. Wake up to an invigorating cup of coffee and delicious eats, while enjoying the sounds of the waves crashing in the morning and the glistening Pacific in the afternoon. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City View Room
With oversized windows overlooking the beautiful city of Waikiki and premiere in-room amenities, The Modern Honolulu offers our guests a stylish and serene paradise in the middle of a bustling center of activity and glamour. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City Scape King
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features a king bed and a private terrace with views of the city lights.
City Scape Doubles
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features two double beds and a large window looking out at the city lights.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2 mi
  • Washington Place: 2 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.5 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.7 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.1 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Grove
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Room Service
Offered 24 hours
Morimoto Waikiki
Restaurant is owned by the Famous Iron Chef Morimoto. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Passageway
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for The Modern Honolulu

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicknickelb
New York New York
Jan 24, 2013

Great birthday.

After checking out if my 1st hotel and arriving at the modern I felt like this is what I was expecting at the 1st ( I checked into the 1st took a shower and checked out) the staff was amazing from the time we got to vallet. Very attentive to your needs. The room was great. They gave great recombinations for what I asked for. Concierge remembered when my bday was. Going down by the pool the staff was there for everything you needed. I would come back from a long day ice would be in the room with bottles of water waiting. They tried to figure out what you needed before you even needed it. I would stay here again and recommend that other people stay here. And I tend to stay at a le meridian and hotels like that when i travel and this place was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ono Hawaiian foods it was the expierence I was looking for to eat and they provided it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonsterMD
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 14, 2012

Beautiful and modern!

The room was very clean, the down bedding so comfortable! Loved the gym, free wi-fi and the staff was super!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Giblet1000
Business
Louisville
Jun 11, 2012

Amazing

Hotel is simply stunning very modern and a great place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy11123
Business
Suffield, Ct
Jan 4, 2013

Excellent hotel and staff that is very accommodating

Excellent hotel and staff that is very accommodating. This hotel is located centrally. Great choice and will revisit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best beach to learn to surf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicknickelb
Business
New York New York
Jan 24, 2013

Great birthday.

After checking out if my 1st hotel and arriving at the modern I felt like this is what I was expecting at the 1st ( I checked into the 1st took a shower and checked out) the staff was amazing from the time we got to vallet. Very attentive to your needs. The room was great. They gave great recombinations for what I asked for. Concierge remembered when my bday was. Going down by the pool the staff was there for everything you needed. I would come back from a long day ice would be in the room with bottles of water waiting. They tried to figure out what you needed before you even needed it. I would stay here again and recommend that other people stay here. And I tend to stay at a le meridian and hotels like that when i travel and this place was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ono Hawaiian foods it was the expierence I was looking for to eat and they provided it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveljunkey
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 14, 2013

Not your average Honolulu/Waikiki resort

We had a great time at this hotel. If you prefer smaller more intimate, boutique like hotels compared to humongous resorts with tons of people and shops and tourists walking around the lobby then you should consider this place. It is a walk from all the major hotels along the beach but that's another reason why we enjoyed it so much. There are also two pools. one for adults which is not really a pool more of a wading pool and an everyone pool where most everyone stays. Although we prefer not to be around children, the everyone pool was were the action was (not that there was much, but more so) and you could actually take a real dip, so that is were many hours reading and sun bathing were spent. The staff everywhere was great and super attentive. The nightly turn down service where they bring two bottles of water was also a nice touch. Also- Morimoto's restaurant is in the hotel and we were there 3 times over the course of our 5 day stay. The food was amazing and it was great to finally go to one of his restaurants. True it was expensivebut we are from NYC and have been to Hawaii before so were prepared for the prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shay kabesa
Business
San Francisco
May 7, 2013

A 5 stars experience

The hotel is beautiful , the pools r great , the stuff from the guest experience , pool , room service and especially the spa were very nice and welcoming ! Even when I gave a negative finback I got a phone call from the spa manager and she took care of it as a professional should ! The food was great as well . We loved it and defently will be back and recommend our friends and family . ShimonKabesa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaintingByScott
Business
Crystal Lake, IL
Sep 11, 2013

very relaxing experience

Everything about this hotel is amazing, despite the noise volume from the street traffic below. there are even speakers in the pool, so when you are swimming under water, you can hear music. Very soothing and relaxing stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel features a well known sushi chef from a big time television show, well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ez v
Business
Seattle
Mar 7, 2014

Great customer Svc and staff

I have stayed at this hotel more than once and it consistently a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zmaui
Business
California
May 28, 2014

Unexpectedly great

The staff was outstanding, could not do enough for you. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and appointed in a minimalist, yet beautiful style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Goofy USA, do not let the name fool you this is a very god place to eat, but be prepared to wait!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steph la cheff
Business
Switzerland
Jun 23, 2014

An awesome stay for jung people

I'm 25 years old and I stayed there for one week. I know a lot of hotels but this one was the best. The staff is more then friendly. They try to help you when ever they can also if they are not from the reception. This hotel is very modern and clean which is really important for me. The food is delicious maybe a little bit expensive but its worth it. You have a bar next to the pool and there is a disco in the hotel for the weekend. The location is great you are in the middle of the center next to the beach and per example ihop, outback and other great restaurants. Honestly this is the nicest hotel in honolulu. A swiss guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ihop outback snapper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top