$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Modern Honolulu

5 stars
View map of 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
55 reviews
Family had a awesome vacation!

Excellent resort, we all do not want to go home. I will definitely recommend to friends and... See full review

  • Edna D.
  • Aug 15, 2015
Had most amazing time!

We had a great time at Modern...The pool is amazing... See full review

  • Abhinav G.
  • Jul 13, 2015

As its name suggests, The Modern Honolulu hotel takes on a contemporary and cosmopolitan theme. While the exterior may look like your ordinary beach hotel, the interior is designed with chic, modern decor.

The sleek and stylish guest rooms feature marble bathrooms, comfortable Italian linens and even an iPod or iPad that comes pre-programmed with Hawaiian music to set the tone.

The Modern Honolulu has received a number of different awards, including the Trip Advisor 2014 Certificate of Excellence, Hawaii Magazine's No. 1 Boutique Hotel in Honolulu and the No. 3 Top Hotel in Hawaii as awarded by the 2014 Conde Nast Traveler.

Highlights

This private oasis is one of Oahu's most popular boutique hotels. Guest rooms and suites provide views of the ocean, pool, city and harbor, with most offering private balconies.

The hotel is also known for its intimate pool settings that can be enjoyed without large crowds. The Sunrise Pool is set against a cool-wood deck, surrounded by native Hawaiian trees while the Sunset Pool is one level up, offering views of the sand and ocean below.

Other on-site amenities include a full-service spa, the Morimoto Restaurant and 24-hour room service. A wide range of activities can be enjoyed nearby on the island such as shopping at the Ala Moana Center or attending luaus at the Polynesian Cultural Center. 

Policies

Both pools in the property will be closed on 10 Sept 2015.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Modern Honolulu also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$185
4.2 / 5 769 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 608 reviews
★★★★
$168
3.9 / 5 1,083 reviews
★★★★
$284
4.3 / 5 265 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 258 reviews
★★★★
$189
4.1 / 5 210 reviews
★★★★★
$356
4.8 / 5 65 reviews
★★★★
$228
4.0 / 5 104 reviews
★★★★
$235
4.4 / 5 312 reviews

The Modern Honolulu Rooms

Ocean View Room
Awaken to the brilliant Hawaiian sun and ocean side views in one of The Modern Honolulu's Ocean View guest rooms. Wake up to an invigorating cup of coffee and delicious eats, while enjoying the sounds of the waves crashing in the morning and the glistening Pacific in the afternoon. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City View Room
With oversized windows overlooking the beautiful city of Waikiki and premiere in-room amenities, The Modern Honolulu offers our guests a stylish and serene paradise in the middle of a bustling center of activity and glamour. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City Scape King
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features a king bed and a private terrace with views of the city lights.
City Scape Doubles
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features two double beds and a large window looking out at the city lights.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites offer 665 square feet of space, king bed and master bath in the bedroom, separate living area with sleeper sofa and second bathroom, and private terrace with an ocean view.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
Ocean Front Suites offer 485 square feet of space with ocean or harbor views and feature a king bed with separate living area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2 mi
  • Washington Place: 2 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.5 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.7 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.1 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

Morimoto Waikiki
Restaurant is owned by the Famous Iron Chef Morimoto. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
The Grove
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Passageway
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Room Service
Offered 24 hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Modern Honolulu

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ez v
Business
Seattle
Mar 7, 2014

Great customer Svc and staff

I have stayed at this hotel more than once and it consistently a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonsterMD
Family
Sacramento, CA
Jun 14, 2012

Beautiful and modern!

The room was very clean, the down bedding so comfortable! Loved the gym, free wi-fi and the staff was super!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Giblet1000
Couples
Louisville
Jun 11, 2012

Amazing

Hotel is simply stunning very modern and a great place to relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimmy11123
Couples
Suffield, Ct
Jan 4, 2013

Excellent hotel and staff that is very accommodating

Excellent hotel and staff that is very accommodating. This hotel is located centrally. Great choice and will revisit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best beach to learn to surf.

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicknickelb
New York New York
Jan 24, 2013

Great birthday.

After checking out if my 1st hotel and arriving at the modern I felt like this is what I was expecting at the 1st ( I checked into the 1st took a shower and checked out) the staff was amazing from the time we got to vallet. Very attentive to your needs. The room was great. They gave great recombinations for what I asked for. Concierge remembered when my bday was. Going down by the pool the staff was there for everything you needed. I would come back from a long day ice would be in the room with bottles of water waiting. They tried to figure out what you needed before you even needed it. I would stay here again and recommend that other people stay here. And I tend to stay at a le meridian and hotels like that when i travel and this place was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ono Hawaiian foods it was the expierence I was looking for to eat and they provided it

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveljunkey
Couples
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 14, 2013

Not your average Honolulu/Waikiki resort

We had a great time at this hotel. If you prefer smaller more intimate, boutique like hotels compared to humongous resorts with tons of people and shops and tourists walking around the lobby then you should consider this place. It is a walk from all the major hotels along the beach but that's another reason why we enjoyed it so much. There are also two pools. one for adults which is not really a pool more of a wading pool and an everyone pool where most everyone stays. Although we prefer not to be around children, the everyone pool was were the action was (not that there was much, but more so) and you could actually take a real dip, so that is were many hours reading and sun bathing were spent. The staff everywhere was great and super attentive. The nightly turn down service where they bring two bottles of water was also a nice touch. Also- Morimoto's restaurant is in the hotel and we were there 3 times over the course of our 5 day stay. The food was amazing and it was great to finally go to one of his restaurants. True it was expensivebut we are from NYC and have been to Hawaii before so were prepared for the prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shay kabesa
Friends
San Francisco
May 7, 2013

A 5 stars experience

The hotel is beautiful , the pools r great , the stuff from the guest experience , pool , room service and especially the spa were very nice and welcoming ! Even when I gave a negative finback I got a phone call from the spa manager and she took care of it as a professional should ! The food was great as well . We loved it and defently will be back and recommend our friends and family . ShimonKabesa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaintingByScott
Family
Crystal Lake, IL
Sep 11, 2013

very relaxing experience

Everything about this hotel is amazing, despite the noise volume from the street traffic below. there are even speakers in the pool, so when you are swimming under water, you can hear music. Very soothing and relaxing stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel features a well known sushi chef from a big time television show, well worth it.

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zmaui
Couples
California
May 28, 2014

Unexpectedly great

The staff was outstanding, could not do enough for you. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and appointed in a minimalist, yet beautiful style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Goofy USA, do not let the name fool you this is a very god place to eat, but be prepared to wait!

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaii Relaxin
Friends
North California
Jun 26, 2014

Quick Vacation

Clean, courteous, responsive and very modern. I didn't think twice about the hotel which was great because my mind was busy relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk along the paved beach area to downtown Waikiki

Back to menu Return to top