$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Modern Honolulu

5 stars
View map of 1775 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
55 reviews
Family had a awesome vacation!

Excellent resort, we all do not want to go home. I will definitely recommend to friends and... See full review

  • Edna D.
  • Aug 15, 2015
Had most amazing time!

We had a great time at Modern...The pool is amazing... See full review

  • Abhinav G.
  • Jul 13, 2015

As its name suggests, The Modern Honolulu hotel takes on a contemporary and cosmopolitan theme. While the exterior may look like your ordinary beach hotel, the interior is designed with chic, modern decor.

The sleek and stylish guest rooms feature marble bathrooms, comfortable Italian linens and even an iPod or iPad that comes pre-programmed with Hawaiian music to set the tone.

The Modern Honolulu has received a number of different awards, including the Trip Advisor 2014 Certificate of Excellence, Hawaii Magazine's No. 1 Boutique Hotel in Honolulu and the No. 3 Top Hotel in Hawaii as awarded by the 2014 Conde Nast Traveler.

Highlights

This private oasis is one of Oahu's most popular boutique hotels. Guest rooms and suites provide views of the ocean, pool, city and harbor, with most offering private balconies.

The hotel is also known for its intimate pool settings that can be enjoyed without large crowds. The Sunrise Pool is set against a cool-wood deck, surrounded by native Hawaiian trees while the Sunset Pool is one level up, offering views of the sand and ocean below.

Other on-site amenities include a full-service spa, the Morimoto Restaurant and 24-hour room service. A wide range of activities can be enjoyed nearby on the island such as shopping at the Ala Moana Center or attending luaus at the Polynesian Cultural Center. 

Policies

Both pools in the property will be closed on 10 Sept 2015.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Modern Honolulu also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$185
4.2 / 5 769 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 608 reviews
★★★★
$168
3.9 / 5 1,083 reviews
★★★★
$284
4.3 / 5 265 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 258 reviews
★★★★
$189
4.1 / 5 210 reviews
★★★★★
$356
4.8 / 5 65 reviews
★★★★
$228
4.0 / 5 104 reviews
★★★★
$235
4.4 / 5 312 reviews

The Modern Honolulu Rooms

Ocean View Room
Awaken to the brilliant Hawaiian sun and ocean side views in one of The Modern Honolulu's Ocean View guest rooms. Wake up to an invigorating cup of coffee and delicious eats, while enjoying the sounds of the waves crashing in the morning and the glistening Pacific in the afternoon. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City View Room
With oversized windows overlooking the beautiful city of Waikiki and premiere in-room amenities, The Modern Honolulu offers our guests a stylish and serene paradise in the middle of a bustling center of activity and glamour. Our in-room amenities include: 390 square feet of space; custom beds with imported linen from Frette and down comforters and pillows; original and custom-designed furniture; custom light fixtures; Terrazzo counter tops and sinks in bathrooms; 46'' flat screen LCD TVs with full cable access and movies on demand; in-room safe; iPod docking station; glass enclosed showers and tubs; teak louvers in bathrooms.
City Scape King
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features a king bed and a private terrace with views of the city lights.
City Scape Doubles
Not spending much time in your room, appreciate city lights and city sounds? These rooms include the exclusive amenities that The Modern Honolulu offers, but feature a lower rate for those seeking to experience affordable luxury. Room features two double beds and a large window looking out at the city lights.
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites
1 Bedroom Ocean View Suites offer 665 square feet of space, king bed and master bath in the bedroom, separate living area with sleeper sofa and second bathroom, and private terrace with an ocean view.
1 Bedroom Ocean Front
Ocean Front Suites offer 485 square feet of space with ocean or harbor views and feature a king bed with separate living area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.8 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2 mi
  • Washington Place: 2 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.5 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.5 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.7 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.6 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.1 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.4 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

Morimoto Waikiki
Restaurant is owned by the Famous Iron Chef Morimoto. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
The Grove
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Passageway
Outdoor alfresco dining overlooking the Sunrise Pool offering breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Room Service
Offered 24 hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Modern Honolulu

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jason v.
Family
Bear
Aug 24, 2015

nice great restaurants and amenities, not kid friendly

Great amenities and nice service room not ready waited in lobby for an hour, but nice when we got there. nice location and property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edna D.
Family
N/A
Aug 15, 2015

Family had a awesome vacation!

Excellent resort, we all do not want to go home. I will definitely recommend to friends and relatives. We checked in late, an employee gave us face towels and cold drinks, never had this kind of service before! Employees are courteous! My family had an awesome stay at Modern Honolulu! Keep up the great work! We will come back in this resort, mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abhinav G.
Couples
Pittsburgh
Jul 13, 2015

Had most amazing time!

We had a great time at Modern...The pool is amazing...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Koalas1215
Friends
San Francisco
Jun 9, 2015

Content with our stay

We stayed at the Modern because the rooms like clean. Upon arrival the sheets on one of the beds were torn and soiled. I called to request new sheets. I was sent sheets that were soiled again. After the third try they sent me sheets that were clean. They did not offer to remake the bed for me. I had to do it myself. The beds were really uncomfortable for me. I need a firm mattress for my back and neck. After 2 nights, I was in so much pain. I do love the location of the hotel and the look of it as well. I would stay again, but I would make sure to ask for accommodations in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yu F.
Couples
Los Angeles
May 29, 2015

Awesome Hotel

The hotel has the simple style everywhere, which is my favorite. And the amenities match the overall environment perfectly. I only stayed one night, wish had chance to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie L.
Family
SMITHFIELD
May 28, 2015

Wonderful Stay

We stayed at this hotel based on glowing recommendations from friends and The Modern did not disappoint. All the staff members we came across, from valet to pool staff, were all very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We got upgraded to a room with the marina which made for a great welcome after being stuck in the snow storm in New York the day before! I love the little touch of The Honolulu Cookie Company cookies each time housekeeping visited. Location-wise, it was far away enough from the main strip of Waikiki for some peace but not too far that you were missing out on all the action. We had a hire car and parking around the marina was cheap enough for us to park for 3 days. I can't wait to come back to this hotel and have been recommending it to all my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carebear2
Family
N/A
May 27, 2015

Family Vacation

The Modern Honolulu was quite modern. It has a very minimalistic vibe. The room, bedding, and furniture were all crisp white with minimal color in the room. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The location was a little bit hard to find initially. The hotel's name is not prominently displayed, but rather small and discrete. I guess it goes with the modern feeling of the place. They do not have their own parking lot, but share a parking structure across the street with another hotel/apartment. There is a connecting bridge from the parking structure, so you didn't have to go all the way to ground level to cross the street. The pool area is nice with a great view of the harbor/boats. The pool is small, but warmed so even on windy and cooler evenings, a dip in the pool is still comfortable. Everything about the hotel was about modernism and minimalism. All in all, a great stay and experience in the heart of Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EPropp
Couples
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Service Dog

The staff was very professional - bellhops took our bags as soon as we exited the cab, front desk staff was great. They accommodated us for an early check in which was hugely helpful. We were met with a mint water & towels to freshen up our hands & face. They provided a dog bed, dog food mat, & dog treat for my service dog. We got turn down service. We had a nice dinner at Morimoto. Only negatives were that we struggled to get on the wi-fi & there was construction noise on the floor above us from 9-5 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pamela G.
Friends
N Las Vegas
Mar 17, 2015

Excellent Stay

The Modern Honolulu was fantastic. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. It was nice to be met with some refreshing beverages and hand towels to combat the humidity. The hotel is a short walk to the beach, surrounded by restaurants, bars, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Modern Honolulu

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barbie sailor
Friends
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Very cool, groovy hotel!

Absolutely loved this hotel. Hesitating to tell anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top