$395 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

5 stars
View map of 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816-5498

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 24, 2008

quiet, gorgeous

this hotel was absolutely perfect for me and my travel partner. it was pristine, and very beautiful. i can't remember when i've been as impressed by a hotel staff, they were unbelieveable. our mountainview room on the tenth floor also had a view of the ocean and haname bay. the room and the entire property was freshly renovated to perfection, but not overdone or stuffy. our bathroom was very large with two sinks, a tub and a shower. the balcony was very nice, also, and we could see the dolphin pool below us. the beach was more like a lakeshore, no real crashing waves. if you like walking on the sand, you can walk for about half an hour one way along a beautiful, quiet residential neighborhood. architecture buffs will love the 1960s building by a somewhat famous architect. this is not a huge resort where you are walking forever from room to pool, to car, ect. it is basically on tower with a wing of rooms over the dolphin pool. all of our meals were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

skip waikiki and stay in kahala. it is so much nicer and close to all the attractions of the northshore(snorkeling, beaches,ect), plus if you want shopping, you are only about 10 minutes from the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimlu
Business
Mount Vernon, NY
Nov 3, 2009

Absolutely beautiful!

We went to the Kahala Hotel in Hawaii for our son's wedding. He got married on the beach. It was absolutely spectacular and a beautiful place to be married. The hotel staff was first-rate. They were helpful in giving directions - we went to Pearl Harbor and the Diamond Head Crater. They were also very helpful in recommending places to eat in Waikiki. The location of the hotel was perfect and the staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. The Kahala is definitely a hotel we would love to stay at again. We highly recommend it. Our room was magnificent. We had a large terrace that overlooked the golf course and the mountains with a partial view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel restaurant by the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
May 2, 2008

Must Stay

This hotel has to be the best hotle I have ever stayed in. The rooms were great, there was three fabulous restraunts on site. The house keeping staff did a spectacular job and everyone was very friendly and it was close enough to Wikiki beach to go there ad far enough away to enjoy the beauty of Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car it is easy to get around and you can do so much without having to be in the bustle of Wikiki all the time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 27, 2007

Great Service, Great Views!

I departed for Hawaii a bit uneasy about what kind of accomodations were waiting for us. We were very pleasantly surprised! The generous room upgrade at check-in meant we had a beautiful view of the mountains over a lovely golf-course, and a partial ocean view to our right. The room was clean and spacious, as well as tastefully decorated. This is NOT a new hotel, and is quite a large complex; upgrading and maintenance is ongoing. It should be said, however, that the service is impeccable! The dolphin lagoon on the property and the beach front make this a very family-friendly hotel, but couples and business travels would find it more than comfortable! It is pricey...especially the restaurant. We saw menus online prior to travel, so were prepared. If I were planning again, I make the same choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Swim with the dolphins! Dolphin Quest has 6 dolphins a a well-maintained logoon right on the property. Tropical fish and sea turtles share the water, making for some pleasant, calming strolls through the courtyard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 30, 2008

very friendly & caring to guests

The Kahala Resort was very clean all around service. They make sure your room is very neat,clean twice daily. I like that because i'm a very clean person & I like everything nice and clean always. The staff is very helpful with anything you need in your room or outside the hotel. The room was very serene ,i enjoyed the cd's that were being played every time are room was cleaned up. I really felt calm & soothing everyday.The location was very nice not really too crowded at the oceanfront. Our room was very spectacular during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping,dining,with a short drive. restaurants are in hotel resort among other services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 21, 2007

AA++++resort for ALL!!

Everything about this resort is first class. It is for family or just a get away for the parents, this resort lacks nothing!You can go downtown for the night life and then retreat to your 5 star quiet resort and enjoy your private beach, and the food is over the top!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is just a short drive away. Make sure you eat the breakfast buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bbgirl505
Business
San Gabriel, CA
May 24, 2009

Excellent Hotel

The location of the hotel is away from the Waikiki strip. If you like quietness, this is the hotel for you. It is not crowded on the beach, which I liked the most. The rooms are very nice and if you forgot to bring your toothbrush, shaver, etc. they have it in the room. When we arrived at the hotel, they greeted us with a lei and a cool minty towelette to wipe our hands and face. They helped with our luggage and valet our car (a bit pricey to valet or self park a car). Our rooms were ready for us but we had to stop by the front desk to register. That's when we found out that there was a small mistake with the rooms. They gave us 2 rooms with 2 double size beds when we wanted 1 room with a king size bed and the other room with 2 double size beds. It was no biggie. People make mistakes. The supervisor came by to help us out. She worked her magic and gave us an upgrade to a mountain view room and a partial ocean view room. Besides the small mistake with the rooms, this is an excellent hotel. The staffs are super nice and friendly. They greet us when we leave for the day and greet us when we come back for the night. They asked if we need directions to anywhere or beach towels if we are heading out to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Kahala Mall is about 5 minutes away, if you want to grab a quick lunch or do some shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jul 22, 2010

Great hotel!

The hotel was excellent. When [...], the hotel went out of their way to make sure we had a room (they were completely booked!) The staff was very friendly and always went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
glendale california
Jun 30, 2009

great place i would come again any time

we had the best experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Al Moana shopping center and the hotel even has a shuttle service which is very effecient

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dannythemannyboy
Business
Henderson, NV
May 1, 2011

Individual Getaway

I really liked the hotel. Having its own beach was great and it was fun looking at all the dolphins stingrays and tropical fish. This was my first trip to Hawaii. The food was so so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat somewhere along Waikiki beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top