$395 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

5 stars
View map of 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816-5498

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2007

Great service, great dolphin educational program, but rooms worn out

Last week we spent 2 nights at the Kahala. The Kahala staff was extremely nice and prompt in fulfilling guests' requests. The Dolphin Quest educational program was top notch, very educational and calm and peaceful, just what we wanted rather than all the hype and picture posing at Discovery Cove in Orlando. (By the way, the Kahala dophins were born in captivity and not taken from the wild). The food was the best hotel food, by far the best breakfasts! We thought the Kahala rooms should have been much nicer. POOLS - the Kahala's pool was tiny. To sum up, the Kahala has the best food and the Dolphin program.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orange Ca
Sep 10, 2009

Disappoionted

I had stayed at the hotel several times over the years and saddened by the gradual decline of a great hotel .Despite the recent renovation ,the bed was too soft and the pillows are not supportive.The only attraction that make me returning to this hotel has been early morning beach walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laredo
Jun 17, 2008

Great service

The service was good in general but I got a problem with the key of my apartment that almost made a change in my plans and I expected some kind of compensation to spend 4 hours waiting to get my door opened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Some shops in the hotel are OK.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnetka, IL
May 26, 2010

We would definitely return

Everything about this hotel was first class and the extra treat of having Dolphin Quest there made it so special. Watching the dolphins, sting ray and other fish was fascinating. No pressure at all to swim with the dolphins (a bit pricey)and the staff was helpful and informative. The concierges were a bit inexperienced for this level of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slmiller79
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 18, 2009

Excellent off the beaten path choice

The Kahala was the best hotel I ever stayed at and the experience we had at the hotel resulted in Hawaii being my favorite vacation I've ever taken. The staff was exceptional as we found everyone to be helpful and responsive to our needs. I would rate it a 4 1/2 because we spent 3 days at the pool when construction with a jackhammer was going on and the element of noise did make our stay on the beach and at the pool less enjoyable for those days. One other note for couples. If you are looking to avoid kids this is probably not the place for you. I was surprised by the number of children at the hotel. There were quite a few at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is quaint French restaurant near the hotel named Le Bistro that I highly recommend trying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flushing, Queens NY
Sep 25, 2010

Welcomes you to Hawaii with open arms!

I was pleasantly surprised by how friendly and accomodating each and every staff member was. From the moment we arrived it really set the tone of our entire trip! We came to relax and forget about the real word for a week and thats what we got.The only negative i can think of is that the extras were a bit expensive, ie beach chair/towels and parking. But overall i highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definately eat local. There are many places to eat in wakiki beach area, such as Ocean House in the Outrigger hotel was quite good. A must is to eat at where the locals eat, such as Haili's on palani Ave. A taxi driver recommended it and we were glad we followed threw on it. make sure to ask for Hazel as she was very knowledgeable on all aspects of Hawaiian cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vivianc
Business
los angeles, ca
Jun 27, 2009

paradise within paradise

The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. Spent the first day at the resort, tanned and walked around the beach. The view was absolutely amazing. Loved the rooms, very spacious, especially the bathrooms because there are two sinks with mirrors, and two closets, one on each side. The beds were also very very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, though we didn't try to Tokyo Tokyo restaurant that is supposed to be very good. The only downside is that there was a charge for a lot of things. There were no complimentary parking or complimentary internet, parking is a little expensive, but the internet charges were somewhat reasonable. The hotel had their own dolphins, so one of the activities was that you get to swim with the dolphins, definitely a bonus if you're travelling with kids. The view was lovely, a short walk to the beach and much less crowded than Wakiki. The advantage to that is that the hotel is away from the business of downtown wakiki, but then again, it also means that it takes a while for you to get anywhere central. overall a very very good experience. it's perfect for older couples as well as families. perfect for newly weds too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

if you rent, park at the park nearby instead of at the hotel, you park for free at the park, whereas if you parked at the hotel, it's 25 dollars per night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas
Apr 5, 2010

too expensive

rooms are spacious but too expensive.Breakfast was good but charged my 5 yr old for breakfast as we had 2 rooms but 5 guests in total.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

waikiki

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
May 27, 2009

overrated

it was a nice resort and had a nice pool and beach front, but nothing amazing for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

use the complimentary bicycles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LA and Ohio Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Apr 6, 2011

[...]hotel rooms

What I am complaing about is that when you make a res via [...]you get a lousy room. We just had that experiance again in Cabo. NO MORE VACATION PACKAGES WITH [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top