$355 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 4, 2015 Check-out: Oct 7, 2015

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

5 stars
View map of 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816-5498

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
123abc123
Couples
Raleigh, NC, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Can't imagine staying anywhere else!

We originally booked a different hotel and were excited about being right in the middle of Waikiki. We didn't realize how lucky we were when the original hotel overbooked and our travel company had to upgrade us to the Kahala! We were disappointed at first to be outside the city, but once we got there we decided we wouldn't want to be anywhere else. The location is just BEAUTIFUL (you won't experience anything like it in Waikiki). It's peaceful, you have dolphins right outside your room, a private beach (with food/drink service that comes to you while you're relaxing in the sun), and you get treated like you're truly special. And when you're ready to go to Waikiki for shopping, food or drinks, all you have to do is hop on the shuttle - it's so easy and really isn't far at all! Also, our room was amazing! We stayed in the Dolphin Wing, and our room was huge! We were on the first floor (mountain/golf course view) so we had our own private patio, perfect for coffee in the morning. Our bathroom had double sinks, a garden tub, stand up shower, and two closets. We soaked as much of the Kahala in as we could while we were there and are already looking forward to going again in the future : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indiana
Feb 16, 2011

Kahala just beautiful

We were looking for a relaxing quiet beach with excellent dining, and found both at the Kahala. Especially enjoyed lunch on the beach, and the calm water. We never had trouble finding a comfortable private lounger and the beautiful setting is undistracted by crowds or noise- just lovely! The beds are especially comfortable, best we have experienced in many travels. Many nice touches- like popsicles and smoothies on the beach, fruit drink in the lobby, and free shuttles to malls and Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

$15 for an amazing continental buffet available every morning.

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HammerOfThor
Couples
Australia
Nov 16, 2014

Great getaway resort

We stayed at this resort for our honeymoon, and absolutely enjoyed our time here. Staff were friendly and helpful, private beach was great, room was very comfortable and nicely furnished. If I had to nitpick, some small gripes: - Location is a bit out of the way. If you want to walk out your door to shops and entertainment, then this is not the place for you. - And to make the location worse, the on-site parking fees are exorbitant! - Meals at the on-site restaurants are expensive! But to be expected I suppose. - Resort is well maintained and still grand, but is starting to show its age, and probably needs a major refurbishment in the next few years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IreneHW
Family
Florida, United States
Nov 26, 2014

Loved it!

Very nice location, paradise at it's best. After reviewing and reading a lot of other hotels, this one was my choice and I'm happy it was. Super beach, where you can walk and walk, clean, friendly, good food, it was all great. Would do it again in a heart beat and I'm usually, rather hard to please. Go and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IreneHW
Business
Florida, United States
Dec 2, 2014

Very nice!

Really super, would do it again, loved it all in all. Very private, great service, all was as expected or even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alwaleed A.
Family
Abu Dhabi
Jan 21, 2015

best in Honolulu

This is one of the best hotels in the area. It is well known for its standaed and quality. My family and I loved the hotel. Most beautiful dolphins l8ve in the lagoon. Staff are very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NICK G.
Couples
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

My 1st hawaii trip

This was my first trip to Hawaii with my finance & we had a wonderful stay at the kahala. Our room was the ocean front suite. The suite was beautiful, and the bed was beyond comfortable. We had two bathrooms. Master bath had a bidet with heated toilet seat (a plus). Gorgeous view of the beach and diamond head. Maids came twice a day. Great restaurants in the resort. Out door pool with tiki bar. You can interact with dolphins. Scenery is beautiful, with breathtaking taking sunsets. Not a golfer but a full PGA tour golf course is across the from the hotel. Kahala is very peaceful and less busy compared to other hotels in the city. I would love to come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thuy J.
Family
N/A
Jun 16, 2015

Worth it!!!!

Amazing hotel to relax and be away from craziness of Waikiki. But if you have teenagers this might be too quiet and boring for their taste. Not much activities for teenagers. Also it's a distance from downtown. Their shuttle schedule needs to start earlier and last pick up should be when downtown closes. Our family loved the hotel and staff, but we like to go back and forth to Waikiki, so we had to use taxi often and the cost added up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel
Family
Ankeny
Jun 17, 2015

Beautiful Hotel and Resort

Our stay at the Kahala Hotel and Resort was wonderful. The service was top notch. Everyone took the time out to make you feel like they were glad you chose to stay at the resort. We loved the dolphin lagoon and the pool area. The beach was also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top