$395 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

5 stars
View map of 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816-5498

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
May 2, 2008

Must Stay

This hotel has to be the best hotle I have ever stayed in. The rooms were great, there was three fabulous restraunts on site. The house keeping staff did a spectacular job and everyone was very friendly and it was close enough to Wikiki beach to go there ad far enough away to enjoy the beauty of Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car it is easy to get around and you can do so much without having to be in the bustle of Wikiki all the time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 10, 2008

Luxurious Stay!

Upon arrival, we were told that we had been upgraded twice! Our room was lovely and spacious. The concierge staff were friendly and helpful. The lobby area was quite spectacular and we enjoyed high tea in the dining area. The dolphin encounter was a unique attraction at the hotel. The pool was nice and the beach area was private. The food prices were outrageous. Try Zippy's coffee shop where the locals dine as an affordable alternative. Although the hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the big Oahu hotels, it is close enough to the action if you have a car. Would recommend to anyone who wants to go away and experience a little slice of heaven!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 30, 2008

very friendly & caring to guests

The Kahala Resort was very clean all around service. They make sure your room is very neat,clean twice daily. I like that because i'm a very clean person & I like everything nice and clean always. The staff is very helpful with anything you need in your room or outside the hotel. The room was very serene ,i enjoyed the cd's that were being played every time are room was cleaned up. I really felt calm & soothing everyday.The location was very nice not really too crowded at the oceanfront. Our room was very spectacular during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping,dining,with a short drive. restaurants are in hotel resort among other services.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 28, 2008

Great Location

The Kahala is a very nice place to stay. It is close to all tourist destinations on Ohau. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is the best we have ever had. There are dolphins, sea turtles and tropical fish right next to the pool. We got great pictures of them. We rented a car during our stay and the parking at the Kahala isn't free. We did take advantage of the Kahala Spa and the messages are great. My wife loved the Salon and they did a great pedicure and manicure. All Kahala staff were very nice and would always say hello. We would deffinately recommend the Kahala to our friends. Next time we are bringing the kids. There is so much that the Kahala does for children as far as activities and accomidations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the International Market Place and the Swap Meet at Aloha Stadium for the best deals on souvineers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Sep 28, 2007

Luxarious

The Kahala resort was a great place for vacation. The beach by the hotel is outstanding and was not crowded. I enjoyed having breakfast daily very close to the water. The staff was great and the hotel clean and well kept. I would strongly recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manasi
Business
Des Moines, IA
Sep 18, 2007

Exellent overall

The rooms at Kahala are large,very comfortable and nicely decorated.best part was Two wlkin closets,two sinks,large Tub!!Staff was exellent in every way,organizing out excertions as well.They have beautiful beach which is hardly ever croweded as there are only 300 rooms in there.Food was good but breakfast was the best thing on seasiderestarent.Dolphines on site is added sttrsction.It is pricey,but if you want a wounderful vacation without crowds and congestion of Honolulu,this is your place.Wiakiki is only few mimutes away.Will highly recomend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

there is a shuttle to waikiki,and shopping nearby.Food opyions are great on site

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 27, 2007

Great Service, Great Views!

I departed for Hawaii a bit uneasy about what kind of accomodations were waiting for us. We were very pleasantly surprised! The generous room upgrade at check-in meant we had a beautiful view of the mountains over a lovely golf-course, and a partial ocean view to our right. The room was clean and spacious, as well as tastefully decorated. This is NOT a new hotel, and is quite a large complex; upgrading and maintenance is ongoing. It should be said, however, that the service is impeccable! The dolphin lagoon on the property and the beach front make this a very family-friendly hotel, but couples and business travels would find it more than comfortable! It is pricey...especially the restaurant. We saw menus online prior to travel, so were prepared. If I were planning again, I make the same choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Swim with the dolphins! Dolphin Quest has 6 dolphins a a well-maintained logoon right on the property. Tropical fish and sea turtles share the water, making for some pleasant, calming strolls through the courtyard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 21, 2007

AA++++resort for ALL!!

Everything about this resort is first class. It is for family or just a get away for the parents, this resort lacks nothing!You can go downtown for the night life and then retreat to your 5 star quiet resort and enjoy your private beach, and the food is over the top!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is just a short drive away. Make sure you eat the breakfast buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 9, 2007

Great service, great dolphin educational program, but rooms worn out

Last week we spent 2 nights at the Kahala. The Kahala staff was extremely nice and prompt in fulfilling guests' requests. The Dolphin Quest educational program was top notch, very educational and calm and peaceful, just what we wanted rather than all the hype and picture posing at Discovery Cove in Orlando. (By the way, the Kahala dophins were born in captivity and not taken from the wild). The food was the best hotel food, by far the best breakfasts! We thought the Kahala rooms should have been much nicer. POOLS - the Kahala's pool was tiny. To sum up, the Kahala has the best food and the Dolphin program.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burbank, CA
May 21, 2007

Nice surprise

Although the most recent comments have been quite good, because of the past comments we were a little worried. We arrived early, valet were very polite, check-in was a breeze, we waited 10 minutes for them to fix up a room for us since we arrived around noon. No problem, we sat on the veranda overlookiing the pool and the beach. Our room was spacious and clean, overlooking the golf course and mountains: Garden Room. One of the cheaper rooms. If we had faced the dolphin lagoon, you would here the dolphins, which may keep you up at night, if you faced the beach, people walk by your room and some lay on the lawn or hammocks outside your room, no privacy, if you were in the main hotel part, there is some renovation going on on the first 3 floors so you have construction noise. So all in all, we had the cheapest, most private and quiet room!!! Maid service was excellent, clean the room while we were at the beach, turn down the beds while we were at dinner, extra towels? No problem. Of course the wait staff, valet, restaurant people etc all knew our names within one day! The hall walking towards our room smelled a little musty due to the fact that it is open at the end so hunidity comes in and thats where the smell comes from, no biggie, didn't bother us at all. The beach has plenty of chairs and so does the pool, no need to sit next to someone and the pool guys walk you to where you want to sit, cover the chair w/ a long towel, then place another beach towel on top of that, they don't expect tips since you wouldn't have your wallet w/ you at the pool or beach and everything you order gets signed to your room! The food was pretty good, of course as expected, very expensive BUT we expected that so no surprise there. I ordered the famous Kahala Burger at the pool, it was good, w/ bacon,avocado,tomatoe and lettuce, nothing huge and the fries were good and hot. I also had the crab club sandwich, not bad, and the lobster salade, pretty good and the chicken and fish quesidilla which was little small for the price. The Hotel is in a great location, beach is a lagoon shallow forever and warm, Wakiki is 10 minutes away and unless you want to feel like you're in downtown Los Angeles w/ a beach, its pretty disappointing, people are dirty, low-class and the architecture of new and old buildings shows that no one seems to care about keeping Oahu the paradise it used to be, very sad, surprisingly very few outdoor restaurants and grocery stores are hard to find also, so we spent most of our time at the Hotel and only once did we eat outside of the hotel, Cheesecake Factory a million people waiting in line yet we only waited 15 minutes. Hoku at the hotel is expensive continental japanese cuisine, a little funky as far as choices are concerned if you're not adventurous and Tokyo Tokyo is traditional japanese cuisine and sushi, excellent service for both and $150 to $200 for a couple w/ no alcohol. All in all, a great experince, I would highly recomend staying at this hotel if you want privacy, service and escape from the rest of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top