$395 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

5 stars
View map of 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816-5498

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Escaping SF Winter
San Francisco
Feb 25, 2013

Kahala Adventure

My daughter and I spent 5 days at the Kahala. It was a perfect place. We loved the private beach, and the pool, while small, is perfect for the size of the hotel. We wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We rarely left the hotel and really enjoyed our meals at the Plumeria Beach House and Hoku's. The staff was very nice and friendly. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HammerOfThor
Business
Australia
Nov 16, 2014

Great getaway resort

We stayed at this resort for our honeymoon, and absolutely enjoyed our time here. Staff were friendly and helpful, private beach was great, room was very comfortable and nicely furnished. If I had to nitpick, some small gripes: - Location is a bit out of the way. If you want to walk out your door to shops and entertainment, then this is not the place for you. - And to make the location worse, the on-site parking fees are exorbitant! - Meals at the on-site restaurants are expensive! But to be expected I suppose. - Resort is well maintained and still grand, but is starting to show its age, and probably needs a major refurbishment in the next few years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IreneHW
Business
Florida, United States
Nov 26, 2014

Loved it!

Very nice location, paradise at it's best. After reviewing and reading a lot of other hotels, this one was my choice and I'm happy it was. Super beach, where you can walk and walk, clean, friendly, good food, it was all great. Would do it again in a heart beat and I'm usually, rather hard to please. Go and enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IreneHW
Business
Florida, United States
Dec 2, 2014

Very nice!

Really super, would do it again, loved it all in all. Very private, great service, all was as expected or even better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gp9387
Business
N/A
Dec 24, 2014

Living like the Royals

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at the Kahala Resort. We only stayed for one night but the stay was unforgettable. My wife had the chance to swim with the dolphins. I never seen a smile so big before. She really enjoyed the time with the dolphins. The pool was smaller than what we are used to but it did the job. And it was near the bar with a big screen tv where I spent my time watching football in the water. It was great!!!. The food at the Veranda was top notch. My steak was well cook and the presentation was perfect. Thank you Kahala. We will definitely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alwaleed A.
Business
Abu Dhabi
Jan 21, 2015

best in Honolulu

This is one of the best hotels in the area. It is well known for its standaed and quality. My family and I loved the hotel. Most beautiful dolphins l8ve in the lagoon. Staff are very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NICK G.
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

My 1st hawaii trip

This was my first trip to Hawaii with my finance & we had a wonderful stay at the kahala. Our room was the ocean front suite. The suite was beautiful, and the bed was beyond comfortable. We had two bathrooms. Master bath had a bidet with heated toilet seat (a plus). Gorgeous view of the beach and diamond head. Maids came twice a day. Great restaurants in the resort. Out door pool with tiki bar. You can interact with dolphins. Scenery is beautiful, with breathtaking taking sunsets. Not a golfer but a full PGA tour golf course is across the from the hotel. Kahala is very peaceful and less busy compared to other hotels in the city. I would love to come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tarnicka B.
Business
kissimmee
Feb 27, 2015

Celebrating 18 years of marriage

Loved everything about this place! Love the fact that it had it's private own beach and that it wasn't over crowed. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TD02131
Business
Boston
Apr 2, 2014

Great place

Near perfect. Food and parking were overpriced with few alternative options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vivianc
Business
los angeles, ca
Jun 27, 2009

paradise within paradise

The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. Spent the first day at the resort, tanned and walked around the beach. The view was absolutely amazing. Loved the rooms, very spacious, especially the bathrooms because there are two sinks with mirrors, and two closets, one on each side. The beds were also very very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, though we didn't try to Tokyo Tokyo restaurant that is supposed to be very good. The only downside is that there was a charge for a lot of things. There were no complimentary parking or complimentary internet, parking is a little expensive, but the internet charges were somewhat reasonable. The hotel had their own dolphins, so one of the activities was that you get to swim with the dolphins, definitely a bonus if you're travelling with kids. The view was lovely, a short walk to the beach and much less crowded than Wakiki. The advantage to that is that the hotel is away from the business of downtown wakiki, but then again, it also means that it takes a while for you to get anywhere central. overall a very very good experience. it's perfect for older couples as well as families. perfect for newly weds too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

if you rent, park at the park nearby instead of at the hotel, you park for free at the park, whereas if you parked at the hotel, it's 25 dollars per night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J be gone
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 11, 2013

Quinicental Hawaii

First impressions were terrific! Greeted by an awesome staff as soon as you arrive. Then you walk into the lobby, gorgeous! The rooms were large, comfortable and had great views. The highlights have to be the views from the room and the staff. They were amazing, I haven't ever felt so catered to before. There suggestions for food and what/where to go were dead on. Without a doubt I plan on staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top