$355 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

5 stars
View map of 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816-5498

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
glendale california
Jun 30, 2009

great place i would come again any time

we had the best experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Al Moana shopping center and the hotel even has a shuttle service which is very effecient

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vivianc
Business
los angeles, ca
Jun 27, 2009

paradise within paradise

The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. Spent the first day at the resort, tanned and walked around the beach. The view was absolutely amazing. Loved the rooms, very spacious, especially the bathrooms because there are two sinks with mirrors, and two closets, one on each side. The beds were also very very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, though we didn't try to Tokyo Tokyo restaurant that is supposed to be very good. The only downside is that there was a charge for a lot of things. There were no complimentary parking or complimentary internet, parking is a little expensive, but the internet charges were somewhat reasonable. The hotel had their own dolphins, so one of the activities was that you get to swim with the dolphins, definitely a bonus if you're travelling with kids. The view was lovely, a short walk to the beach and much less crowded than Wakiki. The advantage to that is that the hotel is away from the business of downtown wakiki, but then again, it also means that it takes a while for you to get anywhere central. overall a very very good experience. it's perfect for older couples as well as families. perfect for newly weds too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

if you rent, park at the park nearby instead of at the hotel, you park for free at the park, whereas if you parked at the hotel, it's 25 dollars per night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vivianc
Business
los angeles, ca
Jun 27, 2009

paradise within paradise

The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. Spent the first day at the resort, tanned and walked around the beach. The view was absolutely amazing. Loved the rooms, very spacious, especially the bathrooms because there are two sinks with mirrors, and two closets, one on each side. The beds were also very very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, though we didn't try to Tokyo Tokyo restaurant that is supposed to be very good. The only downside is that there was a charge for a lot of things. There were no complimentary parking or complimentary internet, parking is a little expensive, but the internet charges were somewhat reasonable. The hotel had their own dolphins, so one of the activities was that you get to swim with the dolphins, definitely a bonus if you're travelling with kids. The view was lovely, a short walk to the beach and much less crowded than Wakiki. The advantage to that is that the hotel is away from the business of downtown wakiki, but then again, it also means that it takes a while for you to get anywhere central. overall a very very good experience. it's perfect for older couples as well as families. perfect for newly weds too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

if you rent, park at the park nearby instead of at the hotel, you park for free at the park, whereas if you parked at the hotel, it's 25 dollars per night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MO
May 31, 2009

Paradise in paradise

We enjoyed the beach, the pool and veranda especially. The dolphins were a great pleasure to watch. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was very peaceful and beautiful. I am glad we stayed here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away from tourist areas and check out local restaurants, markets, and the farmers market near community college was fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
May 27, 2009

overrated

it was a nice resort and had a nice pool and beach front, but nothing amazing for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

use the complimentary bicycles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bbgirl505
Business
San Gabriel, CA
May 24, 2009

Excellent Hotel

The location of the hotel is away from the Waikiki strip. If you like quietness, this is the hotel for you. It is not crowded on the beach, which I liked the most. The rooms are very nice and if you forgot to bring your toothbrush, shaver, etc. they have it in the room. When we arrived at the hotel, they greeted us with a lei and a cool minty towelette to wipe our hands and face. They helped with our luggage and valet our car (a bit pricey to valet or self park a car). Our rooms were ready for us but we had to stop by the front desk to register. That's when we found out that there was a small mistake with the rooms. They gave us 2 rooms with 2 double size beds when we wanted 1 room with a king size bed and the other room with 2 double size beds. It was no biggie. People make mistakes. The supervisor came by to help us out. She worked her magic and gave us an upgrade to a mountain view room and a partial ocean view room. Besides the small mistake with the rooms, this is an excellent hotel. The staffs are super nice and friendly. They greet us when we leave for the day and greet us when we come back for the night. They asked if we need directions to anywhere or beach towels if we are heading out to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Kahala Mall is about 5 minutes away, if you want to grab a quick lunch or do some shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slmiller79
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 18, 2009

Excellent off the beaten path choice

The Kahala was the best hotel I ever stayed at and the experience we had at the hotel resulted in Hawaii being my favorite vacation I've ever taken. The staff was exceptional as we found everyone to be helpful and responsive to our needs. I would rate it a 4 1/2 because we spent 3 days at the pool when construction with a jackhammer was going on and the element of noise did make our stay on the beach and at the pool less enjoyable for those days. One other note for couples. If you are looking to avoid kids this is probably not the place for you. I was surprised by the number of children at the hotel. There were quite a few at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is quaint French restaurant near the hotel named Le Bistro that I highly recommend trying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 24, 2008

quiet, gorgeous

this hotel was absolutely perfect for me and my travel partner. it was pristine, and very beautiful. i can't remember when i've been as impressed by a hotel staff, they were unbelieveable. our mountainview room on the tenth floor also had a view of the ocean and haname bay. the room and the entire property was freshly renovated to perfection, but not overdone or stuffy. our bathroom was very large with two sinks, a tub and a shower. the balcony was very nice, also, and we could see the dolphin pool below us. the beach was more like a lakeshore, no real crashing waves. if you like walking on the sand, you can walk for about half an hour one way along a beautiful, quiet residential neighborhood. architecture buffs will love the 1960s building by a somewhat famous architect. this is not a huge resort where you are walking forever from room to pool, to car, ect. it is basically on tower with a wing of rooms over the dolphin pool. all of our meals were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

skip waikiki and stay in kahala. it is so much nicer and close to all the attractions of the northshore(snorkeling, beaches,ect), plus if you want shopping, you are only about 10 minutes from the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palos Heights, *
Jul 28, 2008

peaceful , tranquil, all together great

the hotel was a great experiance for the both of us. i wish i could take the bed home that was in the room. seeing the dolpins every day was amazing. for anyone looking for a good time with or with out family you need 2 spend time at the kahala on owahu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

there are three restaurants in the hotel and offer a bit of everything to taste. the resaurants on the oceans front had food and a veiw to die for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laredo
Jun 17, 2008

Great service

The service was good in general but I got a problem with the key of my apartment that almost made a change in my plans and I expected some kind of compensation to spend 4 hours waiting to get my door opened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Some shops in the hotel are OK.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top