$355 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

5 stars
View map of 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816-5498

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gluke
Utah
May 13, 2013

Fun family vacation

Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer. Loved the dolphins. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Gave us directions to a beautiful view of the city. Restaurants are a little expensive, but nice. The beach was lovely, just a few steps away from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 10, 2008

Luxurious Stay!

Upon arrival, we were told that we had been upgraded twice! Our room was lovely and spacious. The concierge staff were friendly and helpful. The lobby area was quite spectacular and we enjoyed high tea in the dining area. The dolphin encounter was a unique attraction at the hotel. The pool was nice and the beach area was private. The food prices were outrageous. Try Zippy's coffee shop where the locals dine as an affordable alternative. Although the hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the big Oahu hotels, it is close enough to the action if you have a car. Would recommend to anyone who wants to go away and experience a little slice of heaven!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack business traveler
Business
Anchorage, ak
Nov 14, 2010

Nice beach

Very nice, staff friendly. Would be great with the kids as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AznHuxtables
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 19, 2009

Great stay!

The Kahala is the best place to stay on Oahu island. Worth spending the big bucks to stay here if you are looking for excellent service and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Waikiki is only a short drive away, or you can take the courtesy hotel shuttle roundtrip.

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
manasi
Business
Des Moines, IA
Sep 18, 2007

Exellent overall

The rooms at Kahala are large,very comfortable and nicely decorated.best part was Two wlkin closets,two sinks,large Tub!!Staff was exellent in every way,organizing out excertions as well.They have beautiful beach which is hardly ever croweded as there are only 300 rooms in there.Food was good but breakfast was the best thing on seasiderestarent.Dolphines on site is added sttrsction.It is pricey,but if you want a wounderful vacation without crowds and congestion of Honolulu,this is your place.Wiakiki is only few mimutes away.Will highly recomend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

there is a shuttle to waikiki,and shopping nearby.Food opyions are great on site

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palos Heights, *
Jul 28, 2008

peaceful , tranquil, all together great

the hotel was a great experiance for the both of us. i wish i could take the bed home that was in the room. seeing the dolpins every day was amazing. for anyone looking for a good time with or with out family you need 2 spend time at the kahala on owahu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

there are three restaurants in the hotel and offer a bit of everything to taste. the resaurants on the oceans front had food and a veiw to die for.

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MO
May 31, 2009

Paradise in paradise

We enjoyed the beach, the pool and veranda especially. The dolphins were a great pleasure to watch. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was very peaceful and beautiful. I am glad we stayed here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away from tourist areas and check out local restaurants, markets, and the farmers market near community college was fabulous.

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Sep 28, 2007

Luxarious

The Kahala resort was a great place for vacation. The beach by the hotel is outstanding and was not crowded. I enjoyed having breakfast daily very close to the water. The staff was great and the hotel clean and well kept. I would strongly recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 28, 2008

Great Location

The Kahala is a very nice place to stay. It is close to all tourist destinations on Ohau. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is the best we have ever had. There are dolphins, sea turtles and tropical fish right next to the pool. We got great pictures of them. We rented a car during our stay and the parking at the Kahala isn't free. We did take advantage of the Kahala Spa and the messages are great. My wife loved the Salon and they did a great pedicure and manicure. All Kahala staff were very nice and would always say hello. We would deffinately recommend the Kahala to our friends. Next time we are bringing the kids. There is so much that the Kahala does for children as far as activities and accomidations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the International Market Place and the Swap Meet at Aloha Stadium for the best deals on souvineers.

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 24, 2008

quiet, gorgeous

this hotel was absolutely perfect for me and my travel partner. it was pristine, and very beautiful. i can't remember when i've been as impressed by a hotel staff, they were unbelieveable. our mountainview room on the tenth floor also had a view of the ocean and haname bay. the room and the entire property was freshly renovated to perfection, but not overdone or stuffy. our bathroom was very large with two sinks, a tub and a shower. the balcony was very nice, also, and we could see the dolphin pool below us. the beach was more like a lakeshore, no real crashing waves. if you like walking on the sand, you can walk for about half an hour one way along a beautiful, quiet residential neighborhood. architecture buffs will love the 1960s building by a somewhat famous architect. this is not a huge resort where you are walking forever from room to pool, to car, ect. it is basically on tower with a wing of rooms over the dolphin pool. all of our meals were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

skip waikiki and stay in kahala. it is so much nicer and close to all the attractions of the northshore(snorkeling, beaches,ect), plus if you want shopping, you are only about 10 minutes from the city.

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimlu
Business
Mount Vernon, NY
Nov 3, 2009

Absolutely beautiful!

We went to the Kahala Hotel in Hawaii for our son's wedding. He got married on the beach. It was absolutely spectacular and a beautiful place to be married. The hotel staff was first-rate. They were helpful in giving directions - we went to Pearl Harbor and the Diamond Head Crater. They were also very helpful in recommending places to eat in Waikiki. The location of the hotel was perfect and the staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. The Kahala is definitely a hotel we would love to stay at again. We highly recommend it. Our room was magnificent. We had a large terrace that overlooked the golf course and the mountains with a partial view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel restaurant by the water.

Back to menu Return to top