$445 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

5 stars
View map of 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816-5498

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
123abc123
Raleigh, NC, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Can't imagine staying anywhere else!

We originally booked a different hotel and were excited about being right in the middle of Waikiki. We didn't realize how lucky we were when the original hotel overbooked and our travel company had to upgrade us to the Kahala! We were disappointed at first to be outside the city, but once we got there we decided we wouldn't want to be anywhere else. The location is just BEAUTIFUL (you won't experience anything like it in Waikiki). It's peaceful, you have dolphins right outside your room, a private beach (with food/drink service that comes to you while you're relaxing in the sun), and you get treated like you're truly special. And when you're ready to go to Waikiki for shopping, food or drinks, all you have to do is hop on the shuttle - it's so easy and really isn't far at all! Also, our room was amazing! We stayed in the Dolphin Wing, and our room was huge! We were on the first floor (mountain/golf course view) so we had our own private patio, perfect for coffee in the morning. Our bathroom had double sinks, a garden tub, stand up shower, and two closets. We soaked as much of the Kahala in as we could while we were there and are already looking forward to going again in the future : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 27, 2007

Great Service, Great Views!

I departed for Hawaii a bit uneasy about what kind of accomodations were waiting for us. We were very pleasantly surprised! The generous room upgrade at check-in meant we had a beautiful view of the mountains over a lovely golf-course, and a partial ocean view to our right. The room was clean and spacious, as well as tastefully decorated. This is NOT a new hotel, and is quite a large complex; upgrading and maintenance is ongoing. It should be said, however, that the service is impeccable! The dolphin lagoon on the property and the beach front make this a very family-friendly hotel, but couples and business travels would find it more than comfortable! It is pricey...especially the restaurant. We saw menus online prior to travel, so were prepared. If I were planning again, I make the same choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Swim with the dolphins! Dolphin Quest has 6 dolphins a a well-maintained logoon right on the property. Tropical fish and sea turtles share the water, making for some pleasant, calming strolls through the courtyard.

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 30, 2008

very friendly & caring to guests

The Kahala Resort was very clean all around service. They make sure your room is very neat,clean twice daily. I like that because i'm a very clean person & I like everything nice and clean always. The staff is very helpful with anything you need in your room or outside the hotel. The room was very serene ,i enjoyed the cd's that were being played every time are room was cleaned up. I really felt calm & soothing everyday.The location was very nice not really too crowded at the oceanfront. Our room was very spectacular during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping,dining,with a short drive. restaurants are in hotel resort among other services.

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 21, 2007

AA++++resort for ALL!!

Everything about this resort is first class. It is for family or just a get away for the parents, this resort lacks nothing!You can go downtown for the night life and then retreat to your 5 star quiet resort and enjoy your private beach, and the food is over the top!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is just a short drive away. Make sure you eat the breakfast buffet.

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bbgirl505
Business
San Gabriel, CA
May 24, 2009

Excellent Hotel

The location of the hotel is away from the Waikiki strip. If you like quietness, this is the hotel for you. It is not crowded on the beach, which I liked the most. The rooms are very nice and if you forgot to bring your toothbrush, shaver, etc. they have it in the room. When we arrived at the hotel, they greeted us with a lei and a cool minty towelette to wipe our hands and face. They helped with our luggage and valet our car (a bit pricey to valet or self park a car). Our rooms were ready for us but we had to stop by the front desk to register. That's when we found out that there was a small mistake with the rooms. They gave us 2 rooms with 2 double size beds when we wanted 1 room with a king size bed and the other room with 2 double size beds. It was no biggie. People make mistakes. The supervisor came by to help us out. She worked her magic and gave us an upgrade to a mountain view room and a partial ocean view room. Besides the small mistake with the rooms, this is an excellent hotel. The staffs are super nice and friendly. They greet us when we leave for the day and greet us when we come back for the night. They asked if we need directions to anywhere or beach towels if we are heading out to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Kahala Mall is about 5 minutes away, if you want to grab a quick lunch or do some shopping.

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jul 22, 2010

Great hotel!

The hotel was excellent. When [...], the hotel went out of their way to make sure we had a room (they were completely booked!) The staff was very friendly and always went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
glendale california
Jun 30, 2009

great place i would come again any time

we had the best experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Al Moana shopping center and the hotel even has a shuttle service which is very effecient

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dannythemannyboy
Business
Henderson, NV
May 1, 2011

Individual Getaway

I really liked the hotel. Having its own beach was great and it was fun looking at all the dolphins stingrays and tropical fish. This was my first trip to Hawaii. The food was so so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat somewhere along Waikiki beach.

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raine Koo spoiled princess
Business
Rowland Heights, Ca
Jul 1, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

We had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, recommended hiking sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dave w6nzd
Business
Groveland, CA
Oct 9, 2010

First Class Hotel

We really enjoyed the dolphins and the care that the trainers took with the people that swam with the dolphins, especially the children! The buffet breakfasts were very good and had a great variety! The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Feb 16, 2011

Kahala just beautiful

We were looking for a relaxing quiet beach with excellent dining, and found both at the Kahala. Especially enjoyed lunch on the beach, and the calm water. We never had trouble finding a comfortable private lounger and the beautiful setting is undistracted by crowds or noise- just lovely! The beds are especially comfortable, best we have experienced in many travels. Many nice touches- like popsicles and smoothies on the beach, fruit drink in the lobby, and free shuttles to malls and Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

$15 for an amazing continental buffet available every morning.

Back to menu Return to top