$355 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

5 stars
View map of 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816-5498

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dave w6nzd
Business
Groveland, CA
Oct 9, 2010

First Class Hotel

We really enjoyed the dolphins and the care that the trainers took with the people that swam with the dolphins, especially the children! The buffet breakfasts were very good and had a great variety! The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flushing, Queens NY
Sep 25, 2010

Welcomes you to Hawaii with open arms!

I was pleasantly surprised by how friendly and accomodating each and every staff member was. From the moment we arrived it really set the tone of our entire trip! We came to relax and forget about the real word for a week and thats what we got.The only negative i can think of is that the extras were a bit expensive, ie beach chair/towels and parking. But overall i highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definately eat local. There are many places to eat in wakiki beach area, such as Ocean House in the Outrigger hotel was quite good. A must is to eat at where the locals eat, such as Haili's on palani Ave. A taxi driver recommended it and we were glad we followed threw on it. make sure to ask for Hazel as she was very knowledgeable on all aspects of Hawaiian cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jul 22, 2010

Great hotel!

The hotel was excellent. When [...], the hotel went out of their way to make sure we had a room (they were completely booked!) The staff was very friendly and always went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hillsborough, CA
Jun 28, 2010

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

We really enjoyed staying at the beautiful Kahala Hotel and Resort. We decided to spontaneously go to Hawaii for the weekend and my family had previously stayed at this hotel many years ago and really enjoyed their visit. Based on their positive feedback we decided to stay at the Kahala. It was a wonderful place to stay because we were really able to relax and recharge our batteries for the following week. The beach was great and the weather was great. One thing that I really like about the Kahala is the opportunity to swim with the dolphins as well as see the sea turtles and sting ray. I ended up swimming with the dolphin which was amazing! We did not leave the resort the entire time we were guests so we ate at all of the restaurants that were on property. They all were very delicious! I would recommend ordering anything with seafood in it. The seafood is amazing and very fresh! One thing that I feel sets the Kahala apart from other resorts is that there staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to make sure that you feel comfortable there. They really understand hospitality. I would definitely recommend the Kahala Hotel and Resort to anyone who is looking for a nice place to relax and enjoy life!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnetka, IL
May 26, 2010

We would definitely return

Everything about this hotel was first class and the extra treat of having Dolphin Quest there made it so special. Watching the dolphins, sting ray and other fish was fascinating. No pressure at all to swim with the dolphins (a bit pricey)and the staff was helpful and informative. The concierges were a bit inexperienced for this level of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas
Apr 5, 2010

too expensive

rooms are spacious but too expensive.Breakfast was good but charged my 5 yr old for breakfast as we had 2 rooms but 5 guests in total.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

waikiki

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jimlu
Business
Mount Vernon, NY
Nov 3, 2009

Absolutely beautiful!

We went to the Kahala Hotel in Hawaii for our son's wedding. He got married on the beach. It was absolutely spectacular and a beautiful place to be married. The hotel staff was first-rate. They were helpful in giving directions - we went to Pearl Harbor and the Diamond Head Crater. They were also very helpful in recommending places to eat in Waikiki. The location of the hotel was perfect and the staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. The Kahala is definitely a hotel we would love to stay at again. We highly recommend it. Our room was magnificent. We had a large terrace that overlooked the golf course and the mountains with a partial view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel restaurant by the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orange Ca
Sep 10, 2009

Disappoionted

I had stayed at the hotel several times over the years and saddened by the gradual decline of a great hotel .Despite the recent renovation ,the bed was too soft and the pillows are not supportive.The only attraction that make me returning to this hotel has been early morning beach walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AznHuxtables
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 19, 2009

Great stay!

The Kahala is the best place to stay on Oahu island. Worth spending the big bucks to stay here if you are looking for excellent service and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Waikiki is only a short drive away, or you can take the courtesy hotel shuttle roundtrip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raine Koo spoiled princess
Business
Rowland Heights, Ca
Jul 1, 2009

Fantastic family getaway

We had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, recommended hiking sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top