$355 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

5 stars
View map of 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816-5498

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slmiller79
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 18, 2009

Excellent off the beaten path choice

The Kahala was the best hotel I ever stayed at and the experience we had at the hotel resulted in Hawaii being my favorite vacation I've ever taken. The staff was exceptional as we found everyone to be helpful and responsive to our needs. I would rate it a 4 1/2 because we spent 3 days at the pool when construction with a jackhammer was going on and the element of noise did make our stay on the beach and at the pool less enjoyable for those days. One other note for couples. If you are looking to avoid kids this is probably not the place for you. I was surprised by the number of children at the hotel. There were quite a few at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is quaint French restaurant near the hotel named Le Bistro that I highly recommend trying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flushing, Queens NY
Sep 25, 2010

Welcomes you to Hawaii with open arms!

I was pleasantly surprised by how friendly and accomodating each and every staff member was. From the moment we arrived it really set the tone of our entire trip! We came to relax and forget about the real word for a week and thats what we got.The only negative i can think of is that the extras were a bit expensive, ie beach chair/towels and parking. But overall i highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definately eat local. There are many places to eat in wakiki beach area, such as Ocean House in the Outrigger hotel was quite good. A must is to eat at where the locals eat, such as Haili's on palani Ave. A taxi driver recommended it and we were glad we followed threw on it. make sure to ask for Hazel as she was very knowledgeable on all aspects of Hawaiian cuisine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vivianc
Business
los angeles, ca
Jun 27, 2009

paradise within paradise

The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. Spent the first day at the resort, tanned and walked around the beach. The view was absolutely amazing. Loved the rooms, very spacious, especially the bathrooms because there are two sinks with mirrors, and two closets, one on each side. The beds were also very very comfortable. The breakfast was amazing, though we didn't try to Tokyo Tokyo restaurant that is supposed to be very good. The only downside is that there was a charge for a lot of things. There were no complimentary parking or complimentary internet, parking is a little expensive, but the internet charges were somewhat reasonable. The hotel had their own dolphins, so one of the activities was that you get to swim with the dolphins, definitely a bonus if you're travelling with kids. The view was lovely, a short walk to the beach and much less crowded than Wakiki. The advantage to that is that the hotel is away from the business of downtown wakiki, but then again, it also means that it takes a while for you to get anywhere central. overall a very very good experience. it's perfect for older couples as well as families. perfect for newly weds too!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

if you rent, park at the park nearby instead of at the hotel, you park for free at the park, whereas if you parked at the hotel, it's 25 dollars per night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nayana
Business
California, USA
Nov 7, 2011

The best time in hawaii

If you stay in hotel Kahala You do not need to go other place in Hawaii They have everything!! Beautiful owned beach and quite location... It was wonderful time for our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Hotel owned beach is fantastic! Like private island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
123abc123
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Can't imagine staying anywhere else!

We originally booked a different hotel and were excited about being right in the middle of Waikiki. We didn't realize how lucky we were when the original hotel overbooked and our travel company had to upgrade us to the Kahala! We were disappointed at first to be outside the city, but once we got there we decided we wouldn't want to be anywhere else. The location is just BEAUTIFUL (you won't experience anything like it in Waikiki). It's peaceful, you have dolphins right outside your room, a private beach (with food/drink service that comes to you while you're relaxing in the sun), and you get treated like you're truly special. And when you're ready to go to Waikiki for shopping, food or drinks, all you have to do is hop on the shuttle - it's so easy and really isn't far at all! Also, our room was amazing! We stayed in the Dolphin Wing, and our room was huge! We were on the first floor (mountain/golf course view) so we had our own private patio, perfect for coffee in the morning. Our bathroom had double sinks, a garden tub, stand up shower, and two closets. We soaked as much of the Kahala in as we could while we were there and are already looking forward to going again in the future : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Escaping SF Winter
Business
San Francisco
Feb 25, 2013

Kahala Adventure

My daughter and I spent 5 days at the Kahala. It was a perfect place. We loved the private beach, and the pool, while small, is perfect for the size of the hotel. We wanted to be away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We rarely left the hotel and really enjoyed our meals at the Plumeria Beach House and Hoku's. The staff was very nice and friendly. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gluke
Business
Utah
May 13, 2013

Fun family vacation

Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer. Loved the dolphins. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Gave us directions to a beautiful view of the city. Restaurants are a little expensive, but nice. The beach was lovely, just a few steps away from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeri's great adventure
Business
Santa Cruz, Ca
May 24, 2013

Unbelievable!!!

It can be a little tricky finding the resort but once you arrive you will not want to leave! The service is above and beyond what we had expected. The restaurants were fantastic and the Dolphin Quest was a great experience too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Finally vacation
Business
New York, NY
Nov 23, 2013

Perfect location.

Perfect location. Very friendly staff. Room is spacious, quite and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burbank, CA
May 21, 2007

Nice surprise

Although the most recent comments have been quite good, because of the past comments we were a little worried. We arrived early, valet were very polite, check-in was a breeze, we waited 10 minutes for them to fix up a room for us since we arrived around noon. No problem, we sat on the veranda overlookiing the pool and the beach. Our room was spacious and clean, overlooking the golf course and mountains: Garden Room. One of the cheaper rooms. If we had faced the dolphin lagoon, you would here the dolphins, which may keep you up at night, if you faced the beach, people walk by your room and some lay on the lawn or hammocks outside your room, no privacy, if you were in the main hotel part, there is some renovation going on on the first 3 floors so you have construction noise. So all in all, we had the cheapest, most private and quiet room!!! Maid service was excellent, clean the room while we were at the beach, turn down the beds while we were at dinner, extra towels? No problem. Of course the wait staff, valet, restaurant people etc all knew our names within one day! The hall walking towards our room smelled a little musty due to the fact that it is open at the end so hunidity comes in and thats where the smell comes from, no biggie, didn't bother us at all. The beach has plenty of chairs and so does the pool, no need to sit next to someone and the pool guys walk you to where you want to sit, cover the chair w/ a long towel, then place another beach towel on top of that, they don't expect tips since you wouldn't have your wallet w/ you at the pool or beach and everything you order gets signed to your room! The food was pretty good, of course as expected, very expensive BUT we expected that so no surprise there. I ordered the famous Kahala Burger at the pool, it was good, w/ bacon,avocado,tomatoe and lettuce, nothing huge and the fries were good and hot. I also had the crab club sandwich, not bad, and the lobster salade, pretty good and the chicken and fish quesidilla which was little small for the price. The Hotel is in a great location, beach is a lagoon shallow forever and warm, Wakiki is 10 minutes away and unless you want to feel like you're in downtown Los Angeles w/ a beach, its pretty disappointing, people are dirty, low-class and the architecture of new and old buildings shows that no one seems to care about keeping Oahu the paradise it used to be, very sad, surprisingly very few outdoor restaurants and grocery stores are hard to find also, so we spent most of our time at the Hotel and only once did we eat outside of the hotel, Cheesecake Factory a million people waiting in line yet we only waited 15 minutes. Hoku at the hotel is expensive continental japanese cuisine, a little funky as far as choices are concerned if you're not adventurous and Tokyo Tokyo is traditional japanese cuisine and sushi, excellent service for both and $150 to $200 for a couple w/ no alcohol. All in all, a great experince, I would highly recomend staying at this hotel if you want privacy, service and escape from the rest of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top