$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 4, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
108 reviews
Nice and comfortable hotel

I am a local resident and decided just to get away for the weekend and relax. This hotel pick was... See full review

  • P96707
  • Jan 25, 2015
boutique is the perfect description

best value in waikiki. it's my second stay here. staff is great, location is perfect. room is clean. See full review

  • kdenton
  • Jan 9, 2015
Stay Waikiki - Only Boutique Hotel in Waikiki on a Budget

Stay Waikiki is a uniquely affordable boutique hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Created with the savvy modern traveler in mind. Located just one short block from the sands of Waikiki Beach and steps away from world class dining and shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, Stay Waikiki offers the ideal launch pad for the perfect vacation.

Stay Waikiki offers contemporary guest rooms that are brightly decorated with vibrant colors and chic decors that are just as exciting as the destination Waikiki. All guest rooms are non-smoking and offer free WiFi internet access. Choose from spacious deluxe Queen rooms with sofa beds or share a cozy bunk bedroom.

Extra rollaway bed in the Deluxe Queen with Sofabed room at the Stay Hotel Waikiki is subject to USD $20 per day. Only one roll away is allowed per room.

There is limited onsite parking availability at the Stay Hotel Waikiki. The daily fee is USD $25 per day per vehicle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Stay Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe Queen with Sofabed
Spacious room provides a Queen bed along with a twin sofabed , 32-inch LCD TV, iPod docking station, hair dryer in the bathroom and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Two Twin Beds
This contemporary guest room features 2 twin beds, a 32-inch LCD TV, a hairdryer in the bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 square feet.
Boutique Queen room
This brightly decorated guest room features a queen-size bed, 32-inch LCD TV, hair dryer in bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 to 175 square feet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.8 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.3 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Shor American Seafood Grill
Located across from the STAY Waikiki at the Hyatt Waikiki, this restaurant offers contemporary American seafood and grill on Waikiki Beach.
Makino Chaya Makitti Hawaii
All you can eat buffet, from sushi to seafood.Located a couple of blocks from the hotel, the Makitti is opened for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 108
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4
Value:
2.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
big island resident
Business
waikiki, hi
Oct 22, 2012

teenager room

Very disappointed with this hotel. Walked into the room to a tiny room with a bunk bed. Reminded me of my teenage days, sharing a room with a brother. No ice machines available, no room service either. No views of the ocean, but the neighbors next door, had to keep curtains closed for privacy. Sorry to say, but it was a great disappointment! Thanks for the bad experience to my travel agent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

stay away from Cheesecake Factory Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lhasa owner
Business
Bullhead City AZ
Dec 15, 2012

Too noisy

A very noisy place, you can hear all the street noise and occupants of rooms near by. I was charged a resort fee for their breakfast, Internet & whatever, I didn't eat their breakfast of sweets, nor did I use their wi fi or Internet. I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
billy p
Business
Leeds al
Apr 14, 2013

worst hotel ever

I travel for a living this might be the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. I.do not know where they got the pictures on your site. I do not think that is even the hotel in the picture. The only good thing were the girls st front desk. This hotel should not be on your site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mandeez
Business
Reno, Nevada
Jun 19, 2013

Great location, poor hotel

I didn't want anything fancy while I was in Hawaii. I was just staying for a few nights (4# and I wasn't planning on spending any time in my hotel #I wanted to be on the beach and on my mtn bike. So I chose this hotel (which received 3 stars on this website's reviews# for its location. The location is GREAT! It's near all the big hotels #Hyatt, Hilton, etc# in Waikiki Hawaii. It's one block from the beach. And it's near tons of great restaurants and shopping. However, the hotel itself is horrible. They say they have on-site parking. Do NOT try parking there. For starters, the lot is small and underground and the spots are so tight that you are likely to hit someone #or more likely, someone will hit YOU#. Further, they only have about 20 spots, but 100 rooms and if you do the math, most guests won't get a spot in the garage anyway. No big deal b/c it's $20/day even for guests! BUT Waikiki doesn't have very much parking and $20 is actually cheap in Waikiki. So this aspect SUCKS. Further, the rooms aren't comfortable. They have lumpy, hard beds, tile floors and are TINY. The room barely fits the bed and even your luggage makes this room feel small. The room wasn't very clean either. The tile floors could have used another once over before my check in. Further, the staff is rude and act like you must be stupid if you don't understand their shorthand. The clerk who checked me in was trying to give me directions to another parking lot #b/c they were of course sold out# and she couldn't be bothered getting me there without using short nicknames for street names and places. If I didn't know, I was on my own... Upon check out, the two clerks couldn't be bothered to stop what they were doing #NOT helping any other customers) to get me checked out in a timely fashion. And even when they started helping me, they kept stopping for other non-customer related issues. Overall, i'll never stay here again. Even with low expectations coming in, I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
THanson
Business
Princeville
Feb 4, 2015

A Bad Decision...

What a bad decision was to "stay" at Stay. I honestly don't know where to start so I will bullet some stuff and let you figure out the rest if you dare stay here for some reason: The Good (there's always something): *Location *Free WiFi *Water Pressure *The Shampoo and Lotion *Bed linens and towels were clean *All lightbulbs worked *The staff is borderline pleasant but does nothing to acknowledge you or inquire on how your room or stay is, not even at checkout but that's probably because they are afraid of the answer so why bother. *The price even though still deceiving! I can't imagine trying to write a review if I had payed full price. The Bad: *If you look at their website, imagery is not reflective of the facilities...those pictures are like a science fiction movie so do not expect your room to look as nice. *Although the linens and towels were clean, the rest of the room didn't feel properly clean. Dirty windows, rusted drapes, there was hair in the bathroom wall and old dirt above the bathroom tile. *Furniture in disrepair *Paper thin pillows *Waking up to the sound of the trash trucks in the morning and the beeping of deliveries to nearby businesses as early as 530am due to lack of proper windows. Appreciated even though not used: *Continental breakfast (people seemed to enjoy but then again most would go for the free stuff and appear to be happy with it just because is free) There is a karaoke establishment in the lobby that didn't bother me, however if there is going to be such establishment in the lobby management should look at ways to monitor the elevator which anyone can get to at anytime, no questions asked. I guess I appreciate receiving an email from the General Manager overnight on departure date asking for feedback. However and especially given the condition of this hotel, I would suggest you are more visible in your operation, introduce yourself to people, see what your staff is doing or not doing. Maybe instead of sitting at the desk all day doing nothing they can help you compose an inspection sheet that addresses your most common and fixable complaints that don't require "renovating". Why leave it up to your paying guests to tell you at the end of their stay what they thought and then apologize saying the hotel will be refurbished and that you wish we told you while we were there to see what you could do? Perhaps you need to start walking the rooms and corridors of your hotel and addressing the simple things that can truly make a difference. See that the rooms are properly cleaned, that maintenance is looking at shower heads that fall when you turn on the water to prevent this to happen to a guest like it happened to me. This questions may remain unanswered, and constructive suggestions and feedback ignored but in the end I've done my part, paid for my stay and given you the feedback you requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay somewhere else. Please note that this form should not ask, nor require an answer about what type of traveler you would recommend this hotel to if you've answered the "would you recommend to a friend" question above as "no".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
James R.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 1, 2012

Not What I Reserved

I was greatly dissapointed by this hotel. The room was really small and had a bunkbed. It resembles more a bacpacker's hostel than a hotel that charges $120 a night. The only reason that I stayed was that I arrived late in Waikiki and was only staying for the night. Don't trust the photos that you see when you make the reservation. The only good things I can say about this hotel is that it is clean, has a good location and good internet. I would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SJSN4
Business
San Jose CA
Aug 3, 2014

Nothing special

Room was below average. The windows didn't close all the way so the AC struggled to work. I wore my sandals 100% of the time in the room even in the shower. The noise from the street woke me up everyday by 630 am which was fine for the days we had activities but not for the days I wanted more sleep. I left this hotel two days early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dennis IT
Business
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Jul 10, 2012

Right place where sleep and have a shower

Basically they give you all the things you need in a place where the best things to do are stay on the beach, enjoy the waves and the sun and go everywhere to visit the island/s. Very good location since one block from the beach and close to many places where you can eat or do shopping. Not very clean the room. Not good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Locals full all people when most of the hotels in the neighbourhood are sold out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flynscotsman
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jan 30, 2013

not bad

room was good for sleep only, thats if you can sleep in a lot of noise, 7 floors up with windows closed not much different then moving bed out in street. Waikiki is always noisy but i expected some relief inside room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

stick to the American chain restaurants, the steak and seafood places are over priced and poor quality. I wouldnt complain if the food was good. Red Lobster, Chilis, Outback are all a sure bet, you get what you pay for

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC Vagrant
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Oct 12, 2013

good value for what you get

Close to the beach. I wish the $10 amenities was just built into the price instead of tacked on. Wi-Fi is very spotty, hard to get a single depending on the room you are in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check our the Elvis statue down the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top