$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
88 reviews
Wedding/honeymoon

very accommodating good size room with a balcony you could see the beach,staff was extremely... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • May 12, 2014
Vacation at last

First time to Hawaii & I stayed at the hotel for my vacation & wedding,honeymoon & right from the... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • Oct 27, 2013
Stay Waikiki - Only Boutique Hotel in Waikiki on a Budget

Stay Waikiki is a uniquely affordable boutique hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Created with the savvy modern traveler in mind. Located just one short block from the sands of Waikiki Beach and steps away from world class dining and shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, Stay Waikiki offers the ideal launch pad for the perfect vacation.

Stay Waikiki offers contemporary guest rooms that are brightly decorated with vibrant colors and chic decors that are just as exciting as the destination Waikiki. All guest rooms are non-smoking and offer free WiFi internet access. Choose from spacious deluxe Queen rooms with sofa beds or share a cozy bunk bedroom.

Extra rollaway bed in the Deluxe Queen with Sofabed room at the Stay Hotel Waikiki is subject to USD $20 per day. Only one roll away is allowed per room.

There is limited onsite parking availability at the Stay Hotel Waikiki. The daily fee is USD $25 per day per vehicle.

Hotel Map

21.2761 -157.8246
Area served
The hotel is located in Waikiki, city of Honolulu on the island of Oahu.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL)
Area description
Stay Waikiki is located a block from the sands of Waikiki Beach on the island of Oahu, and the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center. It's walking distance (10-15 minutes walk) to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Beach Park, Waikiki Aquarium and International Marketplace.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Stay Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Bunkbed room with twin beds
This unique guest room is about 105 square feet and features twin-size bunk beds, 32-inch LCD TV, inviting balcony with patio furniture, iPod docking station, hairdryer in the bathroom, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Deluxe Queen with Sofabed
Spacious room provides a Queen bed along with a twin sofabed , 32-inch LCD TV, iPod docking station, hair dryer in the bathroom and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Two Twin Beds
This contemporary guest room features 2 twin beds, a 32-inch LCD TV, a hairdryer in the bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 square feet.
Boutique Queen room
This brightly decorated guest room features a queen-size bed, 32-inch LCD TV, hair dryer in bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 to 175 square feet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.8 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.3 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Shor American Seafood Grill
Located across from the STAY Waikiki at the Hyatt Waikiki, this restaurant offers contemporary American seafood and grill on Waikiki Beach.
Makino Chaya Makitti Hawaii
All you can eat buffet, from sushi to seafood.Located a couple of blocks from the hotel, the Makitti is opened for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 88
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.5

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hawaiian Lovely
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2014

If you're a fan of cockroaches, you're in good company...

I am originally from Hawaii and decided to come home for a visit with my mother. This hotel experience was embarassing and disgusting. I originally reserved a room for 7 nights but only physically stayed for 1 night because the room was filthy. Where do I start? Well there were cockroaches rampant throughout the hotel lobby, elevator, and in the room. I asked to speak to a manager yesterday right away but was told there were no additional rooms. The following day I again asked for a manager and was told someone would contact me, which never happened. I actually sent a detailed email to the manager over a month ago and NEVER received a reply. No communication or feedback whatsoever. Moving on, here are other issues I encountered. The pictures on the website are not the least bit accurate. The bathroom window sils were dusty and there was what appears to be mold on the ceiling above the toilet. Also, there were stains in the dresser drawers and on the linens, the pseudo white curtains were filthy and brown, and two of the knobs to turn the windows did not work. The elevator was out of order during the day and the "ocean views" from our room were in reality views of the neighboring tenement. The "continental breakfast" was hardly a breakfast at all (simply a few pastries, some toast, and cereal). The pseudo "hip" restaurant was outdated and rarely was there a bartender on site. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, which is a block from the beach. However, I'd suggest spending a few extra dollars and actually staying at a sanitary, friendly, well-represented hotel. Even the housekeeper advised me that she would never stay here and that I should stay at another hotel down the street instead. If anyone is interested I have a photos and a video of all of the above issues and I'll be happy to email them to you, Please do yourself a favor and avoid this poorly run, misrepresented shoddy hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The only good thing about this hotel is it's a block from the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Walked into a Dump..
Business
Stay Hotel Waikiki,Honolulu,Hi
Jul 30, 2012

A very bad Dream

I did not stay at this hotel this is not the hotel I saw online, it was so bad that I left walking looking for a better hotel and I found one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nickbear
Business
Elsinore ca
Jun 22, 2013

Pictures decieving

Way too Spartan. Too small, felt like jail cell. Walls were concrete brick. There was absolutely NO comfort to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
da realist
Business
Honolulu, hi.
Sep 25, 2013

small,jail like hotel

Only had bunk beds n was very small Never even had refrigerator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
paul55555
Business
coquitlam
Oct 18, 2013

I don't think it's a 3 stars hotel; don't STAY here

My room was on 3rd Floor It's an old building transformed in a hotel. Really noisy-buses, delivery trucks, etc.-Room really small with no windows. No coffee/tea maker in the room, no cartoons for the kids after 5pm, only adult content cartoon channel. The closet was small and smelly. The bathroom small and no brush for the toilet. So leave you girlfriend home or buy some gloves. Same frozen food for breakfast. Also available internet that is not working. Please consider paying $20 extra anywhere else and enjoy you escape. All they have are some good photoshopped pics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Parasailing. look for coupons. you will get 50% deals

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dayna Lapina
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 5, 2014

No what expected kind of shady

Hotel does not have convenient signs for finding location. Advertisement at hotel display SWAY??? Not to mention I am a resident of Oahu. Very disappointed nothing advertised outside of hotel stating "Stay Hotel Waikiki". Was very disheartened to find two other customers having trouble as well with front desk. They made me sign papers that stated parking $20 but instead charged me $25. Included was also a garage remote control fee that I never received. you need to talk to management about documentation as well as advertisement concerns. Very alarmed with front desk clerk refused to give me copies of "altered" documents signed. However, the room was clean but small and crampy for a amount paid especially being kamaaina!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Melody Chen
Business
Tianjin, China
Dec 24, 2012

Good location, bad condition

The room is small, and not very clean. However the location is exellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sasasoso
Business
Vancouver
Dec 28, 2012

disappointing vacation

the area around the hotel was very noisy. it was noisy from dawn. the room television did not work and we notified them several times, however, we did not receive any help. we could not even use the tv. the breakfast meal was very bad. i wouldn't want to stay at that hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T Dad
Business
Minnesota
Nov 22, 2012

Quick stay

Nothing fancy, but clean and cozy. Walls are a little thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice short walk to the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yali
Business
Las Vegas Nevada
Apr 5, 2013

Family

Excellent location friendy stuff for that price is good the amenities is good breakfast ,towel for the beach ,Internet ,and chairs,also for the beach .so many restaurant in the same block and 2 minuts wallking to the beach they give you a card to rent movies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top