$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
94 reviews
Wedding/honeymoon

very accommodating good size room with a balcony you could see the beach,staff was extremely... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • May 12, 2014
Vacation at last

First time to Hawaii & I stayed at the hotel for my vacation & wedding,honeymoon & right from the... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • Oct 27, 2013
Stay Waikiki - Only Boutique Hotel in Waikiki on a Budget

Stay Waikiki is a uniquely affordable boutique hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Created with the savvy modern traveler in mind. Located just one short block from the sands of Waikiki Beach and steps away from world class dining and shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, Stay Waikiki offers the ideal launch pad for the perfect vacation.

Stay Waikiki offers contemporary guest rooms that are brightly decorated with vibrant colors and chic decors that are just as exciting as the destination Waikiki. All guest rooms are non-smoking and offer free WiFi internet access. Choose from spacious deluxe Queen rooms with sofa beds or share a cozy bunk bedroom.

Extra rollaway bed in the Deluxe Queen with Sofabed room at the Stay Hotel Waikiki is subject to USD $20 per day. Only one roll away is allowed per room.

There is limited onsite parking availability at the Stay Hotel Waikiki. The daily fee is USD $25 per day per vehicle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Stay Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Bunkbed room with twin beds
This unique guest room is about 105 square feet and features twin-size bunk beds, 32-inch LCD TV, inviting balcony with patio furniture, iPod docking station, hairdryer in the bathroom, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Deluxe Queen with Sofabed
Spacious room provides a Queen bed along with a twin sofabed , 32-inch LCD TV, iPod docking station, hair dryer in the bathroom and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Two Twin Beds
This contemporary guest room features 2 twin beds, a 32-inch LCD TV, a hairdryer in the bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 square feet.
Boutique Queen room
This brightly decorated guest room features a queen-size bed, 32-inch LCD TV, hair dryer in bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 to 175 square feet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.8 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.3 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Shor American Seafood Grill
Located across from the STAY Waikiki at the Hyatt Waikiki, this restaurant offers contemporary American seafood and grill on Waikiki Beach.
Makino Chaya Makitti Hawaii
All you can eat buffet, from sushi to seafood.Located a couple of blocks from the hotel, the Makitti is opened for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 94
Amenities:
1.8
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.6

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Harrymon
Business
San Francisco
Feb 9, 2013

Small

Surprised to find room so small and bunkbeds. It also did not have a chair or desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doug109
Business
honolulu, Hi
Jan 17, 2014

Terrible ambiance. Sweet staff...

It actually NEVER got dark in my room! all the city lights came right through the windows....i guess the place is supposed to look "trendy" but it just looked like a low-grade college dorm...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Halekulani restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Catfish17
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Mar 3, 2014

Disappointed

All in all I was very disappointed in the Stay Hotel Waikiki. The first room I was given had a veranda door that would not close or lock. I was then given another room that had roaches. I was told they couldn't do much so I went to a store and bought some Raid. That helped some, but should I have had to even deal with that? The next morning I went to get some socks out of the drawer and there were roaches in the drawer. I then asked to moved again. The third room was at least tolerable. I stayed through the week, but I will not stay at this hotel again. Nor will I recommend it to anyone. The staff tried to be accommodating and I appreciated that, but that was the only slightly positive experience of the stay. Not Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at the Sway Restaurant was very good. I will say that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baehler
Business
Caldwell, Idaho
Jul 28, 2014

stay as a last resort..

they charge an add'l NON-NEG. $10/dy for use of their beach-towels and poor bread/water breakfast. this is the only time/location to get any coffee either; though my room had a mini-fridge, there was No microwave and no coffee anywhere(even lobby#. they have probs with the water, my tub's drain-plug didn't work and neither did the spout changer so it was stuck on shower-mode only. i had to turn my hot water on under the sink and found out why- the sink had a bad leak and at one time, someone's water was dripping through the roof into the lobby. the slat-glass windows did not work with the handles, i had to use my hands to push them open and then they fell shut after a short time with a startling SLAM. They advertise a bar/grille on the premises but is closed and i found it has been closed since they bought the property from the previous hotel company. the only smoking tolerated is down the front steps outside but they yel at you if you smoke near the ashtray they have set out. they charge an add'l $25/DAY to park. Most of the staff was very rude #one lady was nice) and the place did not feel professionally run. I was there for 2weeks and it didn't get any better. I would not recommend this hotel unless it was the only affordable room available as it was when i was forced to book here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on renting a car, try to rent the smallest car possible because traffic is nuts, the lanes are all crazy narrow and parking is extremely difficult anywhere. Plan your routes well and try to be in the lane for your next turn ASAP because heavy traffic prevents you from merging to make it and in the AM/PM they cone-off roads for reversible lanes so plan on making 4 rights to make that one left! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Visitor082014
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 1, 2014

Would not stay there again!

Not like any place I stayed at before. Was not too comfortable and had cockroaches. Had to check out early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rick of Orion
Business
just moved to Honolulu
Jul 31, 2012

Guess what, there is a $10.00 amenities fee!

At check in there was a computer problem that was not showing reservations that were made through a competitors website. Fortunately,mine was no problem and I sailed right into the room. The staff were very nice and kind. They were also a great help when I had to make an emergency fax to the mainland. They are all good folks and make the hotel a safe and comfortable place to be. I liked the key cards they had that you only had to touch the door handle to open the door. T The room was blue and orange decor and a light tree, but did not have a refrigerator or microwave. In fact no microwaves anywhere in the building so folks had to heat up the breakfast pastries that were the "continental breakfast" over the toasters. Tang and or coffee rounded out the spartan menu. The rolls were good although on the small side, but one could take as many as they wished. The elevator doors were very mean to people and would keep closing on guests. Even after the doors hit you in the shoulders it would keep hitting you. Got to fix that. No problem though getting the elevator, you just had to be quick to get on or off or you would get squashed by those doors. Rooms had a very nice little balcony with a pick-a-boo view of Waikiki beach. When guest were talking on the balconies they sounded like they were right in your room. Fotunately everyone retired at a respectable time so no problem sleeping except when the garbage trucks came by at 5:00 a.m. Nice surprise. The location of the place is fantastic and close to everything. The little air conditioner in the room was barely adequate. The windows opened but the trade winds seldom would blew through due to angle of the building I guess. Still it is a decent place to say. I was surprised when I checked out to be charged a $10.00 a day amenities fee. What amenities? Must have been the little small beach chairs and mats that one could use on the beach which was only one block away. For the price I would stay there again if nothing else in that budget range is available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No need to rent a car if staying in Waikiki for a few days. There is a great bus system that you can easily learn about on-line. Just type in "The Bus" Honolulu. Parking is difficult and expensive in Waikiki so just rent a car for a few days if you plan to go elsewhere on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daredev
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 29, 2013

Great Hotel For The Price

For the price it was a great deal here is what to expect: So we get to Waikiki and there is 0 parking anywhere at 1am when our flight gets in. We rented a car using orbtiz package so we needed to have a place to park it but the hotel only has 16 spots in their garage. I thought this was weird because there is like 9 floors on the hotel which means lots and lots of people. Apparently, no one really enjoys Hawaii but likes to stay in their room or around the Waikiki area without a car so there is most likely going to be a spot available for you. If there is not then you will have to go on a waiting list. Once a spot opens up you can use it till the end of your stay. When we got there the lady had us run around trying to find parking, apparently it was her first day and luckily for us when we came back to ask again where this mystical parking area was there was a new front desk lady which gave us a spot in their garage for free that night for the trouble and we were able to keep that spot for the duration of the vacation. All the parking in the area costs money so be prepared to pay. Sometimes renting a motorcycle is a good deal to save some money on parking and enjoy the island but in this case there wasn't a discount on motorcycle parking like most hotels. Don't be surprised if you see a cockroach or two. They are quite small and you will see them EVERYWHERE on the island. On hikes, in restaurants, running towards you on the streets. Other than the unavoidable issue the room was very clean, bed was comfortable, and the customer service overall was good and welcoming. For the amenities the Wi-Fi was super super super slow at times making your 4G just a better option. TV's were nice but only had 3 channels and the PlayStation they noted they had was only a PS2 and they said they were changing companies so they didn't have a single one which was a little disappointing as they make very nice DVD players for all the DVD kiosks around Honolulu if you don't like going out and blowing all your money at night. Lastly, the breakfast consists of cereal, toast, pastries, juice, and coffee. So don't expect anything other than simple carbs and sugar. Overall, compared to the outrageous prices of the hotels in the area this one was very cheap and very good for the price. Would I stay there again? Yes, unless I wanted to spend $500 a night elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our regular meals consisted of a place called The Food Pantry which had a deal for $7.99. This includes either chicken or beef with 2 giant scoops of brown or white rice and a nice little green salad made of real lettuce not the ice berg junk. Taco Tuesday at Dave and Busters is a short drive and there is theater right by there. If you are under 25 rent a motorcycle at the Harley Dealership located 60 seconds from the airport. It ends up being almost the same price as a rental car, you are able to actually get spots at all the beaches in Oahu. Without a bike you usually need to drive around in endless circles till a spot opens up, park illegally and very quickly get a ticket (these guys are good), or park incredibly far away. Also hotel parking is cheaper except at the Stay Waikiki resort. Oh yes I almost forgot. Eggs And Things $12 for huge, heavy plate of omelets. Completely stuffed and with a side of pan cakes! Great deal for the area and one street away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacie Loc
Business
Temecula, California
Mar 11, 2014

Nice vacation getaway

This hotel has a great location, its very close to the beach and shopping. We come to Hawaii every year but this was our first time at this hotel and the rooms are a lot smaller than where we usually stay but it was perfect for us. We don't like to spend a lot of time in the rooms when you are in a beautiful place like Hawaii. Overall I would stay here again. great price and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hula Grill is an amazing restaurant. It is right above Dukes restaurant. Ask to sit at a lanai, it might be a longer wait for that but it's worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JonAngel
Business
Hacienda Heights, California
Dec 1, 2014

Really enjoyed the location

Still here and had to add 2 more days. The only problem I had is that they wouldn't honor the same rate !!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank You

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JonAngel
Business
Hacienda Heights, California
Dec 6, 2014

Great Business stay

Very good experience and the staff can't say enough about them. Will be returning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top