$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bigpeak3
Business
Las Veags, NV
Nov 25, 2013

Cheap hotel in Central Waikiki

This hotel was an old building that was recently remodeled into a modern boutique hotel. Our room looked similar to the pictures on the site but was much smaller. Even though it may be a year or two old, this place still needed more upgrades - better room windows, curtains that block the light for the bathroom window, a way to enter and exit the garage (We had to call the front desk to get in and out of the garage.), a not dim and shady looking hotel bar. I'm lucky we only had a one night booked here as my wife would not stay here again. I think we got what the level of amenities and comfort we paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Claire love macadamias
Business
Okinawa, Japan
Sep 17, 2014

Reviews were right

I was hoping the reviews about the noise were not right, but the noise from outside is loud, my window was brocken open. They are slated windows to allow cool air in, but it wasn't cool outside. The hotel is right behind the Hyatt and they were doing construction and the everyday dump trucks and delivery trucks were heard at 0600 every morning. Beep Beep. If you don't mind an early wake up call, the place is really close to the beach, but that is if you don't mind Waikiki with the hundreds of people crowding around you. I know now, I will not be going back to Aikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is so close. As close as the beach. That was a plus

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ziad Jabbour
Business
Lebanon
Oct 16, 2014

location, cost effective

Dears, if u r low on budget..want to be near the sea..no need to stay in your hotel all day... So book in the Stay and leave for Hawaii adventures from 7 am till night. Dont be suprised if u notice the dumps of the Hayat regency in front of the hotel entrance.also thr noise of trucks in the morning at 6am (no need fo a wake up call) ;). they forget to clean our balcony! I only booked in this hotel for 2 nights simply there was no rooms available in the Hilton! Ps:The continetal breakfast is minimum.(coffe and croissant) Reception staff r great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All the fancy hotels next to the beach where I stayed the rest of my vacation are great but minimum for xxx a night... Maybe u can book on the Stay hotel for less and spend the rest on yourself! Alohaaaa

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aliceb
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Hidden fees for sure.

When you first check in they charge an extra 100$ for some fee that is no where on the website. Parking is 25$ a night... But there lot can only hold like five cars so you have to go to a parking lot like six blocks away and pay 30$ a night. Then thwy have a fee when you check out that is different than the one stated on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If it was cheap it would be nice... Because it's a cheap hotel.

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dayna Lapina
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 26, 2014

Not what website showcased!

Very disappointed from start. Front desk seemed unprofessional and unfriendly. For price paid expected more compared to other stays and other hotel booking websites! Not recommened at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert9
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 20, 2014

Location!

The best part about this hotel is the location for its price. It is one small block away from the middle of Waikiki beach. The resort fee at first was disappointing, but changed my mind the next morning when I checked the continental breakfast they served, it was decent (the fee also includes free wi-fi, beach goodies, etc). Don't expect this to be a 3 or 4 star hotel, but I will give it 3 stars because of its very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki Beach

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dennis IT
Business
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Jul 10, 2012

Right place where sleep and have a shower

Basically they give you all the things you need in a place where the best things to do are stay on the beach, enjoy the waves and the sun and go everywhere to visit the island/s. Very good location since one block from the beach and close to many places where you can eat or do shopping. Not very clean the room. Not good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Locals full all people when most of the hotels in the neighbourhood are sold out.

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rick of Orion
Business
just moved to Honolulu
Jul 31, 2012

Guess what, there is a $10.00 amenities fee!

At check in there was a computer problem that was not showing reservations that were made through a competitors website. Fortunately,mine was no problem and I sailed right into the room. The staff were very nice and kind. They were also a great help when I had to make an emergency fax to the mainland. They are all good folks and make the hotel a safe and comfortable place to be. I liked the key cards they had that you only had to touch the door handle to open the door. T The room was blue and orange decor and a light tree, but did not have a refrigerator or microwave. In fact no microwaves anywhere in the building so folks had to heat up the breakfast pastries that were the "continental breakfast" over the toasters. Tang and or coffee rounded out the spartan menu. The rolls were good although on the small side, but one could take as many as they wished. The elevator doors were very mean to people and would keep closing on guests. Even after the doors hit you in the shoulders it would keep hitting you. Got to fix that. No problem though getting the elevator, you just had to be quick to get on or off or you would get squashed by those doors. Rooms had a very nice little balcony with a pick-a-boo view of Waikiki beach. When guest were talking on the balconies they sounded like they were right in your room. Fotunately everyone retired at a respectable time so no problem sleeping except when the garbage trucks came by at 5:00 a.m. Nice surprise. The location of the place is fantastic and close to everything. The little air conditioner in the room was barely adequate. The windows opened but the trade winds seldom would blew through due to angle of the building I guess. Still it is a decent place to say. I was surprised when I checked out to be charged a $10.00 a day amenities fee. What amenities? Must have been the little small beach chairs and mats that one could use on the beach which was only one block away. For the price I would stay there again if nothing else in that budget range is available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No need to rent a car if staying in Waikiki for a few days. There is a great bus system that you can easily learn about on-line. Just type in "The Bus" Honolulu. Parking is difficult and expensive in Waikiki so just rent a car for a few days if you plan to go elsewhere on the island.

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dennisforsure
Business
Seattle
Oct 22, 2012

waikiki

If you want to lounge in the hotel and bask in luxury....look elsewhere! If you simply need a place to sleep and shower that is a block from the beach, this works well. Note: expect city noise at night as the windows are open, so light sleepers be warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mcdonalds has a decent breakfast two blocks away, don't use hotel breakfast.

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T Dad
Business
Minnesota
Nov 22, 2012

Quick stay

Nothing fancy, but clean and cozy. Walls are a little thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice short walk to the beach

Back to menu Return to top