$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 29, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
106 reviews
Nice and comfortable hotel

I am a local resident and decided just to get away for the weekend and relax. This hotel pick was... See full review

  • P96707
  • Jan 25, 2015
boutique is the perfect description

best value in waikiki. it's my second stay here. staff is great, location is perfect. room is clean. See full review

  • kdenton
  • Jan 9, 2015
Stay Waikiki - Only Boutique Hotel in Waikiki on a Budget

Stay Waikiki is a uniquely affordable boutique hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Created with the savvy modern traveler in mind. Located just one short block from the sands of Waikiki Beach and steps away from world class dining and shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, Stay Waikiki offers the ideal launch pad for the perfect vacation.

Stay Waikiki offers contemporary guest rooms that are brightly decorated with vibrant colors and chic decors that are just as exciting as the destination Waikiki. All guest rooms are non-smoking and offer free WiFi internet access. Choose from spacious deluxe Queen rooms with sofa beds or share a cozy bunk bedroom.

Extra rollaway bed in the Deluxe Queen with Sofabed room at the Stay Hotel Waikiki is subject to USD $20 per day. Only one roll away is allowed per room.

There is limited onsite parking availability at the Stay Hotel Waikiki. The daily fee is USD $25 per day per vehicle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Stay Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Deluxe Queen with Sofabed
Spacious room provides a Queen bed along with a twin sofabed , 32-inch LCD TV, iPod docking station, hair dryer in the bathroom and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Two Twin Beds
This contemporary guest room features 2 twin beds, a 32-inch LCD TV, a hairdryer in the bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 square feet.
Boutique Queen room
This brightly decorated guest room features a queen-size bed, 32-inch LCD TV, hair dryer in bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 to 175 square feet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.8 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.3 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Shor American Seafood Grill
Located across from the STAY Waikiki at the Hyatt Waikiki, this restaurant offers contemporary American seafood and grill on Waikiki Beach.
Makino Chaya Makitti Hawaii
All you can eat buffet, from sushi to seafood.Located a couple of blocks from the hotel, the Makitti is opened for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bigpeak3
Business
Las Veags, NV
Nov 25, 2013

Cheap hotel in Central Waikiki

This hotel was an old building that was recently remodeled into a modern boutique hotel. Our room looked similar to the pictures on the site but was much smaller. Even though it may be a year or two old, this place still needed more upgrades - better room windows, curtains that block the light for the bathroom window, a way to enter and exit the garage (We had to call the front desk to get in and out of the garage.), a not dim and shady looking hotel bar. I'm lucky we only had a one night booked here as my wife would not stay here again. I think we got what the level of amenities and comfort we paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Den the men
Business
New Zealand
Jan 1, 2014

Dissapointing

Not great but given the location, suppose the lower cost is relative. D

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dayna Lapina
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 5, 2014

No what expected kind of shady

Hotel does not have convenient signs for finding location. Advertisement at hotel display SWAY??? Not to mention I am a resident of Oahu. Very disappointed nothing advertised outside of hotel stating "Stay Hotel Waikiki". Was very disheartened to find two other customers having trouble as well with front desk. They made me sign papers that stated parking $20 but instead charged me $25. Included was also a garage remote control fee that I never received. you need to talk to management about documentation as well as advertisement concerns. Very alarmed with front desk clerk refused to give me copies of "altered" documents signed. However, the room was clean but small and crampy for a amount paid especially being kamaaina!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maria saldana
Business
San Diego, California
Apr 6, 2014

Stay somewhere else

Stay hotel was probably one of the worst hotels I ever stayed in super old and ghetto I saw like 30 cockroaches and the room were really small. The location is great and the staff is really nice but I would definitely never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SJSN4
Business
San Jose CA
Aug 3, 2014

Nothing special

Room was below average. The windows didn't close all the way so the AC struggled to work. I wore my sandals 100% of the time in the room even in the shower. The noise from the street woke me up everyday by 630 am which was fine for the days we had activities but not for the days I wanted more sleep. I left this hotel two days early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Claire love macadamias
Business
Okinawa, Japan
Sep 17, 2014

Reviews were right

I was hoping the reviews about the noise were not right, but the noise from outside is loud, my window was brocken open. They are slated windows to allow cool air in, but it wasn't cool outside. The hotel is right behind the Hyatt and they were doing construction and the everyday dump trucks and delivery trucks were heard at 0600 every morning. Beep Beep. If you don't mind an early wake up call, the place is really close to the beach, but that is if you don't mind Waikiki with the hundreds of people crowding around you. I know now, I will not be going back to Aikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is so close. As close as the beach. That was a plus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ziad Jabbour
Business
Lebanon
Oct 16, 2014

location, cost effective

Dears, if u r low on budget..want to be near the sea..no need to stay in your hotel all day... So book in the Stay and leave for Hawaii adventures from 7 am till night. Dont be suprised if u notice the dumps of the Hayat regency in front of the hotel entrance.also thr noise of trucks in the morning at 6am (no need fo a wake up call) ;). they forget to clean our balcony! I only booked in this hotel for 2 nights simply there was no rooms available in the Hilton! Ps:The continetal breakfast is minimum.(coffe and croissant) Reception staff r great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All the fancy hotels next to the beach where I stayed the rest of my vacation are great but minimum for xxx a night... Maybe u can book on the Stay hotel for less and spend the rest on yourself! Alohaaaa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aliceb
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Hidden fees for sure.

When you first check in they charge an extra 100$ for some fee that is no where on the website. Parking is 25$ a night... But there lot can only hold like five cars so you have to go to a parking lot like six blocks away and pay 30$ a night. Then thwy have a fee when you check out that is different than the one stated on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If it was cheap it would be nice... Because it's a cheap hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dennis IT
Business
Stay Hotel Waikiki
Jul 10, 2012

Right place where sleep and have a shower

Basically they give you all the things you need in a place where the best things to do are stay on the beach, enjoy the waves and the sun and go everywhere to visit the island/s. Very good location since one block from the beach and close to many places where you can eat or do shopping. Not very clean the room. Not good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Locals full all people when most of the hotels in the neighbourhood are sold out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rick of Orion
Business
just moved to Honolulu
Jul 31, 2012

Guess what, there is a $10.00 amenities fee!

At check in there was a computer problem that was not showing reservations that were made through a competitors website. Fortunately,mine was no problem and I sailed right into the room. The staff were very nice and kind. They were also a great help when I had to make an emergency fax to the mainland. They are all good folks and make the hotel a safe and comfortable place to be. I liked the key cards they had that you only had to touch the door handle to open the door. T The room was blue and orange decor and a light tree, but did not have a refrigerator or microwave. In fact no microwaves anywhere in the building so folks had to heat up the breakfast pastries that were the "continental breakfast" over the toasters. Tang and or coffee rounded out the spartan menu. The rolls were good although on the small side, but one could take as many as they wished. The elevator doors were very mean to people and would keep closing on guests. Even after the doors hit you in the shoulders it would keep hitting you. Got to fix that. No problem though getting the elevator, you just had to be quick to get on or off or you would get squashed by those doors. Rooms had a very nice little balcony with a pick-a-boo view of Waikiki beach. When guest were talking on the balconies they sounded like they were right in your room. Fotunately everyone retired at a respectable time so no problem sleeping except when the garbage trucks came by at 5:00 a.m. Nice surprise. The location of the place is fantastic and close to everything. The little air conditioner in the room was barely adequate. The windows opened but the trade winds seldom would blew through due to angle of the building I guess. Still it is a decent place to say. I was surprised when I checked out to be charged a $10.00 a day amenities fee. What amenities? Must have been the little small beach chairs and mats that one could use on the beach which was only one block away. For the price I would stay there again if nothing else in that budget range is available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

No need to rent a car if staying in Waikiki for a few days. There is a great bus system that you can easily learn about on-line. Just type in "The Bus" Honolulu. Parking is difficult and expensive in Waikiki so just rent a car for a few days if you plan to go elsewhere on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top