$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baehler
Business
Caldwell, Idaho
Jul 28, 2014

stay as a last resort..

they charge an add'l NON-NEG. $10/dy for use of their beach-towels and poor bread/water breakfast. this is the only time/location to get any coffee either; though my room had a mini-fridge, there was No microwave and no coffee anywhere(even lobby#. they have probs with the water, my tub's drain-plug didn't work and neither did the spout changer so it was stuck on shower-mode only. i had to turn my hot water on under the sink and found out why- the sink had a bad leak and at one time, someone's water was dripping through the roof into the lobby. the slat-glass windows did not work with the handles, i had to use my hands to push them open and then they fell shut after a short time with a startling SLAM. They advertise a bar/grille on the premises but is closed and i found it has been closed since they bought the property from the previous hotel company. the only smoking tolerated is down the front steps outside but they yel at you if you smoke near the ashtray they have set out. they charge an add'l $25/DAY to park. Most of the staff was very rude #one lady was nice) and the place did not feel professionally run. I was there for 2weeks and it didn't get any better. I would not recommend this hotel unless it was the only affordable room available as it was when i was forced to book here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on renting a car, try to rent the smallest car possible because traffic is nuts, the lanes are all crazy narrow and parking is extremely difficult anywhere. Plan your routes well and try to be in the lane for your next turn ASAP because heavy traffic prevents you from merging to make it and in the AM/PM they cone-off roads for reversible lanes so plan on making 4 rights to make that one left! :)

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Visitor082014
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 1, 2014

Would not stay there again!

Not like any place I stayed at before. Was not too comfortable and had cockroaches. Had to check out early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gaisnfbdiq
Business
Dallas, Texas
Nov 27, 2014

Not so great....

The room was super small. The bed was super small for 2 people and a 1 year old.. it was like a bit bigger then a twin size bed. None of the outlets worked to plug in a phone or anything for that matter! The staff was nice but that's the only good thing about that place. I would never stay there again.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
THanson
Business
Princeville
Feb 4, 2015

A Bad Decision...

What a bad decision was to "stay" at Stay. I honestly don't know where to start so I will bullet some stuff and let you figure out the rest if you dare stay here for some reason: The Good (there's always something): *Location *Free WiFi *Water Pressure *The Shampoo and Lotion *Bed linens and towels were clean *All lightbulbs worked *The staff is borderline pleasant but does nothing to acknowledge you or inquire on how your room or stay is, not even at checkout but that's probably because they are afraid of the answer so why bother. *The price even though still deceiving! I can't imagine trying to write a review if I had payed full price. The Bad: *If you look at their website, imagery is not reflective of the facilities...those pictures are like a science fiction movie so do not expect your room to look as nice. *Although the linens and towels were clean, the rest of the room didn't feel properly clean. Dirty windows, rusted drapes, there was hair in the bathroom wall and old dirt above the bathroom tile. *Furniture in disrepair *Paper thin pillows *Waking up to the sound of the trash trucks in the morning and the beeping of deliveries to nearby businesses as early as 530am due to lack of proper windows. Appreciated even though not used: *Continental breakfast (people seemed to enjoy but then again most would go for the free stuff and appear to be happy with it just because is free) There is a karaoke establishment in the lobby that didn't bother me, however if there is going to be such establishment in the lobby management should look at ways to monitor the elevator which anyone can get to at anytime, no questions asked. I guess I appreciate receiving an email from the General Manager overnight on departure date asking for feedback. However and especially given the condition of this hotel, I would suggest you are more visible in your operation, introduce yourself to people, see what your staff is doing or not doing. Maybe instead of sitting at the desk all day doing nothing they can help you compose an inspection sheet that addresses your most common and fixable complaints that don't require "renovating". Why leave it up to your paying guests to tell you at the end of their stay what they thought and then apologize saying the hotel will be refurbished and that you wish we told you while we were there to see what you could do? Perhaps you need to start walking the rooms and corridors of your hotel and addressing the simple things that can truly make a difference. See that the rooms are properly cleaned, that maintenance is looking at shower heads that fall when you turn on the water to prevent this to happen to a guest like it happened to me. This questions may remain unanswered, and constructive suggestions and feedback ignored but in the end I've done my part, paid for my stay and given you the feedback you requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay somewhere else. Please note that this form should not ask, nor require an answer about what type of traveler you would recommend this hotel to if you've answered the "would you recommend to a friend" question above as "no".

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jose C.
Business
N/A
Apr 9, 2015

Family wedding trip

It's my first night and I am up at 6 am cause they are picking up garbage every ten min I am not able to wake up walk outside and see the beach. I am very unhappy with the choice I made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Den the men
Business
New Zealand
Jan 1, 2014

Dissapointing

Not great but given the location, suppose the lower cost is relative. D

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dayna Lapina
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 5, 2014

No what expected kind of shady

Hotel does not have convenient signs for finding location. Advertisement at hotel display SWAY??? Not to mention I am a resident of Oahu. Very disappointed nothing advertised outside of hotel stating "Stay Hotel Waikiki". Was very disheartened to find two other customers having trouble as well with front desk. They made me sign papers that stated parking $20 but instead charged me $25. Included was also a garage remote control fee that I never received. you need to talk to management about documentation as well as advertisement concerns. Very alarmed with front desk clerk refused to give me copies of "altered" documents signed. However, the room was clean but small and crampy for a amount paid especially being kamaaina!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maria saldana
Business
San Diego, California
Apr 6, 2014

Stay somewhere else

Stay hotel was probably one of the worst hotels I ever stayed in super old and ghetto I saw like 30 cockroaches and the room were really small. The location is great and the staff is really nice but I would definitely never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
James R.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 1, 2012

Not What I Reserved

I was greatly dissapointed by this hotel. The room was really small and had a bunkbed. It resembles more a bacpacker's hostel than a hotel that charges $120 a night. The only reason that I stayed was that I arrived late in Waikiki and was only staying for the night. Don't trust the photos that you see when you make the reservation. The only good things I can say about this hotel is that it is clean, has a good location and good internet. I would not recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mikeymike81
Business
Honolulu, Oahu
Nov 20, 2012

Honolulu vacation

Most definitely a TWO Star hotel. All I can say is you get what you pay for :-\

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top