$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
billy p
Business
Leeds al
Apr 14, 2013

worst hotel ever

I travel for a living this might be the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. I.do not know where they got the pictures on your site. I do not think that is even the hotel in the picture. The only good thing were the girls st front desk. This hotel should not be on your site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nickbear
Business
Elsinore ca
Jun 22, 2013

Pictures decieving

Way too Spartan. Too small, felt like jail cell. Walls were concrete brick. There was absolutely NO comfort to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mandeez
Business
Reno, Nevada
Jun 19, 2013

Great location, poor hotel

I didn't want anything fancy while I was in Hawaii. I was just staying for a few nights (4# and I wasn't planning on spending any time in my hotel #I wanted to be on the beach and on my mtn bike. So I chose this hotel (which received 3 stars on this website's reviews# for its location. The location is GREAT! It's near all the big hotels #Hyatt, Hilton, etc# in Waikiki Hawaii. It's one block from the beach. And it's near tons of great restaurants and shopping. However, the hotel itself is horrible. They say they have on-site parking. Do NOT try parking there. For starters, the lot is small and underground and the spots are so tight that you are likely to hit someone #or more likely, someone will hit YOU#. Further, they only have about 20 spots, but 100 rooms and if you do the math, most guests won't get a spot in the garage anyway. No big deal b/c it's $20/day even for guests! BUT Waikiki doesn't have very much parking and $20 is actually cheap in Waikiki. So this aspect SUCKS. Further, the rooms aren't comfortable. They have lumpy, hard beds, tile floors and are TINY. The room barely fits the bed and even your luggage makes this room feel small. The room wasn't very clean either. The tile floors could have used another once over before my check in. Further, the staff is rude and act like you must be stupid if you don't understand their shorthand. The clerk who checked me in was trying to give me directions to another parking lot #b/c they were of course sold out# and she couldn't be bothered getting me there without using short nicknames for street names and places. If I didn't know, I was on my own... Upon check out, the two clerks couldn't be bothered to stop what they were doing #NOT helping any other customers) to get me checked out in a timely fashion. And even when they started helping me, they kept stopping for other non-customer related issues. Overall, i'll never stay here again. Even with low expectations coming in, I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
da realist
Business
Honolulu, hi.
Sep 25, 2013

small,jail like hotel

Only had bunk beds n was very small Never even had refrigerator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
paul55555
Business
coquitlam
Oct 18, 2013

I don't think it's a 3 stars hotel; don't STAY here

My room was on 3rd Floor It's an old building transformed in a hotel. Really noisy-buses, delivery trucks, etc.-Room really small with no windows. No coffee/tea maker in the room, no cartoons for the kids after 5pm, only adult content cartoon channel. The closet was small and smelly. The bathroom small and no brush for the toilet. So leave you girlfriend home or buy some gloves. Same frozen food for breakfast. Also available internet that is not working. Please consider paying $20 extra anywhere else and enjoy you escape. All they have are some good photoshopped pics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Parasailing. look for coupons. you will get 50% deals

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doug109
Business
honolulu, Hi
Jan 17, 2014

Terrible ambiance. Sweet staff...

It actually NEVER got dark in my room! all the city lights came right through the windows....i guess the place is supposed to look "trendy" but it just looked like a low-grade college dorm...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Halekulani restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler 011014
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jan 21, 2014

We were tricked!

This hotel is really a one star hotel. I fresh coat of paint does not make a hotel 3 stars. There were roaches in the lobby! The hotel is more like a hostel than a hotel. Our room didn't really have a window, the noise outside was so loud we couldn't sleep all night and I was afraid some of the rooms might be rented out by the hour. The hotel is directly across from a dirty run down apartment complex and our room looked out onto that. The location is great, but I wouldn't stay there again, ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Catfish17
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Mar 3, 2014

Disappointed

All in all I was very disappointed in the Stay Hotel Waikiki. The first room I was given had a veranda door that would not close or lock. I was then given another room that had roaches. I was told they couldn't do much so I went to a store and bought some Raid. That helped some, but should I have had to even deal with that? The next morning I went to get some socks out of the drawer and there were roaches in the drawer. I then asked to moved again. The third room was at least tolerable. I stayed through the week, but I will not stay at this hotel again. Nor will I recommend it to anyone. The staff tried to be accommodating and I appreciated that, but that was the only slightly positive experience of the stay. Not Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at the Sway Restaurant was very good. I will say that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hawaiian Lovely
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2014

If you're a fan of cockroaches, you're in good company...

I am originally from Hawaii and decided to come home for a visit with my mother. This hotel experience was embarassing and disgusting. I originally reserved a room for 7 nights but only physically stayed for 1 night because the room was filthy. Where do I start? Well there were cockroaches rampant throughout the hotel lobby, elevator, and in the room. I asked to speak to a manager yesterday right away but was told there were no additional rooms. The following day I again asked for a manager and was told someone would contact me, which never happened. I actually sent a detailed email to the manager over a month ago and NEVER received a reply. No communication or feedback whatsoever. Moving on, here are other issues I encountered. The pictures on the website are not the least bit accurate. The bathroom window sils were dusty and there was what appears to be mold on the ceiling above the toilet. Also, there were stains in the dresser drawers and on the linens, the pseudo white curtains were filthy and brown, and two of the knobs to turn the windows did not work. The elevator was out of order during the day and the "ocean views" from our room were in reality views of the neighboring tenement. The "continental breakfast" was hardly a breakfast at all (simply a few pastries, some toast, and cereal). The pseudo "hip" restaurant was outdated and rarely was there a bartender on site. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, which is a block from the beach. However, I'd suggest spending a few extra dollars and actually staying at a sanitary, friendly, well-represented hotel. Even the housekeeper advised me that she would never stay here and that I should stay at another hotel down the street instead. If anyone is interested I have a photos and a video of all of the above issues and I'll be happy to email them to you, Please do yourself a favor and avoid this poorly run, misrepresented shoddy hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The only good thing about this hotel is it's a block from the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kobe974
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 20, 2014

Not what it seemed

My experience at the Stay Hotel was an unforgettable one! When I booked it online I looked at the pictures of the rooms and decided that's where I wanted to stay. Upon arriving the first thing that got my attention was how tucked away it was and that there was little to no parking. Once I got inside and checked in I noticed that the elegant bar/lounge that was advertised on the hotel's website was closed for renovations, something they could have explained on the website. Once I got in my room I was so disappointed, it looked absolutely nothing like the pics they posted on their website. The sheets and pillowcases were dirty and the room was cramped and tight. I would definitely not recommend anyone to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is a just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top