$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
86 reviews
Wedding/honeymoon

very accommodating good size room with a balcony you could see the beach,staff was extremely... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • May 12, 2014
Vacation at last

First time to Hawaii & I stayed at the hotel for my vacation & wedding,honeymoon & right from the... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • Oct 27, 2013
Stay Waikiki - Only Boutique Hotel in Waikiki on a Budget

Stay Waikiki is a uniquely affordable boutique hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Created with the savvy modern traveler in mind. Located just one short block from the sands of Waikiki Beach and steps away from world class dining and shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, Stay Waikiki offers the ideal launch pad for the perfect vacation.

Stay Waikiki offers contemporary guest rooms that are brightly decorated with vibrant colors and chic decors that are just as exciting as the destination Waikiki. All guest rooms are non-smoking and offer free WiFi internet access. Choose from spacious deluxe Queen rooms with sofa beds or share a cozy bunk bedroom.

Extra rollaway bed in the Deluxe Queen with Sofabed room at the Stay Hotel Waikiki is subject to USD $20 per day. Only one roll away is allowed per room.

There is limited onsite parking availability at the Stay Hotel Waikiki. The daily fee is USD $25 per day per vehicle.

Hotel Map

21.2761 -157.8246
Area served
The hotel is located in Waikiki, city of Honolulu on the island of Oahu.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL)
Area description
Stay Waikiki is located a block from the sands of Waikiki Beach on the island of Oahu, and the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center. It's walking distance (10-15 minutes walk) to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Beach Park, Waikiki Aquarium and International Marketplace.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Stay Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Bunkbed room with twin beds
This unique guest room is about 105 square feet and features twin-size bunk beds, 32-inch LCD TV, inviting balcony with patio furniture, iPod docking station, hairdryer in the bathroom, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Deluxe Queen with Sofabed
Spacious room provides a Queen bed along with a twin sofabed , 32-inch LCD TV, iPod docking station, hair dryer in the bathroom and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Two Twin Beds
This contemporary guest room features 2 twin beds, a 32-inch LCD TV, a hairdryer in the bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 square feet.
Boutique Queen room
This brightly decorated guest room features a queen-size bed, 32-inch LCD TV, hair dryer in bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 to 175 square feet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.8 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.3 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Shor American Seafood Grill
Located across from the STAY Waikiki at the Hyatt Waikiki, this restaurant offers contemporary American seafood and grill on Waikiki Beach.
Makino Chaya Makitti Hawaii
All you can eat buffet, from sushi to seafood.Located a couple of blocks from the hotel, the Makitti is opened for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alexito76
Sydney Australia
Aug 27, 2012

Excellent Location

I have been to Waikiki about nine times. Each time, I have stayed at one of the well known chain. This time, we wanted a cheap holiday, and got it at Stay hotel. We were there for 10 nights. The location is the best thing about the hotel. It is one street away from the Duke Statue and walking distance to everything else. The room is small - the bathroom door cannot be opened completely, because it hits the bed. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the go808 express shuttle from the airport. He only picks up one group at a time, $10 per person. Really nice guy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doug109
Business
honolulu, Hi
Jan 17, 2014

Terrible ambiance. Sweet staff...

It actually NEVER got dark in my room! all the city lights came right through the windows....i guess the place is supposed to look "trendy" but it just looked like a low-grade college dorm...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Halekulani restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler 011014
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jan 21, 2014

We were tricked!

This hotel is really a one star hotel. I fresh coat of paint does not make a hotel 3 stars. There were roaches in the lobby! The hotel is more like a hostel than a hotel. Our room didn't really have a window, the noise outside was so loud we couldn't sleep all night and I was afraid some of the rooms might be rented out by the hour. The hotel is directly across from a dirty run down apartment complex and our room looked out onto that. The location is great, but I wouldn't stay there again, ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Catfish17
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Mar 3, 2014

Disappointed

All in all I was very disappointed in the Stay Hotel Waikiki. The first room I was given had a veranda door that would not close or lock. I was then given another room that had roaches. I was told they couldn't do much so I went to a store and bought some Raid. That helped some, but should I have had to even deal with that? The next morning I went to get some socks out of the drawer and there were roaches in the drawer. I then asked to moved again. The third room was at least tolerable. I stayed through the week, but I will not stay at this hotel again. Nor will I recommend it to anyone. The staff tried to be accommodating and I appreciated that, but that was the only slightly positive experience of the stay. Not Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at the Sway Restaurant was very good. I will say that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hawaiian Lovely
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2014

If you're a fan of cockroaches, you're in good company...

I am originally from Hawaii and decided to come home for a visit with my mother. This hotel experience was embarassing and disgusting. I originally reserved a room for 7 nights but only physically stayed for 1 night because the room was filthy. Where do I start? Well there were cockroaches rampant throughout the hotel lobby, elevator, and in the room. I asked to speak to a manager yesterday right away but was told there were no additional rooms. The following day I again asked for a manager and was told someone would contact me, which never happened. I actually sent a detailed email to the manager over a month ago and NEVER received a reply. No communication or feedback whatsoever. Moving on, here are other issues I encountered. The pictures on the website are not the least bit accurate. The bathroom window sils were dusty and there was what appears to be mold on the ceiling above the toilet. Also, there were stains in the dresser drawers and on the linens, the pseudo white curtains were filthy and brown, and two of the knobs to turn the windows did not work. The elevator was out of order during the day and the "ocean views" from our room were in reality views of the neighboring tenement. The "continental breakfast" was hardly a breakfast at all (simply a few pastries, some toast, and cereal). The pseudo "hip" restaurant was outdated and rarely was there a bartender on site. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, which is a block from the beach. However, I'd suggest spending a few extra dollars and actually staying at a sanitary, friendly, well-represented hotel. Even the housekeeper advised me that she would never stay here and that I should stay at another hotel down the street instead. If anyone is interested I have a photos and a video of all of the above issues and I'll be happy to email them to you, Please do yourself a favor and avoid this poorly run, misrepresented shoddy hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The only good thing about this hotel is it's a block from the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Walked into a Dump..
Business
Stay Hotel Waikiki,Honolulu,Hi
Jul 30, 2012

A very bad Dream

I did not stay at this hotel this is not the hotel I saw online, it was so bad that I left walking looking for a better hotel and I found one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anna Loves to Travel
Business
Oakland, CA
Sep 10, 2012

Not what I was expecting :(

The location was great but the room was so tiny and the air conditioner didn't work that well so it was very hot in the room. I would not suggest this hotel to anyone, if I would have known I would have spent a little more $ for a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Waikiki
Business
San Jose
Oct 16, 2012

Horrible !!!!!!

This is a horrible hotel ! Its not worth any of your money. The pictures are deceiving because the real this is far from from looking like this. The orange hand is plastic thing. We checkout in 5 minutes, the room was next to some apartments where you can hear everythig, it smelled, and they charged for amenities? Who needs amenities!. Just pay for a real vacation at its a couple $$ more but totally worth every penny to stay at a clean, safe, and amazing room !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
big island resident
Business
waikiki, hi
Oct 22, 2012

teenager room

Very disappointed with this hotel. Walked into the room to a tiny room with a bunk bed. Reminded me of my teenage days, sharing a room with a brother. No ice machines available, no room service either. No views of the ocean, but the neighbors next door, had to keep curtains closed for privacy. Sorry to say, but it was a great disappointment! Thanks for the bad experience to my travel agent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

stay away from Cheesecake Factory Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chino
Business
London UK
Nov 18, 2012

Rubbish

The hotel is very noisy due ti its location behind a large hotel from where there non stop drop offs and pick ups inc.car rental drop offs.Fumes from large coachs and noise levels.The Stay hotel windows have recesses so no shut off for noise.To a traveller the hotel should be better dercribed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Spend a bit more and stay at a better hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BTB100
Business
Kona, Hawaii
Dec 1, 2012

No Parking..............

They only have 12 parking stalls, and over 100 rooms; finding someplace to park at night with bad advise from the staff is challenging............. ps, Very hard beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top