$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
83 reviews
Wedding/honeymoon

very accommodating good size room with a balcony you could see the beach,staff was extremely... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • May 12, 2014
Vacation at last

First time to Hawaii & I stayed at the hotel for my vacation & wedding,honeymoon & right from the... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • Oct 27, 2013
Stay Waikiki - Only Boutique Hotel in Waikiki on a Budget

Stay Waikiki is a uniquely affordable boutique hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Created with the savvy modern traveler in mind. Located just one short block from the sands of Waikiki Beach and steps away from world class dining and shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, Stay Waikiki offers the ideal launch pad for the perfect vacation.

Stay Waikiki offers contemporary guest rooms that are brightly decorated with vibrant colors and chic decors that are just as exciting as the destination Waikiki. All guest rooms are non-smoking and offer free WiFi internet access. Choose from spacious deluxe Queen rooms with sofa beds or share a cozy bunk bedroom.

Extra rollaway bed in the Deluxe Queen with Sofabed room at the Stay Hotel Waikiki is subject to USD $20 per day. Only one rollaway is allowed per room.

Hotel Map

21.2761 -157.8246
Area served
The hotel is located in Waikiki, city of Honolulu on the island of Oahu.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL)
Area description
Stay Waikiki is located a block from the sands of Waikiki Beach on the island of Oahu, and the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center. It's walking distance (10-15 minutes walk) to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Beach Park, Waikiki Aquarium and International Marketplace.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Stay Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Bunkbed room with twin beds
This unique guest room is about 105 square feet and features twin-size bunk beds, 32-inch LCD TV, inviting balcony with patio furniture, iPod docking station, hairdryer in the bathroom, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Deluxe Queen with Sofabed
Spacious room provides a Queen bed along with a twin sofabed , 32-inch LCD TV, iPod docking station, hair dryer in the bathroom and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Two Twin Beds
This contemporary guest room features 2 twin beds, a 32-inch LCD TV, a hairdryer in the bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 square feet.
Boutique Queen room
This brightly decorated guest room features a queen-size bed, 32-inch LCD TV, hair dryer in bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 to 175 square feet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.8 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.3 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Shor American Seafood Grill
Located across from the STAY Waikiki at the Hyatt Waikiki, this restaurant offers contemporary American seafood and grill on Waikiki Beach.
Makino Chaya Makitti Hawaii
All you can eat buffet, from sushi to seafood.Located a couple of blocks from the hotel, the Makitti is opened for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alexito76
Sydney Australia
Aug 27, 2012

Excellent Location

I have been to Waikiki about nine times. Each time, I have stayed at one of the well known chain. This time, we wanted a cheap holiday, and got it at Stay hotel. We were there for 10 nights. The location is the best thing about the hotel. It is one street away from the Duke Statue and walking distance to everything else. The room is small - the bathroom door cannot be opened completely, because it hits the bed. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the go808 express shuttle from the airport. He only picks up one group at a time, $10 per person. Really nice guy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nickbear
Elsinore ca
Jun 22, 2013

Pictures decieving

Way too Spartan. Too small, felt like jail cell. Walls were concrete brick. There was absolutely NO comfort to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anna Loves to Travel
Oakland, CA
Sep 10, 2012

Not what I was expecting :(

The location was great but the room was so tiny and the air conditioner didn't work that well so it was very hot in the room. I would not suggest this hotel to anyone, if I would have known I would have spent a little more $ for a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Harrymon
Business
San Francisco
Feb 9, 2013

Small

Surprised to find room so small and bunkbeds. It also did not have a chair or desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mandeez
Reno, Nevada
Jun 19, 2013

Great location, poor hotel

I didn't want anything fancy while I was in Hawaii. I was just staying for a few nights (4# and I wasn't planning on spending any time in my hotel #I wanted to be on the beach and on my mtn bike. So I chose this hotel (which received 3 stars on this website's reviews# for its location. The location is GREAT! It's near all the big hotels #Hyatt, Hilton, etc# in Waikiki Hawaii. It's one block from the beach. And it's near tons of great restaurants and shopping. However, the hotel itself is horrible. They say they have on-site parking. Do NOT try parking there. For starters, the lot is small and underground and the spots are so tight that you are likely to hit someone #or more likely, someone will hit YOU#. Further, they only have about 20 spots, but 100 rooms and if you do the math, most guests won't get a spot in the garage anyway. No big deal b/c it's $20/day even for guests! BUT Waikiki doesn't have very much parking and $20 is actually cheap in Waikiki. So this aspect SUCKS. Further, the rooms aren't comfortable. They have lumpy, hard beds, tile floors and are TINY. The room barely fits the bed and even your luggage makes this room feel small. The room wasn't very clean either. The tile floors could have used another once over before my check in. Further, the staff is rude and act like you must be stupid if you don't understand their shorthand. The clerk who checked me in was trying to give me directions to another parking lot #b/c they were of course sold out# and she couldn't be bothered getting me there without using short nicknames for street names and places. If I didn't know, I was on my own... Upon check out, the two clerks couldn't be bothered to stop what they were doing #NOT helping any other customers) to get me checked out in a timely fashion. And even when they started helping me, they kept stopping for other non-customer related issues. Overall, i'll never stay here again. Even with low expectations coming in, I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chino
London UK
Nov 18, 2012

Rubbish

The hotel is very noisy due ti its location behind a large hotel from where there non stop drop offs and pick ups inc.car rental drop offs.Fumes from large coachs and noise levels.The Stay hotel windows have recesses so no shut off for noise.To a traveller the hotel should be better dercribed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Spend a bit more and stay at a better hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lennox and Paradise
Las Vegas, NV
Feb 8, 2013

Not what we were expecting

The pictures were a far cry from what we really got with this hotel. The rooms are literally 8x10, if that. They are very old rooms, trying to be upgraded with very few modern pieces of furniture. Their "continental breakfast" that we paid $20 for consisted of toast, muffins and juice. This was quite a disappointment and was a mood killer on our honeymoon for sure. Won't be recommending or staying here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler 011014
Portland, Oregon
Jan 21, 2014

We were tricked!

This hotel is really a one star hotel. I fresh coat of paint does not make a hotel 3 stars. There were roaches in the lobby! The hotel is more like a hostel than a hotel. Our room didn't really have a window, the noise outside was so loud we couldn't sleep all night and I was afraid some of the rooms might be rented out by the hour. The hotel is directly across from a dirty run down apartment complex and our room looked out onto that. The location is great, but I wouldn't stay there again, ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baehler
Business
Caldwell, Idaho
Jul 28, 2014

stay as a last resort..

they charge an add'l NON-NEG. $10/dy for use of their beach-towels and poor bread/water breakfast. this is the only time/location to get any coffee either; though my room had a mini-fridge, there was No microwave and no coffee anywhere(even lobby#. they have probs with the water, my tub's drain-plug didn't work and neither did the spout changer so it was stuck on shower-mode only. i had to turn my hot water on under the sink and found out why- the sink had a bad leak and at one time, someone's water was dripping through the roof into the lobby. the slat-glass windows did not work with the handles, i had to use my hands to push them open and then they fell shut after a short time with a startling SLAM. They advertise a bar/grille on the premises but is closed and i found it has been closed since they bought the property from the previous hotel company. the only smoking tolerated is down the front steps outside but they yel at you if you smoke near the ashtray they have set out. they charge an add'l $25/DAY to park. Most of the staff was very rude #one lady was nice) and the place did not feel professionally run. I was there for 2weeks and it didn't get any better. I would not recommend this hotel unless it was the only affordable room available as it was when i was forced to book here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on renting a car, try to rent the smallest car possible because traffic is nuts, the lanes are all crazy narrow and parking is extremely difficult anywhere. Plan your routes well and try to be in the lane for your next turn ASAP because heavy traffic prevents you from merging to make it and in the AM/PM they cone-off roads for reversible lanes so plan on making 4 rights to make that one left! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Waikiki
San Jose
Oct 16, 2012

Horrible !!!!!!

This is a horrible hotel ! Its not worth any of your money. The pictures are deceiving because the real this is far from from looking like this. The orange hand is plastic thing. We checkout in 5 minutes, the room was next to some apartments where you can hear everythig, it smelled, and they charged for amenities? Who needs amenities!. Just pay for a real vacation at its a couple $$ more but totally worth every penny to stay at a clean, safe, and amazing room !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
da realist
Honolulu, hi.
Sep 25, 2013

small,jail like hotel

Only had bunk beds n was very small Never even had refrigerator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search