$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
76 reviews
Wedding/honeymoon

very accommodating good size room with a balcony you could see the beach,staff was extremely... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • May 12, 2014
Vacation at last

First time to Hawaii & I stayed at the hotel for my vacation & wedding,honeymoon & right from the... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • Oct 27, 2013
Stay Waikiki - Only Boutique Hotel in Waikiki on a Budget

Stay Waikiki is a uniquely affordable boutique hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Created with the savvy modern traveler in mind. Located just one short block from the sands of Waikiki Beach and steps away from world class dining and shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, Stay Waikiki offers the ideal launch pad for the perfect vacation.

Stay Waikiki offers contemporary guest rooms that are brightly decorated with vibrant colors and chic decors that are just as exciting as the destination Waikiki. All guest rooms are non-smoking and offer free WiFi internet access. Choose from spacious deluxe Queen rooms with sofa beds or share a cozy bunk bedroom.

Extra rollaway bed in the Deluxe Queen with Sofabed room at the Stay Hotel Waikiki is subject to USD $20 per day. Only one rollaway is allowed per room.

Stay Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Bunkbed room with twin beds
This unique guest room is about 105 square feet and features twin-size bunk beds, 32-inch LCD TV, inviting balcony with patio furniture, iPod docking station, hairdryer in the bathroom, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Deluxe Queen with Sofabed
Spacious room provides a Queen bed along with a twin sofabed , 32-inch LCD TV, iPod docking station, hair dryer in the bathroom and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Two Twin Beds
This contemporary guest room features 2 twin beds, a 32-inch LCD TV, a hairdryer in the bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 square feet.
Boutique Queen room
This brightly decorated guest room features a queen-size bed, 32-inch LCD TV, hair dryer in bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 to 175 square feet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2761 -157.8246
Area served
The hotel is located in Waikiki, city of Honolulu on the island of Oahu.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL)
Area description
Stay Waikiki is located a block from the sands of Waikiki Beach on the island of Oahu, and the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center. It's walking distance (10-15 minutes walk) to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Beach Park, Waikiki Aquarium and International Marketplace.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.8 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.3 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Shor American Seafood Grill
Located across from the STAY Waikiki at the Hyatt Waikiki, this restaurant offers contemporary American seafood and grill on Waikiki Beach.
Makino Chaya Makitti Hawaii
All you can eat buffet, from sushi to seafood.Located a couple of blocks from the hotel, the Makitti is opened for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alyssa Licon
California
May 12, 2014

Wedding/honeymoon

very accommodating good size room with a balcony you could see the beach,staff was extremely friendly & helpful.known us by name by 2nd day.went for vacation /wedding and would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International market..little vendors and shops really good for those take home memories & souvenirs. But do get a car..island worth the drive

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Texans fan
Houston, tx
May 18, 2013

Fantastic Hawaii vacation

Very close to the beach. Excellent staff! Good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Udon noodles

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Valerie N.
Spokane
Oct 5, 2012

Awesome

This was our first real vacation and I was so at peace to arrive in waikiki and to find my room Exactly like I requested!!! I love to have ice in my pop every morning and the staff brought me up a small refrigerator to keep my pop cold and my ice frozen, I was thrilled!!! And the view was Amazing!!! An Ocean view every morning and every evening!!!The staff even had boogie boards for us to enjoy and We had a Blast on them!!! The staff was very kind and understanding to us!!! We have decided to visit waikiki again and Yes we will be staying at the (Stay Hotel) as will the friends we've told!!! Thank - you!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alyssa Licon
California
Oct 27, 2013

Vacation at last

First time to Hawaii & I stayed at the hotel for my vacation & wedding,honeymoon & right from the start the staff was so friendly .you could see the beach from our room & the room was nice like a little apartment,coffee on the balcony was nice.i I ate at the restaurants/bar on the first floor & the food was really good(try the cat wraps) named after Catherine not the actually animal haha. I tried some of the other hotels restaurants & bars and they just were not friendly they just want the tip.but here at the stay hotel they'll chat with you like an old friend & make you feel like family here.if you do stay here you must chat with these staff members especially : Phyllis & jasmine (reception) and dave & john(bartenders).they asked how our day was and I swear it felt like the episodes of cheers cause they know you by name.There helpful with not just the tourist stuff but also the local stuff,the best places to see. I plan on staying here when I come back.i could go on but I've written enough...just go & stay at they stay hotel waikiki!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do rent a car the sights are amazing,on the weekend the swap meat is good,ask ask ask the locals!!

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alexito76
Sydney Australia
Aug 27, 2012

Excellent Location

I have been to Waikiki about nine times. Each time, I have stayed at one of the well known chain. This time, we wanted a cheap holiday, and got it at Stay hotel. We were there for 10 nights. The location is the best thing about the hotel. It is one street away from the Duke Statue and walking distance to everything else. The room is small - the bathroom door cannot be opened completely, because it hits the bed. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the go808 express shuttle from the airport. He only picks up one group at a time, $10 per person. Really nice guy.

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
norberta
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 21, 2012

Excellent location

This hotel was excellent in almost every way. The room was clean and comfortable. The desk staff were always upbeat and very helpful. A small refrigerator in the room would have helped. Stay on the 5th floor or higher to have a balcony. We ate many dinners on the balcony. Free use of the computers and free printing was helpful. Location is less than a city block from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great variety of inexpensive and medium priced food locations, and 2 good coffee shops.

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lance S
West Hollywood, CA
Jul 23, 2013

overall nice hotel

The room was small and didn't have much natural light /ventilation but was otherwise quite comfortable. The staff was very nice and we did have wifi and continental breakfast. The hotel supplies beach mats, boogieboards etc. on a first come first serve basis. They also offered free dvd rentals but most movies were unavailable/already checked out. My main complaint is this is a hotel that charges a mandatory amenity fee. I much prefer a hotel to be upfront about it's total costs in the rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thomeross
Gilbert, AZ
Mar 12, 2013

Good Place to Stay

The staffers at Stay are Top Notch!!! They always address you with a greeting smile when you are going in and out. This is also is good for security as every person walking in is acknowledged. They are also knowledgeable of the area and are not afraid to make recommendations of places to eat and things to do. The location is primo if you are a beach bum. The only reason I rated the amenities so lowly was that the internet was sporadic at best. It was nearly impossible to download/upload pics or keep a constant connection. I suggested maybe resetting the router and modem, but the staff I asked appeared to have no idea what I was speaking of. The rooms were designed well and could be described as “fun”. Every single staff member exceeded customer service expectations. The staff made up for any shortcomings. They were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Na Hoku II Take a sail on a catamaran for 90 minutes for only $30.00 with complementary drinks. It is the best bargain on Waikiki Beach!

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
partytony
Foster City, California
Feb 22, 2013

It's great!

Although the room was pretty small, the staff was friendly and very helpful. I would come to this hotel again if I ever visit Oahu again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is nearby!

Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alitta
Florida
Dec 29, 2012

Hotel at walking distance to ocean

Parking can be challenging (no dedicated parking for hotel, have to park in nearby public garage a few blocks away) -- take taxi instead if possible. Staff was really friendly and accommodating. We were able to get same room on 6th floor (with view to the ocean between two high-rises) next time we stayed on the last day of our trip. Hotel provides pastry breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top