$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
115 reviews
Great Waikiki Hotel

STAY HOTEL is a great place to, well, STAY when vistiing Waikiki. The location is superb and the... See full review

  • Leon L.
  • Mar 12, 2015
Nice and comfortable hotel

I am a local resident and decided just to get away for the weekend and relax. This hotel pick was... See full review

  • P96707
  • Jan 25, 2015
Stay Waikiki - Only Boutique Hotel in Waikiki on a Budget

Stay Waikiki is a uniquely affordable boutique hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Created with the savvy modern traveler in mind. Located just one short block from the sands of Waikiki Beach and steps away from world class dining and shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, Stay Waikiki offers the ideal launch pad for the perfect vacation.

Stay Waikiki offers contemporary guest rooms that are brightly decorated with vibrant colors and chic decors that are just as exciting as the destination Waikiki. All guest rooms are non-smoking and offer free WiFi internet access. Choose from spacious deluxe Queen rooms with sofa beds or share a cozy bunk bedroom.

Extra rollaway bed in the Deluxe Queen with Sofabed room at the Stay Hotel Waikiki is subject to USD $20 per day. Only one roll away is allowed per room.

There is limited onsite parking availability at the Stay Hotel Waikiki. The daily fee is USD $25 per day per vehicle.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Stay Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Boutique Queen room
This brightly decorated guest room features a queen-size bed, 32-inch LCD TV, hair dryer in bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 to 175 square feet.
Deluxe Queen with Sofabed
Spacious room provides a Queen bed along with a twin sofabed , 32-inch LCD TV, iPod docking station, hair dryer in the bathroom and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Two Twin Beds
This contemporary guest room features 2 twin beds, a 32-inch LCD TV, a hairdryer in the bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 square feet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.8 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.3 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.7 mi

Dining

Shor American Seafood Grill
Located across from the STAY Waikiki at the Hyatt Waikiki, this restaurant offers contemporary American seafood and grill on Waikiki Beach.
Makino Chaya Makitti Hawaii
All you can eat buffet, from sushi to seafood.Located a couple of blocks from the hotel, the Makitti is opened for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 115
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.5

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jose C.
Business
N/A
Apr 9, 2015

Family wedding trip

It's my first night and I am up at 6 am cause they are picking up garbage every ten min I am not able to wake up walk outside and see the beach. I am very unhappy with the choice I made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tarlovcyst gal
Business
ST George
Jan 20, 2015

Short stay in Honolulu

Hotel is not a 5 star hotel but it was very clean, great location, friendly staff and great bang for your buck! We needed a short term hotel in order to spend a few days on Oahua beforehand Going on to the Big Island. This property fit the bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ssrin
Business
Seattle
Nov 17, 2014

Need more improvment.

Bad bugs found after insect bite, needed to change rooms but found other bugs in the new room as well..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riodejaneiro 552
Business
Maui, HI
Oct 12, 2014

Great Location!

The hotel is old and need's to upgrade de key system that does not work, at one ocasion I had to go downstairs 3 times to get the key to work. The room offers NO Blankets and there is no lock inside the room that would give anyone a better feeling of safety. At the other hand the location of the hotel is in the heart of Waikiki Beach 1 block from the ocean and the price per night is affordable. Make sure to mention that a $25 per night will be charged for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No Hint, everything is right there in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dayna Lapina
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 26, 2014

Not what website showcased!

Very disappointed from start. Front desk seemed unprofessional and unfriendly. For price paid expected more compared to other stays and other hotel booking websites! Not recommened at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hawaiian Lovely
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 2, 2014

If you're a fan of cockroaches, you're in good company...

I am originally from Hawaii and decided to come home for a visit with my mother. This hotel experience was embarassing and disgusting. I originally reserved a room for 7 nights but only physically stayed for 1 night because the room was filthy. Where do I start? Well there were cockroaches rampant throughout the hotel lobby, elevator, and in the room. I asked to speak to a manager yesterday right away but was told there were no additional rooms. The following day I again asked for a manager and was told someone would contact me, which never happened. I actually sent a detailed email to the manager over a month ago and NEVER received a reply. No communication or feedback whatsoever. Moving on, here are other issues I encountered. The pictures on the website are not the least bit accurate. The bathroom window sils were dusty and there was what appears to be mold on the ceiling above the toilet. Also, there were stains in the dresser drawers and on the linens, the pseudo white curtains were filthy and brown, and two of the knobs to turn the windows did not work. The elevator was out of order during the day and the "ocean views" from our room were in reality views of the neighboring tenement. The "continental breakfast" was hardly a breakfast at all (simply a few pastries, some toast, and cereal). The pseudo "hip" restaurant was outdated and rarely was there a bartender on site. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, which is a block from the beach. However, I'd suggest spending a few extra dollars and actually staying at a sanitary, friendly, well-represented hotel. Even the housekeeper advised me that she would never stay here and that I should stay at another hotel down the street instead. If anyone is interested I have a photos and a video of all of the above issues and I'll be happy to email them to you, Please do yourself a favor and avoid this poorly run, misrepresented shoddy hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The only good thing about this hotel is it's a block from the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dayna Lapina
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 5, 2014

No what expected kind of shady

Hotel does not have convenient signs for finding location. Advertisement at hotel display SWAY??? Not to mention I am a resident of Oahu. Very disappointed nothing advertised outside of hotel stating "Stay Hotel Waikiki". Was very disheartened to find two other customers having trouble as well with front desk. They made me sign papers that stated parking $20 but instead charged me $25. Included was also a garage remote control fee that I never received. you need to talk to management about documentation as well as advertisement concerns. Very alarmed with front desk clerk refused to give me copies of "altered" documents signed. However, the room was clean but small and crampy for a amount paid especially being kamaaina!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
paul55555
Business
coquitlam
Oct 18, 2013

I don't think it's a 3 stars hotel; don't STAY here

My room was on 3rd Floor It's an old building transformed in a hotel. Really noisy-buses, delivery trucks, etc.-Room really small with no windows. No coffee/tea maker in the room, no cartoons for the kids after 5pm, only adult content cartoon channel. The closet was small and smelly. The bathroom small and no brush for the toilet. So leave you girlfriend home or buy some gloves. Same frozen food for breakfast. Also available internet that is not working. Please consider paying $20 extra anywhere else and enjoy you escape. All they have are some good photoshopped pics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Parasailing. look for coupons. you will get 50% deals

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shortee
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 4, 2013

nice trip

The room I had was kind a small, but there was only 3 of us. It's just a short walk to the beach. An there is a ABC Store right at the corner. It wasn't bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
da realist
Business
Honolulu, hi.
Sep 25, 2013

small,jail like hotel

Only had bunk beds n was very small Never even had refrigerator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top