$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
98 reviews
Wedding/honeymoon

very accommodating good size room with a balcony you could see the beach,staff was extremely... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • May 12, 2014
Vacation at last

First time to Hawaii & I stayed at the hotel for my vacation & wedding,honeymoon & right from the... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • Oct 27, 2013
Stay Waikiki - Only Boutique Hotel in Waikiki on a Budget

Stay Waikiki is a uniquely affordable boutique hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Created with the savvy modern traveler in mind. Located just one short block from the sands of Waikiki Beach and steps away from world class dining and shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, Stay Waikiki offers the ideal launch pad for the perfect vacation.

Stay Waikiki offers contemporary guest rooms that are brightly decorated with vibrant colors and chic decors that are just as exciting as the destination Waikiki. All guest rooms are non-smoking and offer free WiFi internet access. Choose from spacious deluxe Queen rooms with sofa beds or share a cozy bunk bedroom.

Extra rollaway bed in the Deluxe Queen with Sofabed room at the Stay Hotel Waikiki is subject to USD $20 per day. Only one roll away is allowed per room.

There is limited onsite parking availability at the Stay Hotel Waikiki. The daily fee is USD $25 per day per vehicle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Stay Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Bunkbed room with twin beds
This unique guest room is about 105 square feet and features twin-size bunk beds, 32-inch LCD TV, inviting balcony with patio furniture, iPod docking station, hairdryer in the bathroom, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Deluxe Queen with Sofabed
Spacious room provides a Queen bed along with a twin sofabed , 32-inch LCD TV, iPod docking station, hair dryer in the bathroom and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Two Twin Beds
This contemporary guest room features 2 twin beds, a 32-inch LCD TV, a hairdryer in the bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 square feet.
Boutique Queen room
This brightly decorated guest room features a queen-size bed, 32-inch LCD TV, hair dryer in bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 to 175 square feet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.8 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.3 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Shor American Seafood Grill
Located across from the STAY Waikiki at the Hyatt Waikiki, this restaurant offers contemporary American seafood and grill on Waikiki Beach.
Makino Chaya Makitti Hawaii
All you can eat buffet, from sushi to seafood.Located a couple of blocks from the hotel, the Makitti is opened for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert9
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 20, 2014

Location!

The best part about this hotel is the location for its price. It is one small block away from the middle of Waikiki beach. The resort fee at first was disappointing, but changed my mind the next morning when I checked the continental breakfast they served, it was decent (the fee also includes free wi-fi, beach goodies, etc). Don't expect this to be a 3 or 4 star hotel, but I will give it 3 stars because of its very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
man of God
Business
Bay area
Jan 29, 2014

the best

It was great from start to finished great friendly staff comfortable and clean. Great hotel for couples, friends and family. It made my vacation stay great at the Stay hotel we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

From beach shopping, eating entertainment your surrounded by it All.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
man of God
Business
Bay area
Jan 28, 2014

great friends and family vacation stay

Very nice stay clean rooms friendly staff a great location close to everything Wakiki has to offer. The price is very affordable I recommend this hotel especially for the younger people and those young at heart and families. I hope they will offer specials for longer vaction stays such as 3 to 4 weeks. Is hotel has won me over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The best of night life, and beaches all the eating place yes even Church on the beach great now that's everything!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler 011014
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jan 21, 2014

We were tricked!

This hotel is really a one star hotel. I fresh coat of paint does not make a hotel 3 stars. There were roaches in the lobby! The hotel is more like a hostel than a hotel. Our room didn't really have a window, the noise outside was so loud we couldn't sleep all night and I was afraid some of the rooms might be rented out by the hour. The hotel is directly across from a dirty run down apartment complex and our room looked out onto that. The location is great, but I wouldn't stay there again, ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Doug109
Business
honolulu, Hi
Jan 17, 2014

Terrible ambiance. Sweet staff...

It actually NEVER got dark in my room! all the city lights came right through the windows....i guess the place is supposed to look "trendy" but it just looked like a low-grade college dorm...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Halekulani restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dayna Lapina
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 5, 2014

No what expected kind of shady

Hotel does not have convenient signs for finding location. Advertisement at hotel display SWAY??? Not to mention I am a resident of Oahu. Very disappointed nothing advertised outside of hotel stating "Stay Hotel Waikiki". Was very disheartened to find two other customers having trouble as well with front desk. They made me sign papers that stated parking $20 but instead charged me $25. Included was also a garage remote control fee that I never received. you need to talk to management about documentation as well as advertisement concerns. Very alarmed with front desk clerk refused to give me copies of "altered" documents signed. However, the room was clean but small and crampy for a amount paid especially being kamaaina!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Den the men
Business
New Zealand
Jan 1, 2014

Dissapointing

Not great but given the location, suppose the lower cost is relative. D

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viking Warrior
Business
Vancouver B.C.
Nov 26, 2013

Sit back & relax.

Hello, I found the hotel staff very friendly,knowledgeable.Although it did take a couple of days to get the fridge I requested...The best was it was only a few strides to the beaches.The hotel restaurant & bar had great meals & super beer collection,& awesome friendly service from Mike & Sarah...It was a nice break from the cold of B.C.I recommend the hotel Stay...Aloha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bigpeak3
Business
Las Veags, NV
Nov 25, 2013

Cheap hotel in Central Waikiki

This hotel was an old building that was recently remodeled into a modern boutique hotel. Our room looked similar to the pictures on the site but was much smaller. Even though it may be a year or two old, this place still needed more upgrades - better room windows, curtains that block the light for the bathroom window, a way to enter and exit the garage (We had to call the front desk to get in and out of the garage.), a not dim and shady looking hotel bar. I'm lucky we only had a one night booked here as my wife would not stay here again. I think we got what the level of amenities and comfort we paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alyssa Licon
Business
California
Oct 27, 2013

Vacation at last

First time to Hawaii & I stayed at the hotel for my vacation & wedding,honeymoon & right from the start the staff was so friendly .you could see the beach from our room & the room was nice like a little apartment,coffee on the balcony was nice.i I ate at the restaurants/bar on the first floor & the food was really good(try the cat wraps) named after Catherine not the actually animal haha. I tried some of the other hotels restaurants & bars and they just were not friendly they just want the tip.but here at the stay hotel they'll chat with you like an old friend & make you feel like family here.if you do stay here you must chat with these staff members especially : Phyllis & jasmine (reception) and dave & john(bartenders).they asked how our day was and I swear it felt like the episodes of cheers cause they know you by name.There helpful with not just the tourist stuff but also the local stuff,the best places to see. I plan on staying here when I come back.i could go on but I've written enough...just go & stay at they stay hotel waikiki!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do rent a car the sights are amazing,on the weekend the swap meat is good,ask ask ask the locals!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top