$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveller from NYC
Business
New York, NY
Sep 5, 2014

Really nice staff here

Couldn't have asked for nicer front desk staff. The free continental breakfast was good and generous. The rooms are very basic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Visitor082014
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 1, 2014

Would not stay there again!

Not like any place I stayed at before. Was not too comfortable and had cockroaches. Had to check out early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jtriangle
Business
Raliegh, nc
Aug 13, 2014

Nice staff

Nice place. Helpful staff. Close to the beach. Not the fanciest but good enough for me. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Surf and turf tacos on kuhio

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William Yang
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 6, 2014

good place for beach lovers

The speedi shuttle gives door to door pick up and drop off service to this place; only a block away from the center of the beach; room is clean; a little bit noisy because of air conditioner and street traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SJSN4
Business
San Jose CA
Aug 3, 2014

Nothing special

Room was below average. The windows didn't close all the way so the AC struggled to work. I wore my sandals 100% of the time in the room even in the shower. The noise from the street woke me up everyday by 630 am which was fine for the days we had activities but not for the days I wanted more sleep. I left this hotel two days early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baehler
Business
Caldwell, Idaho
Jul 28, 2014

stay as a last resort..

they charge an add'l NON-NEG. $10/dy for use of their beach-towels and poor bread/water breakfast. this is the only time/location to get any coffee either; though my room had a mini-fridge, there was No microwave and no coffee anywhere(even lobby#. they have probs with the water, my tub's drain-plug didn't work and neither did the spout changer so it was stuck on shower-mode only. i had to turn my hot water on under the sink and found out why- the sink had a bad leak and at one time, someone's water was dripping through the roof into the lobby. the slat-glass windows did not work with the handles, i had to use my hands to push them open and then they fell shut after a short time with a startling SLAM. They advertise a bar/grille on the premises but is closed and i found it has been closed since they bought the property from the previous hotel company. the only smoking tolerated is down the front steps outside but they yel at you if you smoke near the ashtray they have set out. they charge an add'l $25/DAY to park. Most of the staff was very rude #one lady was nice) and the place did not feel professionally run. I was there for 2weeks and it didn't get any better. I would not recommend this hotel unless it was the only affordable room available as it was when i was forced to book here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on renting a car, try to rent the smallest car possible because traffic is nuts, the lanes are all crazy narrow and parking is extremely difficult anywhere. Plan your routes well and try to be in the lane for your next turn ASAP because heavy traffic prevents you from merging to make it and in the AM/PM they cone-off roads for reversible lanes so plan on making 4 rights to make that one left! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kobe974
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jul 20, 2014

Not what it seemed

My experience at the Stay Hotel was an unforgettable one! When I booked it online I looked at the pictures of the rooms and decided that's where I wanted to stay. Upon arriving the first thing that got my attention was how tucked away it was and that there was little to no parking. Once I got inside and checked in I noticed that the elegant bar/lounge that was advertised on the hotel's website was closed for renovations, something they could have explained on the website. Once I got in my room I was so disappointed, it looked absolutely nothing like the pics they posted on their website. The sheets and pillowcases were dirty and the room was cramped and tight. I would definitely not recommend anyone to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is a just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overnight Trip
Business
Australia
Jun 10, 2014

One Person

Exactly what I needed, it's small, clean, accessible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edouardo
Business
France
Jun 1, 2014

Good value for money

We spent one night in this hotel while transiting through Honolulu. Location in Waikiki is good. Restaurants around. Could print free of charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alyssa Licon
Business
California
May 12, 2014

Wedding/honeymoon

very accommodating good size room with a balcony you could see the beach,staff was extremely friendly & helpful.known us by name by 2nd day.went for vacation /wedding and would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International market..little vendors and shops really good for those take home memories & souvenirs. But do get a car..island worth the drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top