$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
89 reviews
Wedding/honeymoon

very accommodating good size room with a balcony you could see the beach,staff was extremely... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • May 12, 2014
Vacation at last

First time to Hawaii & I stayed at the hotel for my vacation & wedding,honeymoon & right from the... See full review

  • Alyssa Licon
  • Oct 27, 2013
Stay Waikiki - Only Boutique Hotel in Waikiki on a Budget

Stay Waikiki is a uniquely affordable boutique hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Created with the savvy modern traveler in mind. Located just one short block from the sands of Waikiki Beach and steps away from world class dining and shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, Stay Waikiki offers the ideal launch pad for the perfect vacation.

Stay Waikiki offers contemporary guest rooms that are brightly decorated with vibrant colors and chic decors that are just as exciting as the destination Waikiki. All guest rooms are non-smoking and offer free WiFi internet access. Choose from spacious deluxe Queen rooms with sofa beds or share a cozy bunk bedroom.

Extra rollaway bed in the Deluxe Queen with Sofabed room at the Stay Hotel Waikiki is subject to USD $20 per day. Only one roll away is allowed per room.

There is limited onsite parking availability at the Stay Hotel Waikiki. The daily fee is USD $25 per day per vehicle.

Hotel Map

21.2761 -157.8246
Area served
The hotel is located in Waikiki, city of Honolulu on the island of Oahu.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport (HNL)
Area description
Stay Waikiki is located a block from the sands of Waikiki Beach on the island of Oahu, and the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center. It's walking distance (10-15 minutes walk) to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Beach Park, Waikiki Aquarium and International Marketplace.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Stay Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Bunkbed room with twin beds
This unique guest room is about 105 square feet and features twin-size bunk beds, 32-inch LCD TV, inviting balcony with patio furniture, iPod docking station, hairdryer in the bathroom, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Deluxe Queen with Sofabed
Spacious room provides a Queen bed along with a twin sofabed , 32-inch LCD TV, iPod docking station, hair dryer in the bathroom and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Two Twin Beds
This contemporary guest room features 2 twin beds, a 32-inch LCD TV, a hairdryer in the bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 square feet.
Boutique Queen room
This brightly decorated guest room features a queen-size bed, 32-inch LCD TV, hair dryer in bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 to 175 square feet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.8 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.3 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Shor American Seafood Grill
Located across from the STAY Waikiki at the Hyatt Waikiki, this restaurant offers contemporary American seafood and grill on Waikiki Beach.
Makino Chaya Makitti Hawaii
All you can eat buffet, from sushi to seafood.Located a couple of blocks from the hotel, the Makitti is opened for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alyssa Licon
Business
California
Oct 27, 2013

Vacation at last

First time to Hawaii & I stayed at the hotel for my vacation & wedding,honeymoon & right from the start the staff was so friendly .you could see the beach from our room & the room was nice like a little apartment,coffee on the balcony was nice.i I ate at the restaurants/bar on the first floor & the food was really good(try the cat wraps) named after Catherine not the actually animal haha. I tried some of the other hotels restaurants & bars and they just were not friendly they just want the tip.but here at the stay hotel they'll chat with you like an old friend & make you feel like family here.if you do stay here you must chat with these staff members especially : Phyllis & jasmine (reception) and dave & john(bartenders).they asked how our day was and I swear it felt like the episodes of cheers cause they know you by name.There helpful with not just the tourist stuff but also the local stuff,the best places to see. I plan on staying here when I come back.i could go on but I've written enough...just go & stay at they stay hotel waikiki!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do rent a car the sights are amazing,on the weekend the swap meat is good,ask ask ask the locals!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
paul55555
Business
coquitlam
Oct 18, 2013

I don't think it's a 3 stars hotel; don't STAY here

My room was on 3rd Floor It's an old building transformed in a hotel. Really noisy-buses, delivery trucks, etc.-Room really small with no windows. No coffee/tea maker in the room, no cartoons for the kids after 5pm, only adult content cartoon channel. The closet was small and smelly. The bathroom small and no brush for the toilet. So leave you girlfriend home or buy some gloves. Same frozen food for breakfast. Also available internet that is not working. Please consider paying $20 extra anywhere else and enjoy you escape. All they have are some good photoshopped pics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Parasailing. look for coupons. you will get 50% deals

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC Vagrant
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Oct 12, 2013

good value for what you get

Close to the beach. I wish the $10 amenities was just built into the price instead of tacked on. Wi-Fi is very spotty, hard to get a single depending on the room you are in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check our the Elvis statue down the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shortee
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 4, 2013

nice trip

The room I had was kind a small, but there was only 3 of us. It's just a short walk to the beach. An there is a ABC Store right at the corner. It wasn't bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beachycowgirl
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Sep 27, 2013

Clean, Simple, Comfortable and convenient

My room was spacious and clean. My lanai had a little view out to the ocean. It is close to everything and my bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The ABC stores have everything you need if you have forgotten something, need a little something to take home, or snacks for the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
da realist
Business
Honolulu, hi.
Sep 25, 2013

small,jail like hotel

Only had bunk beds n was very small Never even had refrigerator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Staycationer Ry
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 24, 2013

Budget Stay with Caveats

As this is clearly budget accomodations, I booked this hotel with lowered expectations. Despite this, there were a number of things that bothered me about this hotel: - $10 mandatory ammenities fee (did not see mention in listing) - $100 hold (I get why, but having to wait behind other guests whose credit gets rejected due to additional fee is inconvenient) - Key cards were not working and issued physical key did not work on room; required room change - Lack of room furnishings; no chairs, fridge (avail upon request, limited), microwave, coffee maker - Air conditioner position was aimed directly at bed (face) and vent adjustments were broken. - Single elevator (very slow) - Parking access ($20/day, inconvenient entry/exit; tight quarters; limited stalls) - There was a man seated in the lobby chairs when I checked in. He remained there through the night and was still there when I checked out the next day. However the room was clean and the bathroom servicable. We were able to get a good night's rest here despite the inconveniences. The tradeoff in costs might be appealing to some. I personally would rather spend more for the lacking comforts and would avoid this hotel for future stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daredev
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 29, 2013

Great Hotel For The Price

For the price it was a great deal here is what to expect: So we get to Waikiki and there is 0 parking anywhere at 1am when our flight gets in. We rented a car using orbtiz package so we needed to have a place to park it but the hotel only has 16 spots in their garage. I thought this was weird because there is like 9 floors on the hotel which means lots and lots of people. Apparently, no one really enjoys Hawaii but likes to stay in their room or around the Waikiki area without a car so there is most likely going to be a spot available for you. If there is not then you will have to go on a waiting list. Once a spot opens up you can use it till the end of your stay. When we got there the lady had us run around trying to find parking, apparently it was her first day and luckily for us when we came back to ask again where this mystical parking area was there was a new front desk lady which gave us a spot in their garage for free that night for the trouble and we were able to keep that spot for the duration of the vacation. All the parking in the area costs money so be prepared to pay. Sometimes renting a motorcycle is a good deal to save some money on parking and enjoy the island but in this case there wasn't a discount on motorcycle parking like most hotels. Don't be surprised if you see a cockroach or two. They are quite small and you will see them EVERYWHERE on the island. On hikes, in restaurants, running towards you on the streets. Other than the unavoidable issue the room was very clean, bed was comfortable, and the customer service overall was good and welcoming. For the amenities the Wi-Fi was super super super slow at times making your 4G just a better option. TV's were nice but only had 3 channels and the PlayStation they noted they had was only a PS2 and they said they were changing companies so they didn't have a single one which was a little disappointing as they make very nice DVD players for all the DVD kiosks around Honolulu if you don't like going out and blowing all your money at night. Lastly, the breakfast consists of cereal, toast, pastries, juice, and coffee. So don't expect anything other than simple carbs and sugar. Overall, compared to the outrageous prices of the hotels in the area this one was very cheap and very good for the price. Would I stay there again? Yes, unless I wanted to spend $500 a night elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our regular meals consisted of a place called The Food Pantry which had a deal for $7.99. This includes either chicken or beef with 2 giant scoops of brown or white rice and a nice little green salad made of real lettuce not the ice berg junk. Taco Tuesday at Dave and Busters is a short drive and there is theater right by there. If you are under 25 rent a motorcycle at the Harley Dealership located 60 seconds from the airport. It ends up being almost the same price as a rental car, you are able to actually get spots at all the beaches in Oahu. Without a bike you usually need to drive around in endless circles till a spot opens up, park illegally and very quickly get a ticket (these guys are good), or park incredibly far away. Also hotel parking is cheaper except at the Stay Waikiki resort. Oh yes I almost forgot. Eggs And Things $12 for huge, heavy plate of omelets. Completely stuffed and with a side of pan cakes! Great deal for the area and one street away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lance S
Business
West Hollywood, CA
Jul 23, 2013

overall nice hotel

The room was small and didn't have much natural light /ventilation but was otherwise quite comfortable. The staff was very nice and we did have wifi and continental breakfast. The hotel supplies beach mats, boogieboards etc. on a first come first serve basis. They also offered free dvd rentals but most movies were unavailable/already checked out. My main complaint is this is a hotel that charges a mandatory amenity fee. I much prefer a hotel to be upfront about it's total costs in the rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hannah B
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 1, 2013

Unexpected need

Got to Hawaii, and found the need to obtain hotel ASAP, Stay hotel was just a block away from beach, clean, comfortable, and quiet. Great value for someone on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gotta eat at Cheeseburgers in Paradise!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top