$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Stay Hotel Waikiki

3 stars
View map of 2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
113 reviews
Great Waikiki Hotel

STAY HOTEL is a great place to, well, STAY when vistiing Waikiki. The location is superb and the... See full review

  • Leon L.
  • Mar 12, 2015
Nice and comfortable hotel

I am a local resident and decided just to get away for the weekend and relax. This hotel pick was... See full review

  • P96707
  • Jan 25, 2015
Stay Waikiki - Only Boutique Hotel in Waikiki on a Budget

Stay Waikiki is a uniquely affordable boutique hotel in the heart of Waikiki. Created with the savvy modern traveler in mind. Located just one short block from the sands of Waikiki Beach and steps away from world class dining and shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, Stay Waikiki offers the ideal launch pad for the perfect vacation.

Stay Waikiki offers contemporary guest rooms that are brightly decorated with vibrant colors and chic decors that are just as exciting as the destination Waikiki. All guest rooms are non-smoking and offer free WiFi internet access. Choose from spacious deluxe Queen rooms with sofa beds or share a cozy bunk bedroom.

Extra rollaway bed in the Deluxe Queen with Sofabed room at the Stay Hotel Waikiki is subject to USD $20 per day. Only one roll away is allowed per room.

There is limited onsite parking availability at the Stay Hotel Waikiki. The daily fee is USD $25 per day per vehicle.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Stay Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Stay Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Boutique Queen room
This brightly decorated guest room features a queen-size bed, 32-inch LCD TV, hair dryer in bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 to 175 square feet.
Deluxe Queen with Sofabed
Spacious room provides a Queen bed along with a twin sofabed , 32-inch LCD TV, iPod docking station, hair dryer in the bathroom and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking.
Two Twin Beds
This contemporary guest room features 2 twin beds, a 32-inch LCD TV, a hairdryer in the bathroom, iPod docking station, and free WiFi internet access. Non-smoking. 125 square feet.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.7 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.5 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.9 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.1 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.1 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.4 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.4 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.4 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.7 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.8 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.3 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.2 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.6 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.7 mi

Dining

Shor American Seafood Grill
Located across from the STAY Waikiki at the Hyatt Waikiki, this restaurant offers contemporary American seafood and grill on Waikiki Beach.
Makino Chaya Makitti Hawaii
All you can eat buffet, from sushi to seafood.Located a couple of blocks from the hotel, the Makitti is opened for lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Stay Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
norberta
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 21, 2012

Excellent location

This hotel was excellent in almost every way. The room was clean and comfortable. The desk staff were always upbeat and very helpful. A small refrigerator in the room would have helped. Stay on the 5th floor or higher to have a balcony. We ate many dinners on the balcony. Free use of the computers and free printing was helpful. Location is less than a city block from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great variety of inexpensive and medium priced food locations, and 2 good coffee shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jose C.
Business
N/A
Apr 9, 2015

Family wedding trip

It's my first night and I am up at 6 am cause they are picking up garbage every ten min I am not able to wake up walk outside and see the beach. I am very unhappy with the choice I made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frederick
Business
San Jose
Apr 6, 2015

Great Location, Not good Value

For the price paid, it hardly seems a good value since the room is more like a private room at a hostel, than a real hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elizabeth H.
Business
Anchorage
Mar 15, 2015

Good for the Price

The staff was friendly and the room was clean, however there was nothing that really stood out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leon L.
Business
Glen Allen
Mar 12, 2015

Great Waikiki Hotel

STAY HOTEL is a great place to, well, STAY when vistiing Waikiki. The location is superb and the hotel spares you a lot of the extra expenses incurred at a lot of other mid range local hotels. This is NOT the Sheraton or anything like it - so if you're expectations are in line with reality you'll enjoy your experience here. I travel to HI regularly and have had much less pleasant experiences at equally priced hotels in the area. If you're going to HI you should be spending your times outdoors - so where you stay should be of minimal important, but STAY will definitely meet and exceed your expectations for the price! ALSO - it's the home of the best bar in Waikiki, Wang Chung's! Karaoke with a pleasant atmosphere, incredible staff, and great food. This is a well known locals spot to escape from the tourist mentality so prevalent in the area. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catherine N.
Business
Arlington
Mar 1, 2015

Great budget hotel near beach

The location is outstanding! The price was reasonable, given the location. The rooms were larger than I expected, there was plenty of space for my bags. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even when my reservations were compex. ( I added a day and just made a second reservation, rather than trying to change my existing resercation. They had everything ready for me for both reservations when I arrived.) be aware there is only limited parking below the hotel and it cost an additional $25 per day. But that seemed standard for the budget hotels around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lance S
Business
west hollywood
Feb 4, 2015

convenient hotel

This hotel was in a nice location and reasonably priced but they had a mandatory amenity fee which I really dislike. They had some ok beach equipment and supplies that you could take to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
THanson
Business
Princeville
Feb 4, 2015

A Bad Decision...

What a bad decision was to "stay" at Stay. I honestly don't know where to start so I will bullet some stuff and let you figure out the rest if you dare stay here for some reason: The Good (there's always something): *Location *Free WiFi *Water Pressure *The Shampoo and Lotion *Bed linens and towels were clean *All lightbulbs worked *The staff is borderline pleasant but does nothing to acknowledge you or inquire on how your room or stay is, not even at checkout but that's probably because they are afraid of the answer so why bother. *The price even though still deceiving! I can't imagine trying to write a review if I had payed full price. The Bad: *If you look at their website, imagery is not reflective of the facilities...those pictures are like a science fiction movie so do not expect your room to look as nice. *Although the linens and towels were clean, the rest of the room didn't feel properly clean. Dirty windows, rusted drapes, there was hair in the bathroom wall and old dirt above the bathroom tile. *Furniture in disrepair *Paper thin pillows *Waking up to the sound of the trash trucks in the morning and the beeping of deliveries to nearby businesses as early as 530am due to lack of proper windows. Appreciated even though not used: *Continental breakfast (people seemed to enjoy but then again most would go for the free stuff and appear to be happy with it just because is free) There is a karaoke establishment in the lobby that didn't bother me, however if there is going to be such establishment in the lobby management should look at ways to monitor the elevator which anyone can get to at anytime, no questions asked. I guess I appreciate receiving an email from the General Manager overnight on departure date asking for feedback. However and especially given the condition of this hotel, I would suggest you are more visible in your operation, introduce yourself to people, see what your staff is doing or not doing. Maybe instead of sitting at the desk all day doing nothing they can help you compose an inspection sheet that addresses your most common and fixable complaints that don't require "renovating". Why leave it up to your paying guests to tell you at the end of their stay what they thought and then apologize saying the hotel will be refurbished and that you wish we told you while we were there to see what you could do? Perhaps you need to start walking the rooms and corridors of your hotel and addressing the simple things that can truly make a difference. See that the rooms are properly cleaned, that maintenance is looking at shower heads that fall when you turn on the water to prevent this to happen to a guest like it happened to me. This questions may remain unanswered, and constructive suggestions and feedback ignored but in the end I've done my part, paid for my stay and given you the feedback you requested.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay somewhere else. Please note that this form should not ask, nor require an answer about what type of traveler you would recommend this hotel to if you've answered the "would you recommend to a friend" question above as "no".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P96707
Business
kapolei
Jan 25, 2015

Nice and comfortable hotel

I am a local resident and decided just to get away for the weekend and relax. This hotel pick was great. Very clean, nice staff and huge pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tarlovcyst gal
Business
ST George
Jan 20, 2015

Short stay in Honolulu

Hotel is not a 5 star hotel but it was very clean, great location, friendly staff and great bang for your buck! We needed a short term hotel in order to spend a few days on Oahua beforehand Going on to the Big Island. This property fit the bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Stay Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aliceb
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Hidden fees for sure.

When you first check in they charge an extra 100$ for some fee that is no where on the website. Parking is 25$ a night... But there lot can only hold like five cars so you have to go to a parking lot like six blocks away and pay 30$ a night. Then thwy have a fee when you check out that is different than the one stated on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If it was cheap it would be nice... Because it's a cheap hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top