$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Sheraton Waikiki

4 stars
View map of 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Waikiki

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GenaKelli1025
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 23, 2012

hawaii trip

We had a great trip to Oahu and especially during our stay at the Sheraton Waikiki. The hotel staff were great and it was great to spend our days at the beautiful infinity pool. Awesome experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RDBL
Friends
San Luis Obispo, CA, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Yearly vacation

Location couldn't be any better. Loved the infinity pool. I think it would be even more amazing if rum fire stayed open past midnight! Shopping downstairs was very convenient. Wouldn't stay anywhere else for next stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake factory! You'll love the experience if you haven't tried one yet!

Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phoenix
Apr 2, 2012

Good, could be better

We choose this hotel since our usual one, in the same price class and location, was under renovation. The check-in process was miserable: a very long line, around 20 minutes, with no greeting, apology, or anything of the sort. (At our usual hotel, there is no wait and you are seated at a nice desk for check in.) The process of finding a room took 10 minutes of furious typing and scrutinizing, making us wonder what sort of antiquated software the hotel was using, if it was that complicated to find a vacant room in our price range. We did end up with a "mountain view" room which had an excellent partial ocean view, including the sunset in the water. Catching an elevator is almost comical, since there is a bank of ten elevators laid out in a circle, and one button in the middle of the lobby/floor. My husband and I had a strategy: each of us would wait on one side and try to catch the elevator in the brief moment the doors opened and then shut quickly. We witnessed an elderly woman running for the elevator and having it close in her face. On the second day, our room was not serviced and we called at 4 pm (calling from our cell phone since our room phone was out of service), at which time they sent someone to clean. The manager asked us what time we wanted our room serviced the next day and we said 11 am, and by 1 pm it still hadn't been cleaned. Having said all this, the facilities and location are nice, the views are spectacular and the staff is courteous, when you can get them. It just left us wanting a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Rum Fire bar was really lovely just after sunset. They had great live music and good drinks. Highly recommended! Also, don't forget to walk down the beach to Duke's for a cheeseburger.

Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PugMom
Couples
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Honeymoon disappointment!

We spent a week at this hotel for our honeymoon. We got a room with a view of the roof! Our upstairs neighbors put their underwear on their balcony (we didn't have one), so then we had a view of their underwear on the roof! When we checked in, I told the clerk that we were on our honeymoon. They offered us a room on the smoking floor with a balcony, we declined. I was not impressed and would not return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tiredxoxoxoxo
Family
US
Mar 25, 2012

On the beach

OK, need to sort guests based on country of origin so guests from the west who turn out to be night owls and not next to guests from the east who are in bed by 9:00PM but start their day early as rooms are not very sound proof.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buz B
Couples
Starkville, MS 39759, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Sheraton Waikiki

Everything was great except our room was not a mountain view of Diamond Head, which we thought and paid more for. It was a view of the mountains behind the city (mostly city) which the city view rooms were cheaper. Also, we requested a king size bed and got two double beds. The hotel said they were full and couldn't change us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lewer's street and Kuhio street have a good variety of affordable resturants withing walking distance from the Sheraton. Check out Arancino's.

Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KAlexJ
Couples
Redding, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Great Stay!

The Sheraton Waikiki was the perfect hotel for our vacation. It was our first vacation alone since having two children, so what was really important was location and the pool. The location couldn't be better; it's right on the ocean and very close to many amazing restaurants. The hotel has two pools, one family oriented, and one that was limited to those over 16. The infinity pool was beautiful and staff working the pool area great. As a matter of fact, we only encountered very friendly, helpful staff, they all went out of their way to help when we had any question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Rent a cabana! If you're concerned about relaxing on vacation, take some stress out of it buy reserving a cabana for each day of your stay. They're reasonably priced and you don't have to hussle down to get a spot, your spot is there when you get there. Perfect.

Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ziggie
Couples
Huntington, WV, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Fantastic Winter getaway

Great getaway. Staff very helpful. Rooms very cleane w/anything you could want. Location was perfect. Hotel staff very understanding w/ck out time was able to leave luggage w/bell hop and speed rest of day by the pool enjoying those few hours of awesomeness then was given a room to shower and clean up before catching our flight. Would recommened this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try local dining any type of food within walking distance.

Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sun starved in Seattle
Couples
Seattle area
Feb 19, 2012

Never again

The good news first. Location is excellent if you want to be right in the middle of the action on Waikiki Beach. Walking distance to many restaurants and bars. Overall the hotel is clean and modern. Our partial ocean view was actually a pretty decent partial ocean view room, on the Diamond Head side, where you want to be. Room was on the smallish side, and was right above an outside smoking area where hordes of young Asians gathered to smoke and talk very loudly. Staff promised me they'd leave us on the Diamond Head side of the hotel if we desired a move, but when I got down to the front desk to get our new room key, I was told that the clerk had mis-spoke and that wasn't possible. NOT what a traveler wants to hear. Also requested a one-hour delay checking out of the room, and was told that wasn't possible. Oh, and did I mention you have to pay for prime sun lounges, and we actually witnessed a very nasty battle over the ridiculous practice of reserving a pool side lounge early with a towel, which some people come down to do at 6am? That needs to be banned, and I'm sorry Sheraton, but when you're paying prime dollar to stay at the hotel, ALL the sun lounges should be part of the package. We had never stayed on Waikiki before, and will never again, as it's insanely crowded, noisy, and expensive. Live and learn. And we won't be staying at a Sheraton property again after this. Trip was saved by nice weather, many trips to Duke's, and some sailing with good friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pickymama
Family
berkeley
Feb 9, 2012

Prime Waikiki location

Hotel is in prime location of Waikiki. Love the WIFI, computer access, pool and pool tables. Staff was a little inconsistent with basic hotel information. Double beds are too small, wish they were queens. For the amount you are paying, room decor should be nicer. The property makes up for the minimalistic rooms. Buffet breakfast is pricey but delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top