$355 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 25, 2014

Sheraton Waikiki

4 stars
2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
331 reviews
Best location and fantastic pool

Direct access to the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center for all late night shopping needs.The infinity... See full review

  • Rivers0822
  • Oct 19, 2014
Great View

The staff up graded us to a deluxe ocean view, couldn't ask for a better view of Diamond Head. See full review

  • Douglas E
  • Oct 21, 2014
The towering, gleaming Sheraton Waikiki Suites lets you savor so much of what makes Oahu special. It's a centrally-located resort where guests snorkel, encounter dolphins, and admire sunsets with Mai Tais in hand. Pamper yourself with spa treatments and poolside massages. This resort is not only perfect for vacations, it's also an ideal place for wedding receptions, business meetings and other functions. In fact, it has the largest ballroom of any Oahu hotel.
Key facts
  • 1,508 guestrooms
  • 128 suites
  • 31 floors
  • 20 meeting rooms
  • 3 restaurants
  • Bar
  • Pool
  • Internet access in all rooms (fees may apply)
  • In-room video check-outs available
Neighborhood
The Sheraton Waikiki Suites is situated beside gorgeous Waikiki Beach for surfing and relaxing, and many other attractions are nearby. The small but compelling Father Damien Museum, which commemorates a man who gave his life to treat Hawaiians with leprosy, charges no admission fee and is virtually next door. The U.S. Army Museum of Hawaii is just down the street, and the extremely popular Ala Wai Golf Course is only a mile away.
Hints and tips
The massive Helumoa Pool swimming facility is actually a network of connected pools, and resort grounds also include a volleyball court, a tall water slide, two whirlpools and prime views of Waikiki Beach.

Guests can view cooking demonstrations, take ukulele lessons and sign up for historical tours of Waikiki.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2778 -157.8293
Area served
Adjacent to luxury shopping at Royal Hawaiian Center, and 4 miles from downtown Honolulu, Sheraton Waikiki is only steps away from an intimate stretch of Waikiki Beach--2 miles of golden sand and great swimming.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton Waikiki Rooms

Sunsational Savings
Book a minimum 3 night stay in a Sunsational Savings rate category now and receive complimentary 3rd night for stays between January 8, 2011 and January 2, 2012 - Daily Buffet Breakfast for 2 - Complimentary Category Upgrades where indicated when booking. (Based on availability and blackout dates and are subject to change without notice. Other restrictions may apply.)
Room Description
The iconic Sheraton Waikiki Resort has 31 floors overlooking beautiful Waikiki Beach. Each of the 1,636 air-conditioned rooms has been newly renovated with warm island decor enhanced by our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds, five down-and-feather pillows, and duvets.
Room Categories
Choose between City View, Mountain View, Partial Ocean View, Ocean View, Ocean Front Room, Deluxe Ocean Front, Large Luxury Ocean, and ADA Room categories.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.6 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.4 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.6 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.7 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.1 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.6 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.1 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.3 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.8 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9.9 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Kai Market
Inspired by Hawaii's Plantation Era dinner table which served as a gathering place for many different cultures we have created Kai Market. Chef Darren Demaya highlights local ingredients throughout his menu as he takes diners on a culinary tour of Hawaii. Serving breakfast from 6:00am-10:00am and Dinner from 5:00pm-9:30pm daily.
Ingredients
Ingredients (some assembly required) a new, innovative restaurant concept which combines made-to-order gourmet meals with fresh, healthy ingredients in a causal grab and go atmosphere. Fresh, healthy, delicious and fast Open from 6:30am-10:00pm daily
Edge of Waikiki
The Edge of Waikiki, a twist on the classic pool bar, is the perfect place for guests to relax, refresh and recharge during the day and enjoy Hawaiian entertainment in the evening. Fresh, delicious food and exotic cocktails served with the best view in Waikiki. Open from 10:00am-8:30pm daily.
Leahi Club Lounge
Our brand new Leahi Club Lounge on the 3oth floor offers enhanced breakfast and evening appetizer service. Guest booked in a Club Room Category have access to our upscale lounge.
RumFire
RumFire combines the country's largest selection of vintage rums, innovative "bahawaiian" tapas, daily entertainment and fire pits to create the hottest night scene on Waikiki Beach. Find out why RumFire was named best new restaurant in 2008. Open from 11:30am-midnight daily.
Yoshiya
Take a culinary journey to Japan and enjoy a sensational sushi bar, an elegant tatami room, and the serene tea ceremony featuring live music with traditional instruments. With a bi-lingual staff, beautiful surroundings, and an expansive menu, Yoshiya is an experience that is not to be missed!
In-Room Dining
Menu available for breakfast served from 6:00AM-11:00AM and dinner from 5:00AM-10:00PM.
Stay at One, Dine at All!
When you stay at any one of the four Starwood properties in Waikiki, you have privileges to charge meals at the other three to your room. That's flexibility you won't find elsewhere. That's Starwood Hawaii!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We welcome you to experience the Sheraton Waikiki Resort and our International Conference Center of the Pacific. Our expansive meeting facilities offer the latest in technology, as well as upscale sophistication in an environment that ignites the senses of your guests and attendees. Featuring the best culinary experience in the islands, our talented staff is committed to delivering a unique and memorable event that is distinctly Hawaiian.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (331)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Waikiki

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrZielke
Business
Austin, MN
Mar 14, 2011

Luxury at its finest!

The Sheraton Waikiki is located perfectly on beautiful Waikiki Beach. It is within walking distance of just about anything you would want or want to do. It provides breathtaking views and the infinity pool is amazing! The service is unbeatable and the people are so friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would rent a car to avoid taking tours on buses. Even though they are very easily accessible, it is much more fun to go and come when you want!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 12, 2011

The Best!

We had a great time! Best location in Hawaii and great staff! We'll definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArtB
Business
Rochester, NY
Mar 8, 2011

Many good features, but . . .

We had requested a king size bed with ocean view. The first room had double beds and partial ocean view and was on one of the lower floors. [...] we subsequently were moved by hotel staff to a better room with full ocean view and king size bed. The hotel management was very helpful in this regard. We were at the hotel mainly for relaxing and swimming, but found the main pool completely taken over by a large company (Hewlett Packard) for a marketing event. We had no access to the main pool for the entire week we were there, and no access to one of the main restaurants, also reserved for the company.All menus, information, and notices were in English and Japanese, and Japanese represented an estimated 40 to 60 percent of guests while we were there. We found the Japanese restaurant in the hotel was unusually good, and while some might think it expensive, we think it was a very good deal when compared with similarly high quality Japanese restaurants we've visited elsewhere in the U.S. The service was friendly and the food preparation was elegant. Many Japanese families with children regularly ate there, and I suspect the prices were much lower than for similar restaurants in Tokyo.The breakfast buffet, included in the price of the room and resort fee, was exceptionally good, with a variety of foods that would satisfy American, Japanese, Korean, and Chinese expectations. However, we would suggest that guests take other meals outside the hotel, where prices are lower.The beach is okay, but at the moment there is a continuing loss of sand. I noticed that break walls are placed perpendicular to the shoreline and are not particularly effective. There were many other beach areas that were much better elsewhere on Waikiki and also on other parts of Oahu.The room was fairly clean, though the bedding and towels at times were a bit worn. A top hotel, we thought, should do a better job in this area. We liked the fact that car parking for guests was free, as long as one did not use the valet service.This is an older hotel, undergoing continuing renovation. On the last night we were there, a particularly strong storm came up, and the wind literally howled through the door opening to the balcony. A newer installation would have overcome this problem. At the main pool area directly below our room, they had continuing entertainment in the evening. The sound was somewhat objectionable if you were interested in sleeping before 10 pm.All in all, this was a good experience, except for the initially undesirable room accommodation and the inconvenience of having major hotel facilities unavailable to average guests. We would suggest that all guests enquire beforehand whether the hotel will be given over to large groups, as this certainly reduces the value of the remaining accommodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Ala Moana shopping center is the largest open air shopping center in the world. Combined with nearby shops in easy walking distance from the hotel, it provides the best shopping at world famous stores. About the only thing you could not purchase would be a fur coat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Mar 7, 2011

not worth the money

We've been to Waikiki several times on vacation. On our last trip, we stayed at the recently remodeled Outrigger (above Duke's) and not only was the partial ocean view MUCH better, the rooms were newly remodeled, and the staff gave us excellent service. On the other hand, the Sheraton staff service was mediocre, the room was not remodeled well, the view was more city view than partial ocean view. I wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fargo, ND
Mar 6, 2011

Beautiful Views

The Sheraton Waikiki is a great hotel with great views on Waikiki and the beautiful ocean. The staff, location, and room cleaniness were wonderful. One downside of the beach is that it is very crowded with all the guests from all the other hotels. If you want a good spot on the beach or by the pool, you must get out there early. Dining and shopping are all around the hotel, which is very convenient. If you want to do any activities that aren't around the Waikiki areas - most will have transportation that will pick you up for free. I highly suggest to rent a car for a day and drive around the whole island - great views and fun to watch the surfers on the North Shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To beat the crowds at dinner time around Waikiki, we suggest to eat a little earlier. Not only will you get seated right away, but most of their specials and happy hour are during the 3-6pm time frame. Mai Tai's are a lot cheaper :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los angeles ca
Mar 6, 2011

Sheraton : A hotel full of conventions

It is a nice hotel. But if you are not part of a convention you will treated like a second class citizen. Parts of the hotel was blocked off for DAYS if you were not part of a group. This included the main pool. Yes. The Main pool. Basically come to the hotel but dont use the pool. The beach was close by though and nice. You are close to downtown waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scooter 1970
Business
Wasilla AK
Mar 1, 2011

Great location and kids loved the pool!

We had surf lessons, loved hanging at all pools, eating at Ingredients, fun coconut decorating for the kids, saw the Chinese dragon in the lobby, everyone was very accommodating, live music in Rum Fire! Only complaint would be room service is outrageous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's around the corner of Don Ho street. Real inexpensive specials

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duluth Family of Four
Business
Duluth, MN
Feb 28, 2011

Great Location!

The Sheraton Waikiki is located in the heart of Waikiki Beach. We loved being so close to the beach, tour pick-up locations and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a few blocks of the hotel there is a wide variety of great resturants to eat a meal and at any price you want to spend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Feb 28, 2011

Nice place!

The renovation was very nice, especially the new adult only infinity edge pool. It was a little hard to find two lounge chairs together, but with a little patience, some always opened up. The breakfast included in our package was nice. It was very expensive if paid for separately. Everthing to do in town is a short walk and many tour busses and trolleys come right to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining and nightlife were all very close to this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 22, 2011

Waikiki is fun and expensive

Sheraton Waikiki is in a great location. We had ocean view which faced Diamond Head. The view was awesome. The room on the other hand was lacking. The rooms reminded us of the rooms in the Caribbean, very blah. Not Sheraton quality nor the quality we paid for, however the beds were comfortable. The pool is the best pool in Waikiki. In fact other hotel guests were always trying to sneak into it, but the band system seem to help. The only problem with pool is seating/chairs are limited. Guest would wake up between 7-830am to go reserve spots, even though there is a sign for no reserving spots. That rule is definitely not enforced, and with the high volume of guests, it needs to be enforced to give everyone a better experience. All in all, we would stay there again. It was a good experience overall, however we would also consider staying at the other Sheraton or another hotel that is one street off the beach to get a much better price. We paid for location and Sheraton Waikiki delivered, just not sure that location was the most important. No hotel owns any of the beach, it is all public. Not to mention Sheraton Waikiki is built to the waters edge, so you have to walk down to the sides of the hotel to find beach. Kind of a shame that they built so close to the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating in Waikiki area can become very expensive. We spent near $120 on breakfast and lunch on our first day. We quickly found out that ABC stores, which are everywhere in Waikiki are great ways to eat breakfast and lunch cheaply (e.g. fruit, muffins, juice, coffee, sandwiches, etc) then spend the big bucks at great restaurants (e.g. Roy's is amazing). Also, they sell alcohol at normal prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top