$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

3 stars
View map of 120 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
411 out of 411
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J. Miller
Business
Medina, OH 44256, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Pretty good for the price

Everything was good. Clean room, food, staff was excellent Great Christmas spirit with lots to do. Only one block from Waikiki beach. Only draw back was the room with a Queen size bed was really small. Had to walk over our luggage but, the price was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything you want, Ruth Chris Steak house, Roy's fine dinning, Nobu Japanese dining, P F Changs, & Dukes. All are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KayM
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 16, 2012

Sherton Princess Kaiulani - suggestion

We stayed in the oceanview room for 2 weeks in January 2009 and because we love the hotel location and accomodation we booked again in December (27 to 30) and Jan. (7 to 12) a a standard room as which staring price was $90 US and I booked more better room for $99 US and the room was kind small with double short bed, with obscured view and I asked to change our room to the kings size bed and of course this room was a much bigger with nice mountain view . My suggestion is if the Oribtz agent books with the hotel with kings size bed room for recieving biger room for clients or inform the hotel that client paid addional $ for better room in the standard categories . Also the daily resort price is $12.75 is little too high.T The Sheraton Princess Kaluani should not charge every hotel room $12.75 for using their resort as many guests only sleep there and the guest should onlhy pay the resort fees per day not per night. there. On Dec. 27 we arrieved to Princess Kaulauni after 9:00 p.m. and stayed to Dec. 30 we were changed for 4 days for resort fees and the resort fees were changed to $15.00 US instead $12 US due to Christmas Holidays. We spoke to the hotel Manager Guests Desk and after all we endeded up paying for 3 days at rate of $12 US for the resort as was booked in May 2011. The supply of coffee/coffee's cream was limited (one per guest) and we usually use 2 creams per coffee. We always were asked the cleaning lady to leave for us more. The last night - January 11 the cleaning lady left for us one coffee and one cream. In 2009 the hotel service, rooms supplies was excellent. This time, we noticed the hotel little dirty and it seems the elevators and bathrooms needs renovation. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adventurous Traveler
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Washrooms are old

The location was great. Very central if you like Waikiki beach. Concierge was very helpful and friendly as expected. Room was alright. However, the hallway was noisy in the morning from other guests leaving as well as the cleaning staff calling out for room service. Washrooms are old looking. The cleaning staff do a very quick job sometimes forgetting to replace items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Oahu visitor
Business
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Hawaii introduction to sister in law

This hotel needs updating, I have stayed twice and this time they charged a resort fee, which as far as I am concerned was ridiculous. Had a discussion at registration about this and was told if we would like to give up our two double beds (which was scheduled) and take a king instead they would wave the resort fee, should this be up for trade? If you are staying at a hotel they should not be nickel and diming you with charges to receive something, such as daily water or internet services, it is a continuation of airline charges, i.e. how can you fly without a bag? They do not offer an ala carte breakfast, there is no hook on the back of the bathroom door (how difficult would that be to install) and the hot water could not be adjusted, trying to do so made the knob fall off. The maid told us if we put up the "do not disturb sign" and she didn't service us she would not be paid that day! Our key card did not work 3 times and they had to send maintenance up to check it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping and attractions are all close, the hotel is in a great location, across the street from Dukes and next door to The International Market Place. A short walk to all amenities and a good pick up for tours. The location of this hotel is the biggest plus!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DarrenRUNS
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Aug 14, 2012

Great location, moderate comfort

The location of this hotel is ideal; directly in the heart of Waikiki among the other hotels. The pool is somewhat small given the number of rooms. The quality of my room was satisfactory at best; specifically, the bathroom required some updating. There is ample parking, but getting from the garage (where there isn't an elevator) to the hotel lobby is tough. The hotel advertises towel and chair service at the beach, but both must be carried there (across the street) by guests. Overall, the value is pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mister Chen
Business
Arcadia, California
Aug 17, 2012

Perfect Location

The location is perfect because it's right next to the International Market Place and across the street from the beach. The only thing that slightly bothered me was the cleanliness. There was dust behind the counters and on the bottom edges of the mattress. The water pressure is low, so it took quite a while to take a shower. Our coffee, sugar, and cream was not refilled everyday, but these are the only problems. If these things don't bother you much, it's a great place to stay because of it's location and daily parking ease if you're renting a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Market Place is just right next door, although it does get a little loud in the evening if you're staying at the Sheraton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crafty Hans
Business
Falls Church, VA
Nov 4, 2012

Great location, not so great features

My wife and I enjoyed our week-long stay at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani in Honolulu. The location was perfect for us with most things we wanted to see within walking distance. And there were lots of restaurants and eateries nearby. The pool was nice but there was no spa/hottub. The beach was just a short walk from the hotel. The room was small by American hotel standards, and there was only one chair and one stool in the room, making "chilling" in the room a not so great experience. The bathroom had an old-fashioned wall mounted sink with very limited space for toiletries. On the other hand, it did have storage shelves next to the bathroom door. I was surprised that the tub/shower didn't have the curved shower curtain rod that seems standard in most other hotels these days. Wireless Internet service was quite good in this hotel and was included in the standard $18 daily service charge which included 2 free bottles of water per day, pool towel service, as well as daily parking in the hotel garage. We only ate one light meal in the hotel restaurants, so I can't really offer any opinions on that aspect of the hotel other than that there seemed to be quite a few dining options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Near deaf traveller
Business
Traverse City, MI
Feb 1, 2013

Noisy but good location.

Had West facing Room 2669. Single pane slider meant extremely noisy room. No baffle in the bathroom air vent so you can look into and hear the neighbors in their bathroom. That was with one of my hearing aids not working! Need one more person at front desk. Always a line up and not consistent check-in process. Other staff were fine. Nice pool area and close to beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mike married
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 22, 2013

Room small

Room does not have enough space. location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aurorakat in AK
Business
Alaska
May 22, 2014

Needed vacation

When checking in the clerk was like ohh i should get you a better room because the one we were to go in was close to the dumpsters and that it gets dumped early and would wake us up, so i was like ok so he found us a new room for an extra $60 per night which came to another $500. The room was nice and I couldn't compare to what we would have had until my daughter flew in to meet us only to discover that her room which is where ours would have been was nice and had a great view of the city and was quiter. In our room it did have a partial view of the beach and had a nice view but was not worth $500 more and we were woke up by traffic and honking and so on. I felt scammed. It was only 2 blocks from the beach which was nice and the bell boys were always very nice. The concierge was never there when we went to plan something and the cost of the food was very high for what you got. They also were remodeling/painting so when we came in from running around we had to go out of our way to get to the elevator and the smell from the paint was strong and with asthma it was not good. They should either do that on the off season or in the middle of the night when people are sleeping. We had our do not disturb sign out and housekeeping would call to see if we wanted cleaning later but if we put it out that means we don't want to be disturbed period. I did not like the fact that they had a nice swimming pool but it closed at 6:30 in the afternoon, wth, in Alaska pools are open till at least 11pm, sometimes it is nice to swim in the evening in the nice warm air. Otherwise we did like sitting on the balcony listening to music and just enjoying the warm night air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top