$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

3 stars
View map of 120 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
404 reviews
My trip to Oahu

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel. Everything is perfect. Totally enjoyed both stays. See full review

  • Connie C.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Relaxing trip

Great hotel. Will definitely stay again on our next trip to Hawaii. I believed that this hotel is... See full review

  • Jennifer C.
  • Dec 24, 2014
Canoe rides, surfing, discover Hawaiian culture at Waikiki Beach

The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is a moderately-priced hotel with 1,142 rooms and suites across three individual buildings. Rooms in the Ainahau Tower and the Kaiulani Wing have balconies, while rooms in the Princess Tower have ocean views. Guests have the choice of dining in their rooms or in one of the on-site restaurants. The hotel's fitness center is open 24-hours every day. Hula and ukulele lessons are available for guests interested in experiencing Hawaiian culture. There are also island activities such as fish feeding and the hotel activities desk organizes surfing lessons for interested guests. Internet access is available to all guests by way of a communications hub. Guests have 24-hour access to any of the computer terminals or they make use of their own laptops through docking stations or Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel's rooms (fees apply).

Reasons to stay
    • Beach equipment and beachside service available
    • On-property entertainment includes Polynesian revue and live bands by the pool
    • Views of Diamond Head and the Koolau Mountains
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani rooms

All the air-conditioned guest rooms at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani feature in-room movies, safe, cable television, refrigerator and coffee and tea facilities. Rooms with a standard view have limited views of the city and a private balcony. Princess rooms have a city-side view without a balcony and feature one queen bed. Rooms with a city view have a private balcony. Pool view rooms feature a balcony that overlooks the pool with a view of the nightly entertainment at sunset. Guestrooms with ocean or partial ocean views overlook both the city and the ocean. Deluxe ocean view rooms have superb ocean outlooks.

Things to do nearby
    • Waikiki Beach (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
    • Royal Hawaiian Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
    • Waikiki Beach Walk (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
    • U.S. Army Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • Honolulu Zoo (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
    • Waikiki Aquarium (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
    • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
    • Ala Moana Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
    • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Princess Kaiulani also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Rooms

Princess Rooms
Previously used as airline crew accommodations, these intimately sized City Side guestrooms provide limited city views with one queen bed, allowing for single or double occupancy only. Comfortably appointed with an arm chair, work station and bath amenities. Accommodations include an in-room safe, coffee maker and cable television with movie channels. Guestrooms do not have balconies and cannot accommodate a rollaway. Non-smoking room.
Partial Ocean View
Air conditioned, Cable TV, Refrigerator, Coffee/Tea Maker, In Room Movies, Iron/Ironing Board, In room safe, Internet, Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. Non-smoking room.
Standard Room
Air conditioned, Cable TV, Refrigerator,Coffee/Tea Maker, In Room Movies, Iron/Ironing Board, In room safe, Internet, Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. Non-smoking room.
Ocean View Room
Air conditioned, Cable TV, Refrigerator,Coffee/Tea Maker, In Room Movies, Iron/Ironing Board,In room safe, Internet, Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. Non-smoking room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Situated on the site of the former home of Hawaii's favorite princess, Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is a garden oasis in the heart of Waikiki. This charming hotel is where you'll experience warm, Hawaiian hospitality and the true meaning of aloha. With three unique venues totaling 10,500 square feet of meeting space, a dedicated service staff, and value added packages including accommodations, Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is the perfect place to gather for a casual meeting or memorable celebration. Don't forget to take advantage of our daily Hawaiian arts & crafts, nightly poolside entertainment and seasonal cultural events on property to create an itinerary that everyone will enjoy. Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is where your group can make the most of their getaway, offering the best value all year round.

Dining

Pikake Terrace
Atmosphere: Casual Relaxed outdoor dining in a poolside garden setting, join us for a la carte dining or hearty breakfast and dinner buffets. Nightly island entertainment is featured for your dining pleasure. Cuisine: Continental, breakfast and dinner buffet Setting: Indoor/Outdoor Seating Available Hours of Operation: 6:00 AM - 11 AM for breakfast, 5:30PM - 9PM for dinner
Creation - A Polynesian Journey
Atmosphere: Dinner Show Discover the fascinating story of the Polynesians through an epic journey of song and dance. Take a trip back in time, as ancient worlds forged by the Ocean, Wind, & Fire come to life in front of your very eyes. Experience unique cultures and traditions that take you across the enchanting islands of the Pacific while enjoying a sumptuous island-inspired dinner and cocktails. Show Days: 5 nights a week (closed Monday and Wednesday) Show Times: Dinner Show from 6pm - 8:30pm Cocktail Show from 7pm - 8:30pm Pricing: Dinner Show Package $95.00 Adult / $71.25 Child (5-12yrs) Premium Dinner Show Package $145.00 Adult / $108.75 Child (5-12yrs) Cocktail Show Package $55.00 Adults / $41.25 Child (5-12yrs)
Splash Bar & Bento
Atmosphere: Casual Splash Bar & Bento is the perfect place to unwind. Sip tropical drinks poolside and enjoy nightly entertainment under the stars with "bento-style" dining. Choose from an appetizer and entre menu for lunch and dinner. Setting: Poolside Hours of Operation: 11:00 AM - 11:30PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (404)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent Oahu visitor
Business
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Mar 26, 2013

Frequent visitor

I have stayed at his hotel 4 times in my travels and you can't beat the location, which is the best part and reason I have chosen to stay there. The hotel is getting very old and needs serious updates. Simple things like a hook and storage in the bathroom would be an easy fix. I am thankful to have a lanai, when you come from the Northeast you want to be outside but it wasn't very clean, there was a cover from something on the floor the day I arrived and when I left two weeks later it was still there, very disturbing! The resort fee is ridiculous to say the least, $24 a day for a single person, basically 2 bottles of water a day (buy at ABC store for $1 and I didn't need service everyday so I basically did buy water), internet and long distance calling, (who needs that with smart phones) a towel, self parking, a collection of savings booklet (which you can get on the street), etc and a few other things that are totally useless, I think you get my drift, resort fee is big kick for a visitor and not very Aloha! This Sheraton needs to rethink why they are doing that, as far as I am concerned nothing additional is offered with it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Oahu is a very beautiful island and Waikiki is a perfect place to stay it offers a lot, especially sunsets, they can't be beat but the rest of this island is beautiful, don't miss out on the east, west and north shores, you won't be sorry!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle ,wa
Sep 27, 2009

Chip hotel under good name

we had 7 days vacation in this hotel , hotel overpriced,we booked ocean front high floor escape - it doesnt exist!!! its a prank so called ocean front has just 9 floors and all you can enjoy its front line hotel and main st from your balcony. Air condition had two positions max and min ,so if you need to set up temp in room put the towel on ac grid. Old small TV and old furniture , we havent seen so small baths even in 3 stars hotels for 20 years. 30 dollars diner buffet - its just a joke, you can go to perrys restaurant right on the coner and have better - So if you are ready to pay couple thousand for hotel pay just 100 more and take any front line hotel , or take any 3 sta s on second lane, save thousand and get better room with plasma tv and ac control you can adjust, they just 100 yards away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

perrys smorgys restaurant ,breakfast , lunch , diner buffet. or go anywere but sheraton terrace.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San DIego, CA
May 25, 2010

Alright for the price

Nice place with good staff. They checked me in early and upgraded me to a pool view. THe only problem was the room was not very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maui
Jul 14, 2009

Last Century Hotel

Went to the beach and shopped. We had two rooms with great views. The electronic key lock on one room worked about 25% of the time. It was never fixed during our stay though security came about 3 times to service it. There were no hotel instructions in the room so we never found the fitness center, if there was one. Wireless Internet charges were $14 per day for slowest speed, up to $25 for the highest. These were daily charges that expired at midnight! Printing in lobby was minimum of $5. Safe was $3.25 per day. Most hotels that we have stayed in provide these services at a much reduced rate if not free. Parking was convenient and reasonable ($20/day) and the overall location was great. Check in was slow (1/2 hour) and there was no rapid check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Danboy
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Sep 19, 2011

Never Again !!

I stayed at this hotel back in the late 70's and into the early 90's. I quite enjoy the location, that's where my enjoyment stops. The hotel is in terrible condition.I can't believe this is a Sheraton, I should have stuck to my regular Hilton chain. I got taken in by the sale price on the room. Yes, I thought I was getting a deal that seemed to good to be true. I paid just over $600 for 5 nights, plus the $12 per day resort fee ( which was good value ). The elevator is very old and shows it. The foyer you exit the elevator on the 10th floor shows a 3-4 sq ft section of water damage. The wallpaper was falling off. The room was very tiny, the bathtub/shower even smaller.The Tv was positioned on the dresser off to one side and level with the bed. It made it impossible for the person furthest from the Tv to watch it over the other person laying on the bed.This is not a Sheraton by comfort and features, only by name. Sheraton should be embarressed!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CheeseCake Factory, good food and well priced with large portions !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don't ask for much
Business
Bay Area
Aug 1, 2011

a little disappointed

A little disappointed...the room was quite small and not as welcoming as depicted online; the safe in the room didn't work and when we asked to move to another room instead of wait for the repair technician, we were told to use the safe at the front desk - had to spend a couple of hours to wait; three front desk staff members that we dealt with were not very nice at all...could not even say hello or thank you; and bathroom had a dingy smell. On the other hand, some of the staff members like the garage attendant, pool-side attendant handing out the towels, a couple of the housekeeping members - they made us feel appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Despite of the little disappointment described above, the hotel was centrally located to almost everything...the beach, International Market, all sorts of restaurants, and fairly close to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr Not Happy
Business
Huntington Beach CA
Mar 1, 2010

The Experience&^%$

The hotel was nice, however it was not metioned that we had to pay for parking at the hotel, $25 a day even as a guest. If we wanted to use the internet, there was a $25 fee a day for the use. I would not recommend this hotel cause I did not care for the nickel and dime cost at every turn. The deal that really got me upset was I asked for an addtional hour before we left the hotel and I was told that I needed to pay an additional fee for that hour, not very courteous. The hotel is in dire need of an update....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining was fine but pricey...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES, CA
May 12, 2008

Save your money

Never again. Dump of a hotel. Needs lots of work and they had a bunch of electrical problems during a few days I was there. One nigh the power went out for 8+ hours and had to walk 15 flight of stairs to get to my room. Hotel personnel didn't seem to care. Location is of course great and close to everything, but overall, I would recommend that you save your money and look for something else. Food at hotel was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WAIKIKI
Jul 2, 2011

SHERATON

ROOM SERVICE IS NOT OPEN LATE ATMOSPHERE IS MORE FOR OLDER PEOPLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 4, 2011

If You Stay...Upgrade, Upgrade, Upgrade

This hotel promised renovations a few years ago. Now complete, only 2 of 3 wings were done. The lower rates advertised to get you there will give you a room in the Kaiulani Wing with 20-30 year old fixtures, an old 26" TV and a bad view of the loading docks with late night/early morning truck and vehicle noises. If you select this hotel, go for the better rooms in the nicer wings with an ocean view. Beware, there is a resort fee of $12/day additional for 2 bottles of water, parking (if you have a car rental), internet, and a special location and services tiny Waikiki Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the transit system - get a 4-day unlimited bus pass for $25 or monthly for $60. The bus is $2.50 each way and can take you to many of the same attractions that tour buses take you (Pearl Harbor, different Malls, restaurants, Sea Life Park, Hanauma Bay, Aloha Tower, Chinatown, North Shore beaches and locations, etc.).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top