$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

3 stars
120 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
396 reviews
Fantastic Hotel

We could not have been more satisfied. The staff was outstanding and could not have provided better... See full review

  • Dudynl
  • Oct 26, 2014
Excellent local

We arrived in a taxi in the evening. Hotel staff quickly helped us with luggage. Room was... See full review

  • carlos munoz
  • Apr 21, 2014
Canoe rides, surfing, discover Hawaiian culture at Waikiki Beach

The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is a moderately-priced hotel with 1,142 rooms and suites across three individual buildings. Rooms in the Ainahau Tower and the Kaiulani Wing have balconies, while rooms in the Princess Tower have ocean views. Guests have the choice of dining in their rooms or in one of the on-site restaurants. The hotel's fitness center is open 24-hours every day. Hula and ukulele lessons are available for guests interested in experiencing Hawaiian culture. There are also island activities such as fish feeding and the hotel activities desk organizes surfing lessons for interested guests. Internet access is available to all guests by way of a communications hub. Guests have 24-hour access to any of the computer terminals or they make use of their own laptops through docking stations or Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel's rooms (fees apply).

Reasons to stay
    • Beach equipment and beachside service available
    • On-property entertainment includes Polynesian revue and live bands by the pool
    • Views of Diamond Head and the Koolau Mountains
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani rooms

All the air-conditioned guest rooms at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani feature in-room movies, safe, cable television, refrigerator and coffee and tea facilities. Rooms with a standard view have limited views of the city and a private balcony. Princess rooms have a city-side view without a balcony and feature one queen bed. Rooms with a city view have a private balcony. Pool view rooms feature a balcony that overlooks the pool with a view of the nightly entertainment at sunset. Guestrooms with ocean or partial ocean views overlook both the city and the ocean. Deluxe ocean view rooms have superb ocean outlooks.

Things to do nearby
    • Waikiki Beach (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
    • Royal Hawaiian Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
    • Waikiki Beach Walk (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
    • U.S. Army Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • Honolulu Zoo (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
    • Waikiki Aquarium (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
    • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
    • Ala Moana Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
    • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Princess Kaiulani also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Rooms

Princess Rooms
Previously used as airline crew accommodations, these intimately sized City Side guestrooms provide limited city views with one queen bed, allowing for single or double occupancy only. Comfortably appointed with an arm chair, work station and bath amenities. Accommodations include an in-room safe, coffee maker and cable television with movie channels. Guestrooms do not have balconies and cannot accommodate a rollaway. Non-smoking room.
Partial Ocean View
Air conditioned, Cable TV, Refrigerator, Coffee/Tea Maker, In Room Movies, Iron/Ironing Board, In room safe, Internet, Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. Non-smoking room.
Standard Room
Air conditioned, Cable TV, Refrigerator,Coffee/Tea Maker, In Room Movies, Iron/Ironing Board, In room safe, Internet, Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. Non-smoking room.
Ocean View Room
Air conditioned, Cable TV, Refrigerator,Coffee/Tea Maker, In Room Movies, Iron/Ironing Board,In room safe, Internet, Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. Non-smoking room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

Pikake Terrace
Atmosphere: Casual Relaxed outdoor dining in a poolside garden setting, join us for a la carte dining or hearty breakfast and dinner buffets. Nightly island entertainment is featured for your dining pleasure. Cuisine: Continental, breakfast and dinner buffet Setting: Indoor/Outdoor Seating Available Hours of Operation: 6:00 AM - 11 AM for breakfast, 5:30PM - 9PM for dinner
Creation - A Polynesian Journey
Atmosphere: Dinner Show Discover the fascinating story of the Polynesians through an epic journey of song and dance. Take a trip back in time, as ancient worlds forged by the Ocean, Wind, & Fire come to life in front of your very eyes. Experience unique cultures and traditions that take you across the enchanting islands of the Pacific while enjoying a sumptuous island-inspired dinner and cocktails. Show Days: 5 nights a week (closed Monday and Wednesday) Show Times: Dinner Show from 6pm - 8:30pm Cocktail Show from 7pm - 8:30pm Pricing: Dinner Show Package $95.00 Adult / $71.25 Child (5-12yrs) Premium Dinner Show Package $145.00 Adult / $108.75 Child (5-12yrs) Cocktail Show Package $55.00 Adults / $41.25 Child (5-12yrs)
Splash Bar & Bento
Atmosphere: Casual Splash Bar & Bento is the perfect place to unwind. Sip tropical drinks poolside and enjoy nightly entertainment under the stars with "bento-style" dining. Choose from an appetizer and entre menu for lunch and dinner. Setting: Poolside Hours of Operation: 11:00 AM - 11:30PM

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Situated on the site of the former home of Hawaii's favorite princess, Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is a garden oasis in the heart of Waikiki. This charming hotel is where you'll experience warm, Hawaiian hospitality and the true meaning of aloha. With three unique venues totaling 10,500 square feet of meeting space, a dedicated service staff, and value added packages including accommodations, Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is the perfect place to gather for a casual meeting or memorable celebration. Don't forget to take advantage of our daily Hawaiian arts & crafts, nightly poolside entertainment and seasonal cultural events on property to create an itinerary that everyone will enjoy. Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is where your group can make the most of their getaway, offering the best value all year round.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (396)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
396 out of 396
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Porters
Tennessee
May 23, 2012

Hawaii Trip

We were a little apprehensive at first, after booking our rooms. We were reading online some opinions of others about the Princess Kiaulani Hotel. I'm not sure where they were staying. I can only talk about our experience. We were met at our car and our luggage was taken right to our rooms as we checked in. Everyone was so kind and welcoming, which meant so much to us as we were very tired from our long flight. A basket full of fresh fruit and candy was delivered to our rooms from the hotel. (Perfect) Everyone remarked how comfortable their beds were. The sheets were just right as I am very fussy about my bed sheets. The view from our balcony was just beautiful. The ocean one side, the mountains the other and even views of the city, oh yes, we had it all. We were close to everything: shopping, restaurants, beach, shows, ect. We attended 2 luaus, went parasailing, snorkling, road trip to see the blow hole where they were filming Hawaii 5-O. We saw the Valley of the Temples, Diamond Head, the Dole Plantation, the North Shore, Laniakea where we were able to see the large sea turtles as they came upon the beach or swam in the beautiful blue waters. We went to Pali Lookout for some great pictures and the Museum of Father Damien of Molokai (now Saint Damien). We were able to attend a beautiful Hawaiian Mass at St. Augustine by the Sea which was only 3 blocks down from the Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Yes, it is in the middle of everything. We were able to relax on the beautiful lanai and listen to the wonderful entertainment by the pool bar. I also read someone they thought the pool was very small. Not at all. The pool was great with lots of places to sit or lay. Though the water was warm we spent our time at the beach surfing and paddle boarding where a hotel attendent brought us all fresh cold fruit and choice of cold bottled water along with towels and chairs. We have already recommended this great hotel to our friends. They are already making plans for next year at the Princess Kaiulani. We have stayed at hotels from Canada, the Bahamas, Florida, Texas all along the east coast, some were even gated. This hotel rates right up there at the top. Our family and friends are talking about going back already and making plans. Thank you so much! The Princess gave us great memories. The Porter Family P.S. We even named our picture disks Hawaii 1 (meaning we will be making a second trip for Hawaii 2)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some people may think some of the restaurants are a little pricey but after attending one, we found the best way was to order one meal and a 'pupu' (appetizer) as you are served so much food. Even ordering a 'pupu' and one meal to split there was still left over food. If you can eat a lot check out all the deals online. They are great. Our family eats very healthy and there was a wide variety of healthy foods to be found.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DarrenRUNS
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Aug 14, 2012

Great location, moderate comfort

The location of this hotel is ideal; directly in the heart of Waikiki among the other hotels. The pool is somewhat small given the number of rooms. The quality of my room was satisfactory at best; specifically, the bathroom required some updating. There is ample parking, but getting from the garage (where there isn't an elevator) to the hotel lobby is tough. The hotel advertises towel and chair service at the beach, but both must be carried there (across the street) by guests. Overall, the value is pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mister Chen
Business
Arcadia, California
Aug 17, 2012

Perfect Location

The location is perfect because it's right next to the International Market Place and across the street from the beach. The only thing that slightly bothered me was the cleanliness. There was dust behind the counters and on the bottom edges of the mattress. The water pressure is low, so it took quite a while to take a shower. Our coffee, sugar, and cream was not refilled everyday, but these are the only problems. If these things don't bother you much, it's a great place to stay because of it's location and daily parking ease if you're renting a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Market Place is just right next door, although it does get a little loud in the evening if you're staying at the Sheraton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crafty Hans
Business
Falls Church, VA
Nov 4, 2012

Great location, not so great features

My wife and I enjoyed our week-long stay at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani in Honolulu. The location was perfect for us with most things we wanted to see within walking distance. And there were lots of restaurants and eateries nearby. The pool was nice but there was no spa/hottub. The beach was just a short walk from the hotel. The room was small by American hotel standards, and there was only one chair and one stool in the room, making "chilling" in the room a not so great experience. The bathroom had an old-fashioned wall mounted sink with very limited space for toiletries. On the other hand, it did have storage shelves next to the bathroom door. I was surprised that the tub/shower didn't have the curved shower curtain rod that seems standard in most other hotels these days. Wireless Internet service was quite good in this hotel and was included in the standard $18 daily service charge which included 2 free bottles of water per day, pool towel service, as well as daily parking in the hotel garage. We only ate one light meal in the hotel restaurants, so I can't really offer any opinions on that aspect of the hotel other than that there seemed to be quite a few dining options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Near deaf traveller
Business
Traverse City, MI
Feb 1, 2013

Noisy but good location.

Had West facing Room 2669. Single pane slider meant extremely noisy room. No baffle in the bathroom air vent so you can look into and hear the neighbors in their bathroom. That was with one of my hearing aids not working! Need one more person at front desk. Always a line up and not consistent check-in process. Other staff were fine. Nice pool area and close to beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mike married
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 22, 2013

Room small

Room does not have enough space. location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keep on traveling
Business
Portland OR
Feb 13, 2014

3rd visit

Worn and needs renovation, not upscale, but great location and good value. Staff very helpful. Food very expensive, eat at the nice restaurants surrounding the hotel instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melloways USA
Business
Spring Hill, Florida
Apr 28, 2014

Construction Zone

It is sad some call it progress but who needs another Saks 5 th Ave?? Unfortunately this Hotel is loctated next door to the Beloved International Market which is no more! The loaders & back hoe's start at 5:00 am. If I hear another back up alarm I will go nuts!! Its a shame its a decent hotel & staff were nice. But if I were on vacation I would have left within hours. I was on the 14 th floor & I could not hear the television. I can only imagine how loud it was below me, So stay somewhere else until construction is complete. If you want the Waikiki experience save money & go to your local shopping mall!! This is what it has become!! I will spend my time on the Big Island at least until they destroy it with Prada!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake factory vast menu a taste for all! Yard House what a selection of Beer!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aurorakat in AK
Business
Alaska
May 22, 2014

Needed vacation

When checking in the clerk was like ohh i should get you a better room because the one we were to go in was close to the dumpsters and that it gets dumped early and would wake us up, so i was like ok so he found us a new room for an extra $60 per night which came to another $500. The room was nice and I couldn't compare to what we would have had until my daughter flew in to meet us only to discover that her room which is where ours would have been was nice and had a great view of the city and was quiter. In our room it did have a partial view of the beach and had a nice view but was not worth $500 more and we were woke up by traffic and honking and so on. I felt scammed. It was only 2 blocks from the beach which was nice and the bell boys were always very nice. The concierge was never there when we went to plan something and the cost of the food was very high for what you got. They also were remodeling/painting so when we came in from running around we had to go out of our way to get to the elevator and the smell from the paint was strong and with asthma it was not good. They should either do that on the off season or in the middle of the night when people are sleeping. We had our do not disturb sign out and housekeeping would call to see if we wanted cleaning later but if we put it out that means we don't want to be disturbed period. I did not like the fact that they had a nice swimming pool but it closed at 6:30 in the afternoon, wth, in Alaska pools are open till at least 11pm, sometimes it is nice to swim in the evening in the nice warm air. Otherwise we did like sitting on the balcony listening to music and just enjoying the warm night air.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Big Idea is...
Business
Eastern Washington
Oct 6, 2009

It's all right, nothing fancy!

Busy, but great location. An older, not kept up, facility. Decent value if you get good discounted rates to stay, otherwise, overpriced for what you get. Staff tries to be helpful but at times feel rushed and understaffed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Movie Fan
Business
Castro Valley, CA
Aug 15, 2009

Ideal for shopping & hanging at Waikiki

Things our family enjoyed: Nightly entertainment by the pool. Complimentary arts & crafts activities in the lobby. Across the street from Waikiki beach! Plenty of shopping and dining options in the area. Things we didn't like: Small pool, expensive breakfast (they only offer buffet), and no room service until late afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

We stayed on the 4th floor overlooking the pool with a direct view of the stage that features nightly entertainment. It was perfect for those nights when we wanted to relax in our room and still catch some entertainment from our balcony.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top