$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

3 stars
View map of 120 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
409 out of 409
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G D
Business
San francisco
Jun 20, 2011

Oldy but goody

Overall a hotel nice enough for the budget minded. The hotel is a little bit on the older side and could use a little love but the staff was friendly and has everything needed for your vacation..ie..courtesy beach towels, hotel pool and bar and a short walk to the beach. Not fancy but will do the trick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 9, 2011

An OK hotel

The rooms were very simple. I had a High Ocean floor room. The first room they gave me a a view of a parking lot. Got that switched to a different room that did have an ocean view, and there was no WIFI. The front desk told me that the rooms were hard wired only! Big disappointment. WIFI is everywhere and is a basic feature. Not to mention the "convenience charge" that charges your for the internet. The location is great, but I think the hotel just "moves meat" to pay the bills at this hotel. Definitely not going to return to this one. Does the job, but better choices are there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Basic A
Business
San Francisco
Jun 20, 2011

Okay room to shower and sleep

The hotel was fine. It was adequate for a place to sleep and shower. If you plan on spending much time in your room, it is not that nice. The bathroom was small and lacking in shelf space. The room definitely needed a remodel. But if you just want a place to shower and sleep while you spend all your time on the beach, it is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat garlic crab at Irifune

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KR
Business
Shawnnee, KS
Jun 30, 2011

Just right for us.

The stay was pleasant. Nothing spectacular but just what we wanted and needed. Great location for boarding several tour excursions and just a block from the beach. It was a good value for our travel style.....nto much time spent at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanny 1
Business
Midland Texas
Jun 29, 2011

Good location to Beach and shopping,

The Hotel informed us we would be charged #12.00 per day for telephone use and water. Why was this charge not included in the price of the trip up front Also was going to charge $20.00 per day for each person in the room (2) for a high ocean view and all you could see unless you hung over the balcony was high rise buildings. I told them I was not going to pay extra for that view. They were very misleading on the telephone. Overall the Hotel was in a good location, the buffet was rather expensive per person, the evening meal $34.50 per person and breakfast meal $21.50 per person

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Waikiki beach was about 1 block away and shopping was around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotel slob
Business
Oakland
Jun 22, 2011

Nice staff, old rooms

The good: - super-nice, very efficient and accommodating front desk and bellhop staff - comfy sheets and light blankets on the bed - bar drinks were reasonably priced - pool staff was laid back & nice Needed work: - bathroom was old, toilet leaked, shower was chintzy - wallpaper & carpet in the room seemed dirty - air conditioning unit was loud - breakfast buffet was definitely not worth $22 + tax & tip, even with the omelet bar. Food quality was only so-so, and the restaurant was plagued with aggressive seagulls - the hallway and stairs leading to the parking garage were really run-down and felt a little unsafe - bartender was sullen and kinda surly on the nights I was staying around the hotel - not just once, but every time. It can make a person feel really unwelcome when there's no one else anywhere near the bar, and the bartender doesn't acknowledge them for several minutes. Everyone else on staff at the hotel was very nice, though. Given the star rating, I was a little surprised how low-budget the room felt. I would want to try a few other hotels in the area for comparison before going back to the PK. But in a pinch, I'd take a room there - I've definitely had worse hotel experiences in that price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Manoa Falls, just a short drive out of Waikiki -- stunning and inspirational. But wear shoes with traction and stay away from white clothes. The mud is slick and unforgiving!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SJRN
Business
northern california
Feb 7, 2011

Excellent location

My husband, 2 yr old and I went to Hawaii for a little Probowl fun and were very fortunate to have found the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani at such a great rate. Pro's: the hotel is in the middle of everything in Waikiki. The beach is right across the street and there's plenty of shops that you can walk to. If you're not going to leave the waikiki area i wouldn't rent a car. We were able to enjoy the NFL Probowl block party on Kalakaua Ave without having to deal with driving, parking or city traffic. They also have a great promo going on where all you pay is $12/day for the resort fee which includes free self parking, internet access, 2 free bottles of bottled water in your room daily, and kids under 12 eat free at their restaurant. They have daily breakfast and dinner buffets but it was a bit pricey...they do have a $10 breakfast which is a great idea that we took advantage of one morning. For $10 you can get whatever you want from the breakfast buffet and take it to go. We stocked our room fridge with drinks so we brought our to go food back to the room and ate on the balcony...love it! Cons: The hotel can definitely use a good renovation. The decor reminded me of 1980's Miami Vice. Our room was small but nothing compared to the little "closet" room my in laws had. They didn't have a balcony and the room window was pretty small...i'm not claustrophobic but they really tried to fit a room into that tight space. I didn't like our bathroom at all! the fixtures were old and industrialized, the toilet was seriously a toilet that you see in public restaurants where you have to use your foot to push the bar down to flush....i expected sooooo much more from a Sheraton hotel. The pool was nice, my daughter enjoyed it...even with the water being sooo cold and the sad fact that the pool closed at 6pm Other than the few Cons that can be overlooked by some, the staff were all very pleasant, the hotel is located at one of the best spots in Waikiki and the hotels free daily morning activities made for a nice place to rest our heads and store our bags. My family and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many shops along Kalakaua Ave, short walking distance from hotel. Very close to International Market. If you have a rental car then go to Walmart or the Swap Meet at Aloha Stadium, prices are much cheaper than in Waikiki. Of course there are ABC stores everywhere you turn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prior Lake, MN
Feb 7, 2011

First time in Hawaii

The hotel is in a good and convenient location. Size of the room was adequate and clean. Good view of things from the balcony. Went on a tour of Pearl Harbor, The Mighty Mo, A Luau, Circle Island Tour, City tour, and several ABC Stores. Didn't have time to do more tours I found about after I arrived. Will do better planning next time. Hawaii is beautiful and nice and warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Most hotels have very expensive menu's. Plenty of other places to have a good meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento,CA
Jan 5, 2011

Normal

NORMAL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Freefallgirl
Business
Golden, CO
Feb 12, 2011

Awesome location, bad service and food

At check-in, they told me that even though I had reserved a crib online, they couldn't put one in the room as the room was too small for one. I said we'd be happy with just the mattress, and the manager still supposedly told the clerk that it wasn't allowed, as it was a "fire hazard." However, I could pay $30 more a night for a bigger room that would fit a crib. What a scam! So our 6 month old had to sleep on the floor in the closet. Location was perfect, it opened up to the main street and was just across the street from the beach and the Moana Surfrider. The pool was not heated and was too cold, and there was no jacuzzi, which was a huge disappointment, as we wanted to take our 6 month in something warm. The room was a single King and nothing special. It was small and a little dated, but the bed was amazingly comfortable and had a duvet, which I love. The bathroom was plain and tiny, but clean. There was a refrigerator, which was nice. Breakfast was a horrible rip off and was pretty gross, except for the fresh fruit and omelet station. We wouldn't have gone, except we got a two-for-one coupon. And yet, it was still way overpriced! I should know better than to go to a hotel buffet. It gets three stars, only because it was a good price compared to other hotels that had that good of a location. Thank goodness we spent most of our time in a vacation rental on the north shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top