$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

3 stars
120 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
396 reviews
Fantastic Hotel

We could not have been more satisfied. The staff was outstanding and could not have provided better... See full review

  • Dudynl
  • Oct 26, 2014
Excellent local

We arrived in a taxi in the evening. Hotel staff quickly helped us with luggage. Room was... See full review

  • carlos munoz
  • Apr 21, 2014
Canoe rides, surfing, discover Hawaiian culture at Waikiki Beach

The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is a moderately-priced hotel with 1,142 rooms and suites across three individual buildings. Rooms in the Ainahau Tower and the Kaiulani Wing have balconies, while rooms in the Princess Tower have ocean views. Guests have the choice of dining in their rooms or in one of the on-site restaurants. The hotel's fitness center is open 24-hours every day. Hula and ukulele lessons are available for guests interested in experiencing Hawaiian culture. There are also island activities such as fish feeding and the hotel activities desk organizes surfing lessons for interested guests. Internet access is available to all guests by way of a communications hub. Guests have 24-hour access to any of the computer terminals or they make use of their own laptops through docking stations or Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel's rooms (fees apply).

Reasons to stay
    • Beach equipment and beachside service available
    • On-property entertainment includes Polynesian revue and live bands by the pool
    • Views of Diamond Head and the Koolau Mountains
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani rooms

All the air-conditioned guest rooms at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani feature in-room movies, safe, cable television, refrigerator and coffee and tea facilities. Rooms with a standard view have limited views of the city and a private balcony. Princess rooms have a city-side view without a balcony and feature one queen bed. Rooms with a city view have a private balcony. Pool view rooms feature a balcony that overlooks the pool with a view of the nightly entertainment at sunset. Guestrooms with ocean or partial ocean views overlook both the city and the ocean. Deluxe ocean view rooms have superb ocean outlooks.

Things to do nearby
    • Waikiki Beach (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
    • Royal Hawaiian Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
    • Waikiki Beach Walk (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
    • U.S. Army Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • Honolulu Zoo (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
    • Waikiki Aquarium (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
    • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
    • Ala Moana Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
    • Diamond Head Crater (1.9 mi/3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Princess Kaiulani also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Rooms

Princess Rooms
Previously used as airline crew accommodations, these intimately sized City Side guestrooms provide limited city views with one queen bed, allowing for single or double occupancy only. Comfortably appointed with an arm chair, work station and bath amenities. Accommodations include an in-room safe, coffee maker and cable television with movie channels. Guestrooms do not have balconies and cannot accommodate a rollaway. Non-smoking room.
Partial Ocean View
Air conditioned, Cable TV, Refrigerator, Coffee/Tea Maker, In Room Movies, Iron/Ironing Board, In room safe, Internet, Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. Non-smoking room.
Standard Room
Air conditioned, Cable TV, Refrigerator,Coffee/Tea Maker, In Room Movies, Iron/Ironing Board, In room safe, Internet, Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. Non-smoking room.
Ocean View Room
Air conditioned, Cable TV, Refrigerator,Coffee/Tea Maker, In Room Movies, Iron/Ironing Board,In room safe, Internet, Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. Non-smoking room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.8 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.3 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.3 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Situated on the site of the former home of Hawaii's favorite princess, Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is a garden oasis in the heart of Waikiki. This charming hotel is where you'll experience warm, Hawaiian hospitality and the true meaning of aloha. With three unique venues totaling 10,500 square feet of meeting space, a dedicated service staff, and value added packages including accommodations, Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is the perfect place to gather for a casual meeting or memorable celebration. Don't forget to take advantage of our daily Hawaiian arts & crafts, nightly poolside entertainment and seasonal cultural events on property to create an itinerary that everyone will enjoy. Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is where your group can make the most of their getaway, offering the best value all year round.

Dining

Pikake Terrace
Atmosphere: Casual Relaxed outdoor dining in a poolside garden setting, join us for a la carte dining or hearty breakfast and dinner buffets. Nightly island entertainment is featured for your dining pleasure. Cuisine: Continental, breakfast and dinner buffet Setting: Indoor/Outdoor Seating Available Hours of Operation: 6:00 AM - 11 AM for breakfast, 5:30PM - 9PM for dinner
Creation - A Polynesian Journey
Atmosphere: Dinner Show Discover the fascinating story of the Polynesians through an epic journey of song and dance. Take a trip back in time, as ancient worlds forged by the Ocean, Wind, & Fire come to life in front of your very eyes. Experience unique cultures and traditions that take you across the enchanting islands of the Pacific while enjoying a sumptuous island-inspired dinner and cocktails. Show Days: 5 nights a week (closed Monday and Wednesday) Show Times: Dinner Show from 6pm - 8:30pm Cocktail Show from 7pm - 8:30pm Pricing: Dinner Show Package $95.00 Adult / $71.25 Child (5-12yrs) Premium Dinner Show Package $145.00 Adult / $108.75 Child (5-12yrs) Cocktail Show Package $55.00 Adults / $41.25 Child (5-12yrs)
Splash Bar & Bento
Atmosphere: Casual Splash Bar & Bento is the perfect place to unwind. Sip tropical drinks poolside and enjoy nightly entertainment under the stars with "bento-style" dining. Choose from an appetizer and entre menu for lunch and dinner. Setting: Poolside Hours of Operation: 11:00 AM - 11:30PM

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (396)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
396 out of 396
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaveTeesside
Business
Teesside, UK
Aug 25, 2011

Great Location

This was my 5th visit to Waikiki so already had a good idea about the hotel (especially location which is great) I had initially intended to stay at a hotel ON the beach, but as I couldn't book until quite late, the prices had gone through the roof and the PK (as it is known locally) had a far better price suited to my budget. I still wanted something 'nice' as it would be my Girlfriends first visit. The hotel is in two sections, the main building where the lobby and facilities are and a separate tower (but still feels like its in the same building as the elevator is under the same roof..... When we arrived after 26 hours of travelling from the UK, we just wanted to check in and get to the room, so we did just that. The first thing that hit me was the smell of stale tobacco upon leaving the elevator on the 21st floor but luckily our room (2169) did not smell of tobacco.... If I am honest I was a little disappointed by the room at first, but I guess that is because i have seen better in Waikiki.... but it was still clean and quiet which is the most important to me. The bed was HUGE and VERY comfy. Shower OK, not great but did the job. As part of the hotel 'resort fee' of $12.00 per day (which I had forgotten about !) we got two small bottle of water per day FREE PARKING (self) very rare in Waikiki, 60mins of LONG DISTANCE calls per day (awesome!!) High Speed (wired) internet. Othere things too but these were the most relevant to us. The fire alarm went off at 5 am during our stay and there were people in the lobby asking what was going on and lots of confusion - I thought an explanation/apology by way of a note under the door would have been good but not a big deal. We had a voucher for for a half price breakfast if bought with a full price one - we had breakfast once in the hotel and weren't very impressed - I suggest Dukes (see elsewhere on TA) it has a great buffet for a lower price. Pool was ok, quite a lot of kids at times but not too bad and always got a lounger ok, there is also a bar near the pool, but we took our own drinks to the pool on the few occasions we used the pool (not sure if permitted, but never saw any signs) Overall a very good hotel and I would certainly recommend you check it out Room Tip: Try a room as high up as possible and ask for non smoking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike M
Business
West Sacramento, CA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Another great time!!!

We have been here before. One of the best locations in Waikiki. Easy access to everything. Wonderful rooms, employees, and pool area. We even tried the fitness area and will now continue at home.( I hope! ) Better price then most even with these amenities. See you again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We were about to go on a tour but with 6 it was much less expensive to rent a car. And we could stay as long as we wanted. North shore, Dole, circle island tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benjamin1983
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Aug 17, 2011

I recomend it!

The location was perfect! Only a 3 minute walk to the beach. The room wasn't the best but all we did was sleep there the staff were all fantastic and for the price you can't get much better. The show creation in the hotel was awesome as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Creation was awesome well worth the price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoveToSing
Business
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Honalulu Gem!

Location, location, location! The SPK has it all! We never rented a car or took public transportation! World class Waikiki Beach, restaurants, shopping, and entertainment just a stroll away! Book the tower upgrade... the view of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach is breathtaking! We especially enjoyed the nightly hawaiian music. The breakfast buffet at the Pikake Terrace was outstanding! We stayed here in 2004, now in 2011, and WILL definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The international market is a souvenier attraction. Whatever the asking price is for an item, feel free to make a lower offer. The store owner will negotiate, maybe as much as 1/3 of the original price!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mick
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

just ok

room tooooo small. tooo many kids , location good,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manolo711
Business
brea
Aug 7, 2011

location can't be beat!

i have stayed at this hotel several times before and had been underwhelmed. the public places were almost grand but have too much people traffic. on our recent stay, we were given a larger room which accommodated a roll-away bed which was nice. the room faced the pool and noise level at night was quite high due to the loud bands with hula shows. other than that, the location can't be beat. the beach is just a block away and the international marketplace which is a large swapmeet by the beach type of shopping is right next door. shopping and fine dining places were within walking distance. i would recommend this hotel to everyone and we will certainly be back given the fantastic location and reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we had a fantastic dinner at the top of waikiki revolving restaurant. the ambience, the tasting menu and glittering city lights made for a very fine dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
'D'
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Aug 5, 2011

Beware Starwood Guest Program members!

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don't ask for much
Business
Bay Area
Aug 1, 2011

a little disappointed

A little disappointed...the room was quite small and not as welcoming as depicted online; the safe in the room didn't work and when we asked to move to another room instead of wait for the repair technician, we were told to use the safe at the front desk - had to spend a couple of hours to wait; three front desk staff members that we dealt with were not very nice at all...could not even say hello or thank you; and bathroom had a dingy smell. On the other hand, some of the staff members like the garage attendant, pool-side attendant handing out the towels, a couple of the housekeeping members - they made us feel appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Despite of the little disappointment described above, the hotel was centrally located to almost everything...the beach, International Market, all sorts of restaurants, and fairly close to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PK hotel
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 1, 2011

Good Trip

Very nice hotel. The buffet is overpriced, except for the breakfast take out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Netherlands
Jul 30, 2011

Incredible Value

This hotel was clean, comfortable and in the middle of Waikiki. It was an unbelievable vailue in relationship to anything else in the area. I highly recommend checking it out to anyone traveling to Waikiki. Only thing I did not like the lack of a breakfast restaurant at the hotel other than its breakfast buffet. Personally, I do not like buffets and am a light eater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car and be sure to take in the north shore beaches a couple of times. The shave ice and shopping up north is more enjoyable and the beaches more beautiful! The parking fees at the hotel are so reasonable in wrapped into its one-time resort fee that it is very worthwhile and easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top