$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

3 stars
View map of 120 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
461 out of 461
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 28, 2010

Good, but needs work.

I was originally put in the old tower, but requested a room change which happened the following day. The air conditioner in the first room consisted of an on/off switch by the door - no thermostat. The maintenance man showed me how to adjust the temp. Open a lattice-type door which housed a filthy a/c unit which consisted of an up or down switch. If you wanted air, it was on constantly. Had to be turned off at night because it blew right on you. I had also requested two beds, and this was a one bed room. This hotel was built in 1955, and clearly, the a/c unit dated back to then. My new room was fine. This tower needs complete remodeling - totally out of date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winona, MN
Jun 1, 2010

Goood and Bad

If you expect buisness travelers to pay for wireless internet and parking, you should have [...] include that in the package. 100% of the mainland hotels wireless is free. The majority include parking as part of the room package. Not a pleasant $200 surprise. I won't get reimbursed for this unexpected expenses. More soundproofing on the street side to block sound of delivery trucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great fresh seafood close by.

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single Dad with teenagers
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 4, 2009

Great Vacation Place

This hotel is in a great, central location in Wikiki. Across the street from the beach. If you want to see the ocean, upgrade to the high tower, higher floors. Ask for rooms closer to the street. Even though they will be a bit noisier, the view will be great. Make sure you stay on floors above the 15th floor, otherwise, the 10 floor hotel bldg will block your view. Easy walking to anything you lke to do on Wikiki, shopping, dinning, car rental, activities. Two ABC convenience stores are very close, one downstairs and one across the street at the Hyatt. One thing this hotel needs is a renovation. However, since you won't be staying there much, it is just fine and comfortable. Not much to do at the hotel. The pool has a very small 3 foot section, the rest of it varies between 6 and 8 feet, not convenient to non-swimmers. The pool is fairly small. You can check out towels to take to the beach then bring back, very handy. Most of the afternoons during the week we stayed there, they offered fresh golden pineapples cut up by one of the chefs for guests to enjoy - very refreshing and delicious. The concierge desk was very helpful so don't bother buying touring packages before arriving. They have plenty of options for good prices and you can take your time to think about them. You pay for them there and tour buses pick you up from the lobby - so convenient. Everything on Wikiki is expensive so expect to spent more than you have budgeted for. Hotel staff was very friendly and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes restaurant offers a $12.95 lunch buffet which is very reasonable compared to how much dinners cost. It is open from 11:30 to 2:30

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sab
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 13, 2009

"Girls Getaway Celebration of Life"

The hotel needs some renovation that will be happening soon according to the representatives. I have stayed at previous Sheraton's and this one was the worst. It did not really matter to me as much because I was never in the room. We were always on the go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must do the activites in Oahu....ie. Ali Kai Sunset Dinner Cruise, Germaine's Luau, Polynesian Cultural Center, and tours. Excellent shopping location on the main strip. Wonderful experience that is priceless!!!!!

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin almost local
Business
Seattle
Jul 25, 2009

Great Location..but sub-standard room.

The location of this hotel is great and the nightly entertainment is good. The staff was good and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You've got to go to Dukes. Go to the bar side and have a buger or sandwich etc..fun place to be seen.

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FijiGirl
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 25, 2010

Will stay again!

enjoyed our stay at the hotel...didn't like the room location the first night because it was too noisy but the manager moved us into a much nicer pool view room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 28, 2010

Adequate lodgings

The quality of the room was so-so, but it was clean and less than 100 yards from the beach. We returned from the beach one day to discover that housekeeping had overlooked the 'do not disturb' tab, which was upsetting since we had not secured our valuables in the safe (because that was yet another fee per use). My friend lost her ID just before check-out but my flight was due to leave in only 2 hours. I was very impressed when the guest services manager personally volunteered to stay with my friend's luggage while another guest services rep escorted her to the nearby police station to assist her with getting adequate identification in order to catch her flight as well. There was also live traditional Hawaiian music on the terrace almost every night, which definitely added to the ambiance of the whole trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Jul 7, 2010

Good location for the price.

Overall experience was quite satisfying because I had gotten my room for a good price. The best part about this hotel is the proximity to the beach. The hotel is dated but if you get a good deal its a good place to stay. There could be very bad rooms specially facing the garage. Try and at least get the pool facing room and you should be fine. Elevator noise is prominent in my room specially at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 15, 2010

Good and Bad

The Good: if you want to be in Waikiki, this is a great location at an affordable hotel, with short walk to the beach, shopping, International Market, and historic hotels. If your flight leaves after the 11 a.m. checkout, you can check your luggage and still lounge at the pool or the beach for the day, then pick up your luggage and take a shower and/or change clothes in one of the hotel's two hospitality suites that can be used for up to an hour. Nice lobby with free hula lessons, lei-making, and various arts and crafts for sale in the mornings. Rooms were kept very clean by staff. Fridge in the room is great with kids (milk, cold water, etc). The Bad: The pool closes at 6 p.m. every day, because it sits adjacent to the bar/restaurant/stage area where music is played live. My kids wanted to spend the day at the beach or sightseeing and take a nice swim in the evening--sorry, not possible. Who closes a hotel pool at 6? So many rules in the pool--including not allowing inflatable beach balls--that it didn't feel very kid-friendly. And they track pool towels like expensive jewelry. Staff was friendly, but slow and not overly helpful (would have been nice, for example, if someone had mentioned that if you stay in the Ainahau tower, there is a part of the hotel's parking garage that is only a door away from the elevators to your room, rather than have you parking in the main part of the garage that has only a stairway leading to the lobby). Our room had the tackiest furniture I've ever seen in a Shearton--painted old furniture that looked like it was picked up surplus from an old hotel that closed. Room was very clean, but overall looked like a cheaper hotel than I expected. Expensive internet service was slow. Two of the guest terminals in the lobby were out of order during most of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin Through Lexington
Business
Cleveland/Akron, Ohio
Mar 29, 2010

Great Location, Mediocre-but clean-room

Hotel is in a great location - central waikiki. Stayed in older wing, which is outdated and in desperate need of refurb. With that said, the hotel did a fantastic job keeping the room clean. If looking for a clean room in a great location for a low, low price; this is the hotel for you. Don't expect anything superior or fancy. By the way, they charge $25 per day for parking and $3.50 per day for the in-room safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining in Waikiki is expensive (even at the cheap eat places). Checkout the happy hours at local restaurants that greatly reduce the cost. The happy hours include not only drinks and appitizers, but even entrees!

Back to menu Return to top