$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
589 reviews
A Great Experience

I spent one night at Pacific Beach Hotel on my way to Japan and I have to say it was one of the... See full review

  • Kenney couple
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great week - great location!

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have found that it met all of our needs. It is a... See full review

  • Hawaii Happy
  • Mar 21, 2014
The Pacific Beach Hotel in Hawaii's Oahu is a haven for both children and those who once were children. The three-story, 280,000-gallon aquarium is a big hit, along with the arcade, pool and whirlpool. For the sports enthusiast, there are on-site tennis courts and jogging trails nearby. The Oceanarium Restaurant will draw everyone to the table with a colorful seafood buffet, and the Polynesian Dinner Show is a fire-blazing spectacle not to be missed. The hotel also wins points for being one of the most environmentally friendly locations on the island of Oahu; certain rooms use only recycled or biodegradable products and limit energy consumption.
Key facts
  • 837 guestrooms
  • 38 floors
  • Dining: The Oceanarium Restaurant and the Aloha Center Cafe
  • Bar/lounge
  • Room service
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Concierge services
  • Tennis court
Neighborhood
The Pacific Beach Hotel is located across from Kuhio, the calmest section of ocean in the area, and guests can enjoy lodging on Kalakaua Avenue, a popular stretch for visitors that includes many shopping and dining options next to Waikiki Beach. High-end retailers like Cartier and Apple share the space with outside vendors selling trinkets and souvenirs. Many famous chain restaurants can be found, including California Pizza Kitchen. The Honolulu Zoo is only a 10-minute walk away.
Hints and tips
When you book your stay, ask for an oceanfront room above the fifth floor for the most impressive window panoramas.

Consider stocking up on snacks or small breakfast treats at the ABC Store in the lobby - they might come in handy during early morning tour excursions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.824
Area served
Waikiki, Honolulu
Nearby airports
HNL-Honolulu International Airport-9 miles east
Area description
With convenient covered parking and access in and out of Waikiki, Pacific Beach Hotel is a located just steps across from Waikiki beach, restaurants, attractions and other favorite shopping locations.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pacific Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Pacific Beach Hotel Rooms

Amenity Fee Inclusions
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices), In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.
Partial Ocean View Room
Located in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel with beautiful partial side views of the ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
In-Room Amenities
Each air-conditioned and attractively appointed guestroom is accented by a private balcony and includes: full-bath and hand-held adjustable shower, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker with one complimentary coffee pack daily, remote-controlled color TV with pay movies, clock radio, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, voice message and data port telephone, in-room safe (surcharge), electronic key cards, video check-out. Connecting, Smoking and ADA-compliant rooms are available on request.
Ocean View Room
Located in the higher and select floors of both hotel towers with side views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Ocean Front Room
Located in the front Beach Tower overlooking spectacular unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balcony, full bath/shower, air conditioning, all standard in-room amenities, an additional mirror/vanity, microwave and wet bar.
Standard Room
Located on the lower floors in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Daily Amenity Fee
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices, In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 22,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and a wide range of catering menus, group organizers can be confident that their meeting or special event takes place in a rewarding setting with delicious selections of food and beverages to satisfy attendees. Pacific Beach Hotel's meeting professionals work with you to ensure your meeting or event is a success, and assist with special needs and requests for special occasions including memorable weddings and receptions.

Dining

Aloha Center Cafe
Casual outdoor cafe, featuring a delicious variety of espresso, hot or iced coffees, fresh juices, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, pastries, fruits, cookies and more.
Oceanarium Restaurant
Dine alongside Pacific Beach Hotel's unique indoor three-story Oceanarium, home to 70 different species of Hawaiian reef life. This full service restaurant serves American and International favorites in a fun casual family dining atmosphere. Serving breakfast buffets, Ala Carte and Prime Rib/Crab Leg Dinner buffets. Children 4 and under EAT FREE at Oceanarium per paying adult.
Room Service
Conveniently available for breakfast and dinner in the comfort of your guestroom. Minimum orders of $15 USD.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (589)

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 589
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Edwards Ca.
Dec 3, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Nice size room and had a great location will deal with again on our return trips to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dolly Mae
Las Vegas, NV
May 29, 2012

Wedding party

It was a wonderful time to stay. shopping and beach in walking distances

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC stores

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City
Dec 27, 2008

Nice hotel for the money

The hotel is very well situated across from Waikiki Beach. The street has plenty of restaurants and shops. Be prepared to pay $15 per night to park in their lot. We parked on the street and never got a ticket or had a problem. Rooms were clean and roomy but the carpets could use a cleaning. A lot of foot traffic and shoppers with plenty of good stores located within 3 blocks. Hotel lobby is adequate with large chairs. Check-in was fast and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surfer Chick
cda, ID
Jan 14, 2013

Hawaii trip

I had a good experience at Pacific Beach Hotel. The location was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Duke's for the breakfast buffet!

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 9, 2007

Upgraded to Ocean Front......

This trip was taken by my mother & me. At check in, we looked at the partial view room & the ocean view. We up-graded. We were on the 9th floor, room 922, and it over looked Kalakaua Ave & the beach! The partial view was nice, but the oceanview room was in better condition. The hotel is very much catered to the Asian tourist, but we found it quite pleasant. Easy access to the main drag & beach. Nice to have ABC right in the hotel. The ABC 1 block, Mauka, on Kuhio ave, is cheaper & carried a little different items. (Mauka, is toward the mountian) The attached coffee shop, near the driveway, was terrible this visit (last time it was great.) The Oceanarium Resturant, we only had the buffet breakfasts, Got tired of it after about 5 days. Didn't try dinner, because of so many other Island options. The Aquarium is really cool to watch while eating. We loved our housekeeper and was sorry when she had days off, the guys didn't clean as well. Carpet needed to be changed, but it seems they are redoing the hotel floor by floor. On Friday am the hotel offers Lei making lessons. It seems all the Waikiki action is down by the BeachWalk, but if you are older than 25 & do not want to party, this end of the beach is better, although there is still party atmosphere just past the Pacific Beach. We did walk alot. But the elevator for our room was right off Kalakaua's entrance. We definatley will stay here again, as long as the price is right! Which is why we tried it this time. Close to lots of food options, look in other hotels & shopping areas. Very near Local Hawaiian musical talent at the hotel bars/restuarants. LOVED IT. Find your Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

USE THE BUS Honolulu has the greatest bus system & the tourist trolleys. Hilo Hattie's Trolley will take you to the Ala Moana & Ward Centre for free, ok, it is a little bit of a ride, but who cares? It is GORGEOUS and you are on Vacation!! The Drivers give little local hint and knowledge too!!

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Myers, FL
Sep 9, 2007

Great View

When we walked into the room, the first thing we saw was a great view out the balcony window, Diamond Head and the ocean. Never got tired of seeing it. The room was very adequite for the three od us, two double beds and a cot. All were very comfortable. The breakfast buffets were excellent and the service was very good. The oceanarium was a pleasant sight to watcg while eating. The location was excellent, accross the street from the beach, plenty of shopping and places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach right accross the street. Pickup right outside the hotel for several different tours, Arizona and Honolulu tour, submarine dive, scouba diving, sunset dinner cruise, and of course a fabulous luau. Walked a few blocks to the bus that took us on a grand circle tour of the island (do not miss that).

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gali
san diego
Oct 27, 2009

Unbeatable location for yhe price

Great location, nice hotel.No complaints.Great and affordable place to stay.Very close to Waikiki Beach,Market place,restaurants and many attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 9, 2007

Upgraded to Ocean Front......

This trip was taken by my mother & me. At check in, we looked at the partial view room & the ocean view. We up-graded. We were on the 9th floor, room 922, and it over looked Kalakaua Ave & the beach! The partial view was nice, but the oceanview room was in better condition. The hotel is very much catered to the Asian tourist, but we found it quite pleasant. Easy access to the main drag & beach. Nice to have ABC right in the hotel. The ABC 1 block, Mauka, on Kuhio ave, is cheaper & carried a little different items. (Mauka, is toward the mountian) The attached coffee shop, near the driveway, was terrible this visit (last time it was great.) The Oceanarium Resturant, we only had the buffet breakfasts, Got tired of it after about 5 days. Didn't try dinner, because of so many other Island options. The Aquarium is really cool to watch while eating. We loved our housekeeper and was sorry when she had days off, the guys didn't clean as well. Carpet needed to be changed, but it seems they are redoing the hotel floor by floor. On Friday am the hotel offers Lei making lessons. It seems all the Waikiki action is down by the BeachWalk, but if you are older than 25 & do not want to party, this end of the beach is better, although there is still party atmosphere just past the Pacific Beach. We did walk alot. But the elevator for our room was right off Kalakaua's entrance. We definatley will stay here again, as long as the price is right! Which is why we tried it this time. Close to lots of food options, look in other hotels & shopping areas. Very near Local Hawaiian musical talent at the hotel bars/restuarants. LOVED IT. Find your Aloha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

USE THE BUS Honolulu has the greatest bus system & the tourist trolleys. Hilo Hattie's Trolley will take you to the Ala Moana & Ward Centre for free, ok, it is a little bit of a ride, but who cares? It is GORGEOUS and you are on Vacation!! The Drivers give little local hint and knowledge too!!

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stress relief needed
los Angeles , CA
Aug 22, 2012

Fantastic family vacation

our hotel experience could not be better the hotel was centrally located everything was within walking distance. The rooms were very clean as well as the rest of the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. If I were to return to Hawaii I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sabillo
Honululu, Hawaii
Sep 3, 2013

Vacation week

Our trip was TOTALLY AND AMAZNGLY AWESOME!!! And so close to the beach and shopping areas it was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Guinia pig riding his little four wheeler !!

Back to menu Return to top