$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Pacific Beach Hotel

3 stars
2490 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
588 reviews
A Great Experience

I spent one night at Pacific Beach Hotel on my way to Japan and I have to say it was one of the... See full review

  • Kenney couple
  • Jun 11, 2014
Great week - great location!

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have found that it met all of our needs. It is a... See full review

  • Hawaii Happy
  • Mar 21, 2014
The Pacific Beach Hotel in Hawaii's Oahu is a haven for both children and those who once were children. The three-story, 280,000-gallon aquarium is a big hit, along with the arcade, pool and whirlpool. For the sports enthusiast, there are on-site tennis courts and jogging trails nearby. The Oceanarium Restaurant will draw everyone to the table with a colorful seafood buffet, and the Polynesian Dinner Show is a fire-blazing spectacle not to be missed. The hotel also wins points for being one of the most environmentally friendly locations on the island of Oahu; certain rooms use only recycled or biodegradable products and limit energy consumption.
Key facts
  • 837 guestrooms
  • 38 floors
  • Dining: The Oceanarium Restaurant and the Aloha Center Cafe
  • Bar/lounge
  • Room service
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Concierge services
  • Tennis court
Neighborhood
The Pacific Beach Hotel is located across from Kuhio, the calmest section of ocean in the area, and guests can enjoy lodging on Kalakaua Avenue, a popular stretch for visitors that includes many shopping and dining options next to Waikiki Beach. High-end retailers like Cartier and Apple share the space with outside vendors selling trinkets and souvenirs. Many famous chain restaurants can be found, including California Pizza Kitchen. The Honolulu Zoo is only a 10-minute walk away.
Hints and tips
When you book your stay, ask for an oceanfront room above the fifth floor for the most impressive window panoramas.

Consider stocking up on snacks or small breakfast treats at the ABC Store in the lobby - they might come in handy during early morning tour excursions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Pacific Beach Hotel Rooms

Amenity Fee Inclusions
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices), In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.
Partial Ocean View Room
Located in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel with beautiful partial side views of the ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
In-Room Amenities
Each air-conditioned and attractively appointed guestroom is accented by a private balcony and includes: full-bath and hand-held adjustable shower, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker with one complimentary coffee pack daily, remote-controlled color TV with pay movies, clock radio, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, voice message and data port telephone, in-room safe (surcharge), electronic key cards, video check-out. Connecting, Smoking and ADA-compliant rooms are available on request.
Ocean View Room
Located in the higher and select floors of both hotel towers with side views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Ocean Front Room
Located in the front Beach Tower overlooking spectacular unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balcony, full bath/shower, air conditioning, all standard in-room amenities, an additional mirror/vanity, microwave and wet bar.
Standard Room
Located on the lower floors in both towers of the Pacific Beach Hotel. Available with either two double beds or one king bed, private balconies and standard in-room amenities.
Daily Amenity Fee
Wireless Internet Access (in-room and throughout the property - using own personal computers or devices, In-house Fitness Center (open 24 hrs), plus discounted passes available to 24 Hour Fitness Super Sport Club, Use of Tennis Courts, Golf Cages and Putting Green (equipment included) 20% Discount for basic services at Laule'a Spa Children 5 and under eat free at the Oceanarium Restaurant Buffet with a paying adult Local, toll free and 60 minutes of Long-distance calling to the mainland USA or Canada Complimentary use of pool towels Complimentary use of the safe in your room Eco-Friendly logo water bottle, refillable at purified water stations throughout the hotel.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pacific Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2741 -157.824
Area served
Waikiki, Honolulu
Nearby airports
HNL-Honolulu International Airport-9 miles east
Area description
With convenient covered parking and access in and out of Waikiki, Pacific Beach Hotel is a located just steps across from Waikiki beach, restaurants, attractions and other favorite shopping locations.

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.3 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.5 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.9 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.4 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.9 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.6 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.9 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 3 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 3.2 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3.2 mi
  • Washington Place: 3.2 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.5 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.5 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.6 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.8 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.8 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.9 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.2 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.2 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.7 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.5 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.5 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.9 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.3 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.7 mi
  • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.7 mi

Dining

Aloha Center Cafe
Casual outdoor cafe, featuring a delicious variety of espresso, hot or iced coffees, fresh juices, salads, pizzas, sandwiches, pastries, fruits, cookies and more.
Oceanarium Restaurant
Dine alongside Pacific Beach Hotel's unique indoor three-story Oceanarium, home to 70 different species of Hawaiian reef life. This full service restaurant serves American and International favorites in a fun casual family dining atmosphere. Serving breakfast buffets, Ala Carte and Prime Rib/Crab Leg Dinner buffets. Children 4 and under EAT FREE at Oceanarium per paying adult.
Room Service
Conveniently available for breakfast and dinner in the comfort of your guestroom. Minimum orders of $15 USD.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With more than 22,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and a wide range of catering menus, group organizers can be confident that their meeting or special event takes place in a rewarding setting with delicious selections of food and beverages to satisfy attendees. Pacific Beach Hotel's meeting professionals work with you to ensure your meeting or event is a success, and assist with special needs and requests for special occasions including memorable weddings and receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (588)

Ratings and reviews for Pacific Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
588 out of 588
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Edwards Ca.
Dec 3, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Nice size room and had a great location will deal with again on our return trips to Hawaii.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 11, 2007

Great First Visit

The main plus for the hotel is location and value. Rooms were fairly standard, but clean and comfortable. We had the partial ocean view and that was nice. Restaurants offered plenty of options and the overall hotel staff was very accommodating. Our room was not cleaned during one day of the stay and that's the only bad mark. When you're out all day, coming back late at night and finding unmade beds and no clean towels a bummer. Staff did replace the towels, though. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will consider the Pacific Beach Hotel again should we vacation in Ohau.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The International Market Place, various shops on the Waikiki Beach. Also proximity to the beach, the zoo, Diamond Head and other attractions.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Al Welch
Walnut Creek, CA
Jun 29, 2010

Hotel Services

Good location for using city buses and trolleys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Not necessary to rent a car, city buses run all round the island and are inexpensive and run frequently

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary, mom of four
Robstown, Tx
May 9, 2009

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

This was our second stay in this hotel. The location is fabulous, and our room was great! The hotel staff was awesome as usual, and I will go back there again. We should have asked for the map of Honolulu that they have at the desk. We didnt find out about it until the last day. Maybe they should just hand one out when you check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of coupon books to be had along the beach road and at the rent a car places.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Aloha Pair
Diamond Bar, CA
Apr 18, 2010

The Best of Waikiki

The Pacific Beach is a wonderful place to stay and the upgraded package is worth it! We are frequent visitors to the islands and we don't require much to enjoy ourselves. Get out and see the island. The best shopping may be at the Aloha Stadium Swap Meet. Enjoy the Zoo which is close by. Enjoy the botanical gardens and some of the local activities as well. The Bishop Museum is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Jul 1, 2008

The Center of Paradise

This was my fifth trip to Waikiki, and my first time at the Pacific Beach, and I will return to both many times! This hotel is great! On first walking in, the 3 story aquarium takes your breath away! At check in I actually felt like I was expected. The room was huge - and I have paid more for rooms half in size at some the of better hotels in Waikiki. The 2 major restaurants are a tad pricey, yet right outside the door are both a McDonalds and Paradise Cheesberger [the perfect breakfast spot. But the best feature of the Pacific Beach is the location: it feels like the geographic center of Waikiki. Walk out the front door, and the view is everything you come to Hawaii for. And the beach is literally 12 steps away! To your right are hotels, restaurants, ABC stores and the International Market Place. To your left is 24 Hour Fitness, St. Augustine's Catholic Church, ABC stores, more restaurants, the Park [for all you joggers], and the Zoo. I am recommending this hotel to all my friends. Finally, my search for a Waikiki hotel is over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Paradise Cheesberger, and Wolfgang Puck Express are next door. On Kuhio Ave is a buffet style restaurant, open for a $7 breakfast and an $11 dinner. Down Kuhio you will find a little hole in the wall spot called the Sea Side where you can get a $3 breakfast and a $10 sirloin in the evenings. It's not pretty, but it's good basic food.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bright, Indiana
May 10, 2009

Pacific Beach Hotel

They upgraded our room so that we had a beautiful view. Everyone was very friendly, and we would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are not a seafood lover, there is very limited restaurants for you.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammy123456
Irvine, CA, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Very nice stay

My husband and I stayed at the PB Hotel December 2011 during an obviously very busy time of year. We were able to get an excellent last minute detail through O which included breakfast every morning. The breakfast is really good and included a full all you can eat buffet with so many choices. The room was clean and quiet and came with free sealed toothbrushes and toothpaste, which we thought was very nice. The room included a fridge but no microwave. The ocean view room means that you have a balcony on the side of the building with a view of the ocean. This is different from the "Ocean Front" which means that the room has a balcony which overlooks the beach. The location was excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Top of Waikiki revolving restaurant. They have an excellent Happy Hour menu and the views are spectacular!

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lake Erie Surfer
Cleveland, Ohio
Sep 16, 2009

My Favorite Waikiki Hotel

My wife and I stayed here several years ago, and returned because it was our favorite place to stay in Waikiki. I went to Waikiki beach just a few steps from the front door every day. The multistory aquarium inside is amazing, and gives you something to watch while you eat at the restaurants. We ate breakfast at the buffet every day, and the food was excellent. There were a lot of Japanese tourists staying at the hotel, but we found them all very polite, even if some don't speak much English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

If you can get a package with the breakfast buffet included with the room, do it. The breakfast buffet is excellent quality and the price is competitive with anything else available in the area, including the MacDonalds across the street.

Review of Pacific Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenney couple
Alaska
Jun 11, 2014

A Great Experience

I spent one night at Pacific Beach Hotel on my way to Japan and I have to say it was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at ever. The staff was friendly and accomodating, the room (30th floor) was beautiful with an awesome view of Honolulu and the South Beach. I couldn't have been more pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Waikiki Cheeseburger was a nice stop for lunch

Back to menu Return to top